Community discussions

 
ik3umt
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:58 pm

CAPsMAN over DSL

Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:35 pm

Is it possible to manage two AP that reside geographically away from CAP manager by a DSL line ?

Image

Each location wifi user must use the related DSL line to surf the web. (no clients traffic managed by CAPsMAN)

Thanks
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 926
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN over DSL

Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:39 pm

Yes.
Just add the (reachable) address of the manager to the remote CAPs config while leaving "discovery interface" blank, select "local fowarding" in datapath and configure your vlans wisely at each site.

-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
ik3umt
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: CAPsMAN over DSL

Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:03 pm

Thank you,

Should I configure a tunnel for CAP purpose , or manager can be reachable with a simple port-forwarding ?
 
ibrahimcherif
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:23 pm

Re: CAPsMAN over DSL

Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:09 am

there are two scenarios, if the DSL1 and DSL2 are on the same subnet which is provided by the ISP then yes you can simply reach the other side using Layer3 and specifying the capsman manager ip.
if the DSL1 and DSL2 and not within the same subnet (intranet) and you have a public ip on first side, then simply create a vpn tunnel and others caps a\can join your capsman.
hope this answers your question.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests