Page 1 of 1

Scanning and save to a file

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:03 pm
by karyal
Hi, do you know if there is any way to have a ROS cpe to execute a scan for 10/20 seconds , dump the results to a file, and stop scanning?
I have some problems with some CPE and would like to have a report of what the end user cpe "see".
Of course i cannot use the scanner tool as the cpe would disconnect.
Thanks,
Ricky

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:51 am
by normis
you are contradicting yourself. you just said that you can't use `scan tool` because everyone will disconnect. of course it will disconnect

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 10:54 am
by karyal
you are contradicting yourself. you just said that you can't use `scan tool` because everyone will disconnect. of course it will disconnect
Maybe i cannot explain correctly, let's reformulate..
I need to have the report of a scan from a cpe (which is of course connected with just one radio).
I can log to the cpe, but i cannot use the scan tool, because it will disconnect me, obviously.
I need to know if it's possible to have a script that can be remotely launched, do scan for 10/20 seconds, save the results to a file, stop scanning (so that the client reconnects), so that i can re-connect to the cpe (via ftp) and retrieve the file with the results.
Bye,
Ricky

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 1:09 pm
by sergejs
Ricky, you can try to run snooper,
'interface wireless snooper snoop wlan1 file=12345' and specify additional options.
All this commands will cause disconnect for remotely connected nodes.

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:31 pm
by karyal
Ricky, you can try to run snooper,
'interface wireless snooper snoop wlan1 file=12345' and specify additional options.
All this commands will cause disconnect for remotely connected nodes.
ok... i'll try..
thanks,
Ricky

Re:

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:17 pm
by Kuuhaku
Ricky, you can try to run snooper,
'interface wireless snooper snoop wlan1 file=12345' and specify additional options.
All this commands will cause disconnect for remotely connected nodes.
Hello!
Could you tell me how can I specify addtional options in this case?
I'm new in Mikrotik and need to specify to snoop the stations and save in txt file, but I couldn't find this information anywhere.

Thanks!