Community discussions

MikroTik App

five
just joined
Topic Author

Tutorial: Using wAP AC with a Tomato Router

Sun Mar 25, 2018 4:34 am

Note:
I am a beginner and faced some challenges during the process. Documenting my notes online, in case they may help someone else in the future. If you notice something that I could do that would improve my setup, please let me know.

Preface before I start:

My intention was to disable my 2.4 and 5.0 from my current router (Asus RT-N66U running tomato) and use the wap ac as an access point. Main reason being that my current router is placed in a terrible location. And moving the ugly black router to the living room was a no-go with the wife. She liked the idea of the wap ac, said it looked similar to an alarm bell box or fire detector, so no issues on that front.

So the goal was to continue using the tomato router to handle all dhcp and routing duties and use the wap ac as it's antenna basically. There are no fancy vlans or guest wireless networks in this setup. It's just making the wap ac work with my current router.

Directions to flash to the latest firmware:
Recover a Broken Mikrotik Device
New RB951G-2HnD bricked? [Solved with Netinstall]
Firmware that I used

Setup Blues (Winbox where is my device?)
Even after resetting to factory defaults I was not seeing the wireless network Mikrotik and unable to use winbox. On reddit, someone suggested that I put it into CAP mode and see if I could connect to it with winbox at that point. And it worked!!!! So I’m finally in.

Directions to put in CAP mode:
  1. Hard wire WAP to your computer
  2. Manually configure IP to 192.168.88.x subnet. Though I am not sure that is actually necessary. I believe it makes the connection using the MAC address.
  3. Hold reset button until 2.4/5 goes solid and release button when CAP starts blinking.
  4. Wait one minute for WAP to start up. Open winbox and check neighbor. You should see your WAP MAC address!
  5. Connect and you’re in!