Page 1 of 1

wlan DHCP server RED color

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:43 pm
by nicutdk
Hello ,

I have a very simple configuration on Metal G-52SHPacn

With this configuration DHCP server not working
# model = Metal G-52SHPacn

/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] disabled=no mode=ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip pool
add name=dhcp_pool0 ranges=192.168.15.2-192.168.15.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp_pool0 disabled=no interface=wlan1 name=dhcp1
/ip address
add address=192.168.15.1/24 interface=wlan1 network=192.168.15.0
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.15.0/24 gateway=192.168.15.1
Can explain what is wrong ?


Best Rregards,

Re: wlan DHCP server RED color

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:21 pm
by AlainCasault
Hello,

This usually happens when your interface is slaved, to a bridge for example.

Since I think your posted config is partial, check that out.

If that's the case, dhcp server needs to be assigned to the bridge IF wlan1 has to be slaved to the bridge.

Regards,

Sent from Tapatalk

Re: wlan DHCP server RED color

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:32 pm
by nicutdk
Hello,

This usually happens when your interface is slaved, to a bridge for example.

Since I think your posted config is partial, check that out.

If that's the case, dhcp server needs to be assigned to the bridge IF wlan1 has to be slaved to the bridge.

Regards,

Sent from Tapatalk
Hi,

That configuration is ALL config on the router and the wlan it is not slave. I don't have bridge port created on router.

I reset the router without default config, I assign a ip on wifi and run dhcp server. The DHCP server after that is RED and not working.

Re: wlan DHCP server RED color

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:21 pm
by scampbell
If you do not have any registered clients on your WLAN1 interface it will not show a Running Flag (R). Consequently any IP Address and DHCP-Server will be in an inactive state.

As soon as a client registers the DHCP Server should change colour and start working.


If you were to create a bridge, add the wlan1 to the bridge and assign both the IP address and dhcp-server to the bridge it wouldn't show as red.

Hope this helps.

Re: wlan DHCP server RED color

Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:00 am
by nescafe2002
I have tried the config and it works fine. DHCP turns black as soon as first client connects.

Clients have no internet connectivity but that's due to absence of dhcp client on ether1 and standard nat/firewalling config (quickset is a good start).

Image

Re: wlan DHCP server RED color

Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:15 am
by nicutdk
Hi,

Thank you for your answer. I think the red color means BAD.... So... I think now is good :)

Re: wlan DHCP server RED color

Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:35 am
by MasterJames
If you plug the outside into Port 2 or other it will show RED in Default DHCP Client as the interface is ether1 once you plug the WAN in to ether1 will be acquired and change to black with the Status bound and a release timer countdown labelled as Expires After (default for me is 24 hrs).
I think I did that out of the box because it's not needing POE and I thought initially to avoid it but it also says "POE In", while last one is 'POE out', so that's new to me with this new RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD (arm).
I guess I'll look more into the difference of POE in vs out (any comments appreciated) but it seems WAN in ether1 is the defconf way to go.