Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
sky
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: EST

WDS + VirtualAP

Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:29 pm

What i have is two RouterOS devices. Each of them has one ethernet port and one wireless card.

What i'd like to do is to create two wireless networks working on 2 routers with WDS. (Here 2 nets means thaht they will have different ssids and security profiles but physically they should work on the same wlancard)

What i have to do? Must I bridge some interfaces, and if yes, what interfaces must i bridge?

Thanks in advance :D
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:47 pm

Create a new security profile
Add an interface.
That interface being VirtualAP and asign the new security profile to it.

That simple

May not work with some wireless cards.
If I remember correctly you require atheros chipset for the radio cards to accomplish this.
 
User avatar
sky
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: EST

Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:51 am

Seems that physically it works correctly. At least i see 2 networks and each of them has 2 access points.

Another question is that i would like to use dhcp server. Should i set up it on one router or on both?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:18 am

If both links are separate, you need to create two DHCP servers.
 
User avatar
sky
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: EST

Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:05 pm

What means this "both links"? In my configuration i'm using two MTs. Each of them has two wireless networks (one is running on Atheros, anoter one is on Virtual AP).
They are configured as follows:
First one is called 'slave', it has 3 interfaces:
1 eth (not used)
2 wireless (internal network with WPA2, ssid is 'internal')
3 virtual ap (open external network, ssid is 'guest')

Second is called 'master', it has 4 interfaces
1 eth (used as gateway)
2 wireless (ssid is 'internal')
3 virtual ap (ssid is 'guest')
4 bridge (eth and wireless as ports here)

Both wireless interfaces and virtual aps are using WDS.
So, should i use one DHCP server om master MT or on a both?
 
User avatar
ivaring
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:25 pm
Contact:

Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:41 pm

Hello everyone.

I have a notebook with a wireless NIC connected through a MTK wireless board.
This MTK is connected to a Cisco Switch, and this one is connected through another MTK 5GHz, but I wasn't yet able to be able to navigate through first MTK.
Would you know how to do it?.

Thanks.

Notebook --> First MTK --> Cisco Switch --> Point-to-Point MTK 5GHz --> Cisco Switch --> Router --> Internet.

Thanks (The problem is here: Notebook --> First MTK)
 
User avatar
sky
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: EST

Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:30 am

Seems that first MT have problems with routing. And does it use masquerade?
Try traceroute and ping tools from your notebook and mt. This will help you determine where problem is.
 
User avatar
ivaring
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:25 pm
Contact:

Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:53 am

Thanks Sky for answering.
Actually I'm using as connection to internet two PC with Brazil Firewall Router, the first of them is used as QoS, and second as a Bridge.
Yesterday I was able to ping even WAN interface of first Brazil, but I cannot navigate at all.
I had this test network:

Notebook --> 1° MTK --> Switch --> BFW Bridge --> BFW QoS -- Model ADSL --> Internet.

I don't know what is happening, I tried adding static routes, creating a Bridge with Wlan and Ether ports, but nothing...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests