Community discussions

 
cybersyx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:25 pm

Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:11 pm

Hi, i've a little problem with two Mikrotik Dynadish 5. I've a PTP link distance 4 km Signal -54 dBm NV2 80 Mhz eCee Tx Power default. If i try to run a bandwidth test to other antenna with tcp protocol both (send and receive) i'm get only 50 Mbps (tx and rx) full duplex. I've try nstream, 802.11 but the result is the same. Best result with nv2. The frequency is clear. Any ideas ? Thanks a lot
 
haik01
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:27 am

How are you doing the bandwidth test? By the built in test function of Mikrotik, or do you send and receive files from a PC to (for example) a NAS?
 
mlenhart
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:30 pm

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:38 pm

Try to change wireless to 802.11 and do the test again. Anyway, it is not the best idea to make conclusions based on built-in bandwidth test. Try with some gear behind the DynaDish (PC/laptop) connected directly to antenna using cable and use iPerf - it is free and available for Linux, Windows and many other platforms. See https://iperf.fr/
 
cybersyx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:25 pm

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:59 pm

Hi, thanks a lot for the reply. I've tested the bandiwidth with bandwidth test on the mikrotik interface. Now i'm trying iperf test but the result is very bad:

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 5] 0.00-10.05 sec 15.0 MBytes 12.5 Mbits/sec sender
[ 5] 0.00-10.05 sec 14.9 MBytes 12.4 Mbits/sec receiver
-----------------------------------------------------------

Any ideas ? Thanks
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:29 pm

Your ccq / Wireless Status tab?
 
cybersyx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:25 pm

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:59 pm

Your ccq / Wireless Status tab?
CCQ is 73%/72% during the bandwidth test.
 
cybersyx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:25 pm

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:06 am

The strange thing is that behind every dynadish there is an RB2011 and if I try to make the bandwidth test between the two routerboards it is even lower. I can not understand the problem.
 
haik01
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:37 am

Do NOT use the built in bandwith test from the router. Use real PC's. Eventually these PC's will be used by users, and they experience different things.

What if you do not use the RB2011? Just connect two PC's, give them static addresses, and do the test. See what the result is. Once done, add ONE router on one side, and see how it goes.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:02 am

Rb2011 has lower CPU power than Dynadish
 
nkourtzis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:56 am
Location: Greece

Re: Question About DynaDish 5 low bandwidth

Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:28 pm

Your CCQ is VERY low. This most probably shows that your channel is too noisy. Try changing frequency.
Passionate about networks
Enthusiastic about Mikrotik
MTCNA | MTCRE | MTCINE

No trees were killed to send this message,
but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests