Page 1 of 1

Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 4:53 am
by Andrewyi12
Hi, all. Recently, I am going to buy 10G SFP+ copper transceiver or 10G SFP+ DAC cable for my CRS226-24G-2S+RM. When I was looking through the webpages, and I occasionally found this https://mikrotik.com/product/s_rj10. It only needs $65. Comparing to the C2G, FS.COM, Amazon, which are around $300, that really saved a lot. And check on that link, u would find it supports distance up to 200m. That's so fantastic. How can a copper transceiver arrive a distance up to 200m?

And how can the copper transceiver arrive so long? Is it reliable to buy?

Any idea would be great appreciated.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:41 am
by marklylelk
According to the product spec, S+RJ10 can operate over 10 Mbps, 100 Mbps, 1 Gbps, 2.5 Gbps, 5 Gbps, 10 Gbps up to 200m. I wonder, it is possible to support up to 200m in 10G copper network? After all the 10GBASE-T modules from Amazon, C2G, FS.COM can only operate up to 30m over 10G Twianx cables.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:32 am
by paulct
Stop questioning ;)

I suppose you can only buy and try it out. The other Mikrotik SFP's work great, though we buy all our SFP's from FS as it is much cheaper in bulk than our local suppliers.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 10:15 am
by normis
Open the brochure, there is a distance table inside. You can see what speed you can expect for some distances:
https://i.mt.lv/routerboard/files/sfp_s ... 151033.pdf

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:43 pm
by lweidig
Does anybody know when we will have US availability of these? Can't seem to find them anywhere.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:09 am
by Melody5781
200m between a pair of these at 1Gbps, or at 2.5G using STP cable. They do 10G only up to 30m so be mindful of where you want to use them.
They seem really nice though, and for that price it's really good if you want a 200m link using copper.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:10 am
by Melody5781
200m between a pair of these at 1Gbps, or at 2.5G using STP cable. They do 10G only up to 30m so be mindful of where you want to use them.
They seem really nice though, and for that price it's really good if you want a 200m link using copper.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:15 pm
by p3rad0x
Does anybody know when we will have US availability of these? Can't seem to find them anywhere.
They was just announced a few days back,

You should start seeing them at the suppliers in the coming weeks.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:31 pm
by p3rad0x
I'm actually very exited about this product.

We have an issue at one of our sites where there are a few wireless providers on the building and they like to "accidentally" damage one or 2 of our up links going to the core.

10G over copper @30m will be way more durable then even armored fiber cables.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:22 pm
by lapsio
It doesn't support jumbo frames. That's 100$ cut from price. And improperly autonegotiates to non-10G speeds. That's remaining 35$ from price and voila - from 200$ to 65$ :D

Plus it probably has 'meh' compatibility. Other MikroTik SFP+ modules I use didn't work with Intel X710-DA4 network card for example while other manufacturers make more universal modules.

Re: Why is MikroTik's new product—S+RJ10 10GBASE-T module so cheap?

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:39 am
by sup5
3.Is it possible to use CAT.5E cable to link with 10GBASE-T?
A: No. The standard bandwidth of CAT.5E is 100MHz, and CAT.5E is designed to transmit signals below 90M. 10 Gigabit signal transmission requires a CAT.6A patch cable.
10GBase-T will work even with Cat5e as long as the distances are short.

Transmitting signals successfully always is a combination of cable quality and distance.