Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
abernier
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:47 pm

DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:59 pm

Hello

I have a less 10 Kms link with two netmetals and the mikrotik parabolic mANT30. 6.39.3 routeros version.
Config both sides (one bride another station bridge):
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] adaptive-noise-immunity=ap-and-client-mode antenna-gain=3 band=5ghz-onlyac basic-rates-a/g="" channel-width=\
20/40/80mhz-eCee default-forwarding=no disabled=no frequency=5800 frequency-mode=superchannel ht-basic-mcs=\
mcs-0,mcs-1,mcs-2,mcs-3,mcs-4,mcs-5,mcs-6,mcs-7,mcs-8 ht-supported-mcs=\
mcs-0,mcs-1,mcs-2,mcs-3,mcs-4,mcs-5,mcs-6,mcs-7,mcs-8,mcs-9,mcs-10,mcs-11,mcs-12,mcs-13,mcs-14,mcs-15 hw-retries=15 max-station-count=1 mode=\
bridge nv2-cell-radius=10 nv2-security=enabled rate-set=configured rx-chains=0,1 scan-list=\
5100-5900 security-profile=RedSL supported-rates-a/g="" tdma-period-size=auto tx-chains=0,1 vht-supported-mcs=mcs0-7,mcs0-7,none \
wireless-protocol=802.11

/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1

/interface bridge> print detail
Flags: X - disabled, R - running
0 R name="bridge1" mtu=auto actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1600 arp=enabled arp-timeout=auto mac-address=6C:3B:6B:4A:00:CC protocol-mode=rstp fast-forward=yes
priority=0x8000 auto-mac=yes admin-mac=00:00:00:00:00:00 max-message-age=20s forward-delay=15s transmit-hold-count=6 ageing-time=5m

Signal TX/RX: -32/-29 db (I have also tried to lower the power of the signal to -40 db and the throughput also low)
CCQ: 96/95%
RATE: 650Mbps-80Mhz-2S-SGI
protocol 802.11ac (nv2 and nstream worst result)
Test from CCR to a RB912uag: CCR <--->netmetal1 (( )) netmetal2<-->RB912uag

Test both:
59.7/48.3 Mbps
Test send:
92.2Mbps

Where are the missing 200Mbps? at least.
Or is that the normal behaviour?
I don't know what to do (in addition to changing equipment). Does anybody have any suggestions?
Thanks in advance.
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:23 pm

Do not test with the RB devices. Their CPU is not suited for a decent speed test. You should use a normale PC/laptop and a tool like IPerf3.
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:59 pm

Or test between 2xCCR, not 912...
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:58 pm

Or test between 2xCCR, not 912...
I my opinion its not the CPU's used in Mikrotik equipment that is the limiting factor but the fact almost everything ROS does it's software based and this puts huge demand on any CPU?
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:30 pm

Maybe Mikrotik should ask Qualcomm to implement hardware btest for Mikrotik :lol:
And why not hardware accelerator for Winbox.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:05 pm

Hi,

lower TX Power to stay at -50 to -55dB
Have you set interface quench's to only hardware?
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:20 pm

Maybe Mikrotik should ask Qualcomm to implement hardware btest for Mikrotik :lol:
And why not hardware accelerator for Winbox.
Strange :? I believe other providers using the same chipsets are getting much better throughput performance using a much simpler OS :? :?
 
abernier
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:54 am

@mistry7: Have you set interface quench's to only hardware? Yes queue interfaces hardware.
lower TX Power to stay at -50 to -55dB: When I have tried to lower the power of the signal the throughput also low, less than 90Mbps :(

@InoX & onnoossendrijver: I do not known that Rb912 is too bad with speed test.

Thank you all.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:13 pm

@abernier

Then i think your Channel is Not free
One of my links:

17km, 30 and 34dbi Antenna
80mhz Channel at 580/650MBit
(-61 dB, ccq over 95%)
Higher Output power is Not allowed in Germany


We are gering something about 170MBit TCP
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Sun Oct 29, 2017 1:24 am

- check ethernet speed, must be 1gbps
- use 40mhz channel for start
- try multiple channels
- don't use less than 1ghz routerboard for speed test
- your signal is too strong, I recomment -45...-50
 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:39 pm

abernier what is the signal straight separate on chain0 and chain1
also have u tested band A/N?
 
abernier
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 31, 2017 1:19 am

@inoX
I try multiple channels, the best result is which I exposed
When I have tried to lower the power of the signal the throughput also low, less than 90Mbps :(

@Lakis
TX/RX chain 0 : -31/-32
TX/RX chain 1: -30/-33
SNR: 80

I tested band: only N and only AC but not A/N.

I will follow your advices: I'll do more test with A/N band, try lower the power (1 or 2 dbm) and I'll try to do the test with better devices (I must save some money).
I want to believe that I can get better results if that does not happen I will have the feeling of having lost time and money.

Thank you all for your advice and concern.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Tue Oct 31, 2017 2:46 pm

@abernier

Power is much to high.
What is your CCQ?

Did you Scan the Channel you use?


mistry7
 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: DISAPPOINTED 10Km link+netmetal+CCQ>94%+650Mbps@80Mhz < 180Mbps Throughtput

Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:34 pm

@abernier

Power is much to high.
What is your CCQ?

Did you Scan the Channel you use?


mistry7
Yep mikrotik should integrate adaptive signal level :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests