Community discussions

  • 1
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1223
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: LHG 60G experience

Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:09 pm

Hej guys, I have 750m PTP link to do and three small 230V wires by the road between these two points. Is it ok to use LHG60 kit ? I don't need 1Gbps throughput, 300Mbps will be ok. What about rain and snow, I want to sleep well :-)
You need to point very well, and the money for solid mount is a good investment,
And then such Link will work in most conditions
We had heavy snow and the 1,2km dropped for 10min, the 550m did not do anything
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1778
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:26 pm

Hej guys, I have 750m PTP link to do and three small 230V wires by the road between these two points. Is it ok to use LHG60 kit ? I don't need 1Gbps throughput, 300Mbps will be ok. What about rain and snow, I want to sleep well :-)
Snow is a problem. Expect to get problems in winter. Do a 5GHz Backup.
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Mar 21, 2019 2:15 pm

Hi!

Can you give me a hint on how to transfer ALL vlans through a LHG-Link? Do I have to configure the VLANs, or is it enough to leave "VLAN Filtering" disabled on the bridge?

Thank you for your help!
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1778
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Mar 21, 2019 2:30 pm

Hi!

Can you give me a hint on how to transfer ALL vlans through a LHG-Link? Do I have to configure the VLANs, or is it enough to leave "VLAN Filtering" disabled on the bridge?

Thank you for your help!
Yes. Do a plain bridge and do no tagging then all packets go through.
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Fri Mar 22, 2019 9:22 am

Can you give me a hint on how to transfer ALL vlans through a LHG-Link? Do I have to configure the VLANs, or is it enough to leave "VLAN Filtering" disabled on the bridge?
Yes. Do a plain bridge and do no tagging then all packets go through.
Thank you!
This is working perfectly.
 
aisme
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 6:30 am

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:14 am

Hi

Should I use the ground on the LHG60 or not? Is it better to use the Ubiquiti surge arrestors instead of the ground? Should I use both?

Does anybody have any documentation on it? I cannot really find any proper documentation for the LHG60

Thank you
 
Lakis
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:29 pm

Hello little info and I need some advice.
We have 3km 60G Link already deployed almost 3 mounts ago
Ap Side
----------
connected: yes
frequency: 66000
remote-address:
tx-mode: dmg
tx-mcs: 8
tx-phy-rate: 2.3Gbps
signal: 80
rssi: -60
tx-sector: 6
tx-sector-info: right 1 degrees, down 1.4 degrees
distance: 3072.53m
tx-packet-error-rate: 0%

Client Side
_________
connected: yes
frequency: 66000
remote-address:
tx-mode: dmg
tx-mcs: 8
tx-phy-rate: 2.3Gbps
signal: 80
rssi: -60
tx-sector: 28
tx-sector-info: center
distance: 3072.53m
tx-packet-error-rate: 0%

Overall, we are satisfied, and yes on a moderate rain link drops occasionally

08:31:46 interface,info wlan1: link down
08:33:43 interface,info wlan1: link up
08:33:43 interface,info wlan1: link down
08:37:23 interface,info wlan1: link up
08:37:35 interface,info wlan1: link down
08:37:40 interface,info wlan1: link up
08:37:58 interface,info wlan1: link down
08:38:03 interface,info wlan1: link up
08:40:16 interface,info wlan1: link down
08:40:19 interface,info wlan1: link up
This is from today's rain, link was down periodically
After 8:40 Rain was light and link was stable.
Yearly we have very little snow, and heavy or tropical rain are common here but they last very short 5-10min.
Overall that is what we have expected, and the link is 99.5% of the time usable.

I saw some posts of dudes like Blue (love enthusiasm) have made links up to 4km and record 5km lol that was excellent.
What I need is some advice, we want to deploy 3.45km 60G Link (of course with 5Ghz backup) what should I expect? Is it going to be usable nearly as my 3.1km link, or it is going to be total waste of time?
Thanks.
 
kalkunte
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:30 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:40 pm

Can Microtik interwork with other 11ad hardware?

How to setup Microtik 60G as STA that connects to another vendors who acts as AP?

So far we've been able to make Microtik60G to another Microtik 60G to work. Is this by design/intent?

Thanks
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:36 pm

All Mikrotik 60G hardware is so far compatible, so you can mix LHGs and WAPs as you like. But don't expect it to work with other vendors, even if it uses common 802.11ad platform. Everyone is playing on it's own playground, there is no intercompatibility due to customized protocols and different vendors design devices to lock you in on their platform to buy their devices... nothing new.
 
komenski
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:10 am

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:09 am

All Mikrotik 60G hardware is so far compatible, so you can mix LHGs and WAPs as you like. But don't expect it to work with other vendors, even if it uses common 802.11ad platform. Everyone is playing on it's own playground, there is no intercompatibility due to customized protocols and different vendors design devices to lock you in on their platform to buy their devices... nothing new.
I'm not quite sure about the full compatibility between LHG and WAP60g. WAP60g seems to have some internal distance limit between clients, which Mikrotik is gradually and secretly extending, without any informations for the users who purchased the device. All we have to do is to firmly believe that Mikrotik (before the competition comes up with something better) quickly releases the FW, which again allows (at least for the initial setup of the link) fixed settings not only for TX-sector, but also for TX power, MCS, ACK, etc .
 
asterisco
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Apr 11, 2019 2:17 pm

Hi

I'm starting to use WAP60 to connect customers in PtMP setup.

Is there any way to connect the wireless link to radius? this mean a LHG60 STA only connects to AP if radius autenticates.

Thanks!
Antonio
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2829
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:04 pm

All Mikrotik 60G hardware is so far compatible, so you can mix LHGs and WAPs as you like. But don't expect it to work with other vendors, even if it uses common 802.11ad platform. Everyone is playing on it's own playground, there is no intercompatibility due to customized protocols and different vendors design devices to lock you in on their platform to buy their devices... nothing new.
The smart vendor includes compatibility with other vendors equipment when possible, kinda like how Russian rifles were designed to use Russian bullets but also NATO bullets.
So smart!!
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:15 pm

All Mikrotik 60G hardware is so far compatible, so you can mix LHGs and WAPs as you like. But don't expect it to work with other vendors, even if it uses common 802.11ad platform. Everyone is playing on it's own playground, there is no intercompatibility due to customized protocols and different vendors design devices to lock you in on their platform to buy their devices... nothing new.
The smart vendor includes compatibility with other vendors equipment when possible, kinda like how Russian rifles were designed to use Russian bullets but also NATO bullets.
So smart!!
guys please. Vanilla 802.11ad is just like vanilla 802.11b or n.
there are certain things in the standard. also, the standard is from 2012, and it was never ever intended to be used outdoors at a distance. because of oxygen absorption. yes, there are vanilla implementations out there, more or less for indoors and not using phased array antennas.
the other thing is MAC. if you want to use vanilla .11n or anything 802.11 in a multi-access scenario, it sucks. because vanilla 802.11 MAC sucks. that's why vendors implemented their own TDMA based stuff, to somewhat control the inefficient behaviour of the WiFi clients. Or synchronised APs.
this is no different here. if you want to use a purpose-built device in a certain environment what the device was optimised for, then you can't expect something very generic to be compatible with it w/o serious compromises to its original goals. Mikrotik did not intend to build a 'generic' .11ad AP. this thing is for outdoors, it uses technology that is 4-5 years younger than the original WiGig standard.
back at that time receiver side beam forming wasn't widespread, and the original standard did not rely on that. as the result the maximum distance it was able to operate with was literally meters or maybe 2-30 meters. you have here very precise beamforming down to 3-4 degree or so, both on transmitter and receiver side, just to concentrate all available RF energy into this tiny beam to bridge the massive free path loss in the air. so you can reach over 100s of meters if required. or coordination between the clients. none of those were part of the original standard, so each vendor, each silicon manufacturer had to figure this out for himself.
what exactly do you expect? to operate a 60GHz based (most probably proprietary) video headset with it?
i've seen the prices of other vendors, even the ones who use the same BB and RF as Mikrotik. we're doing great here.

on the other hand, the next standard - 802.11ay - already includes specific things that are required for proper outdoor operations, like synchronisation, TDD/TDMA, transmit power control, god knows what. there is a lot more chance to see actually compatible equipment - if not more than compatible at PHY and MAC layers - when vendors start adopting silicons from certified .11ay chip manufacturers.
#TR0359
 
SpanMG
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:59 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:33 am

Colleagues, tell me, there is a line at 1,500 m., We were reducing antennas, but I noticed that after 30 minutes, the indicators just hang in one place and do not move, it only helps to reboot the devices or to tear the radio link.
[admin@client] > int w6 moni wl
connected: yes
frequency: 64800
remote-address: 24:18:**********
tx-mode: dmg
tx-mcs: 8
tx-phy-rate: 2.3Gbps
signal: 80
rssi: -68
tx-sector: 60
tx-sector-info: right 0.2 degrees, up 1.4 degrees
distance: 1593.31m
tx-packet-error-rate: 1%
-- [Q quit|D dump|C-z pause]

[admin@AP] > int w60g monitor wlan60-1
connected: yes
frequency: 64800
remote-address: 24:18:*****
tx-mode: dmg
tx-mcs: 7
tx-phy-rate: 1925.0Mbps
signal: 60
rssi: -69
tx-sector: 51
tx-sector-info: left 0.2 degrees, up 1 degrees
distance: 1593.32m
tx-packet-error-rate: 12%
 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: LHG 60G experience

Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:03 pm

tx-packet-error-rate: 12%
this error rate is way too high. also notice that the AP side uses lower modulation scheme (7 vs 8).
most probably you get quite some noise there. i don't know your setup, but it you line up your relays back-to-back, and use the same frequency on both of them, you might get some interference from the next link.
|( - - - - - )|( - - - - - )|
|             |             |
|             |             |
#TR0359
 
brasileottanta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:52 am

Re: LHG 60G experience

Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:24 pm

Colleagues, tell me, there is a line at 1,500 m., We were reducing antennas, but I noticed that after 30 minutes, the indicators just hang in one place and do not move, it only helps to reboot the devices or to tear the radio link.
Hello ,

I' don't know what's the probs, but you need better aiming.

brasileottanta
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
SpanMG
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:59 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:39 pm

Colleagues, tell me, there is a line at 1,500 m., We were reducing antennas, but I noticed that after 30 minutes, the indicators just hang in one place and do not move, it only helps to reboot the devices or to tear the radio link.
Hello ,

I' don't know what's the probs, but you need better aiming.

brasileottanta
I understand that the question will sound silly, but even so, I will ask it.
How did you achieve these indicators, did you use special fixtures?
And as you reduce the antennas, I have a line at 2,300 m and it behaves very well, but sometimes it does not work and to reduce to 1500, the signal jumps too much and it fails to achieve good, and as I wrote above, after 30 minutes, the signal DEPENDS.
And you have to reload the antenna.
 
jobewankenobi
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2019 7:41 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Fri Apr 19, 2019 7:47 pm

We currently use a pair of sxtsq 5.8 ghz point to point to drive content to football Video boards... Looking to get out of the 5ghz spectrum because of congestion during football games. Bought pair of sxtsq 60g to test with.... Cannot find directions on how to set up 2 devices in ptp.
 
hercules30
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:38 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:51 pm

Hi all.
I have read through the forum, that there are already installers, who have mounted the 60G lhg at a distance between 1.5Km and 3Km .. And I would like to ask, how does it behave in moderate rain to strong ...
I would also like to know if anyone has thought of using the LHG XL HP5 plate, for an Lhg 60 .. We are talking about a 550mm plate with a brake diameter of 390mm. I suppose that for the distance that I have mentioned, it will make it more stable.

Thank you
 
mman1982
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:53 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:27 pm

Hi,

So guys,it isn't possible to make a stable 60G link in rain for 1km?If possible which values need to be aligned??(mcs,quality rssi) Anyone from Mikrotik can explain which values needed for stable link and how to align antennas properly?
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Mon May 06, 2019 9:23 am

Hi!

Did anybody of you have long-term-experience with any "weather-cover"?
Which ones did work fine for you?

Thank you for your thoughts
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Mon May 06, 2019 9:55 am

Hi!

I have a strange problem:
- 2x LHG 60G link, 395m
- RSSI stable at -50 to -52 dB, Signal-Quality 80-95

Next to the LHG on one side, there is a large (3x3x3m), rotating advertisement-cube

When the rotation of the cube is off, the link is 100% stable. When I start the rotation, the MCS drops down from time to time from 8 to 6 or less.

What I tried is to disable auto-alignment (tx-sector=36).

Do you have any other idea on how to solve this?

Thank you for your help!
 
komenski
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:10 am

Re: LHG 60G experience

Tue May 07, 2019 7:00 am

Ask Mikrotik to finally publish the LHG60g radiation pattern, then everything will be clear. The situation has been unacceptable for so long time, we have a broadcasting device and we don't know exactly where it is broadcasting.
 
venthyl
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 3:12 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Tue May 07, 2019 11:25 am

Hi

60ad mikrotik is Higly unstable when:

-raining above 600m

-snowing ( wet snow) kill even 300m links
using RADOME helps snow downtime : but decrease rssi about 5db
~~10hour link on 500m was dead without Radome
~~20minutes same link with radome after wet swnow


i have ~~ 12 links on lhg backup'ed with 5g and ospf.
 
olegl
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 3:13 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Mon May 13, 2019 3:07 pm

Hello.
Recently we`ve installed two LHG Lite60
Periodically, we see log entries like:
10:34:28 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
10:34:31 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

10:36:45 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
10:36:46 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

10:39:23 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
10:39:25 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

10:46:42 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
10:46:44 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

10:50:17 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
10:50:18 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

11:44:10 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
11:44:12 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

12:14:44 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
12:15:00 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

12:27:11 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
12:27:17 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

12:27:49 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
12:27:51 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

13:19:23 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
13:19:25 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

13:31:05 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
13:31:11 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

13:33:27 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link down
13:33:29 interface,info wlan60-station-2: link up

Link is flapping, but we don`t knwo the reason
What I see from both sides:
SIDE A
int w60g monitor wlan60-1
connected: yes
frequency: 60480
remote-address: 04:D6:AA:A8:D5:18
tx-mode: dmg
tx-mcs: 8
tx-phy-rate: 2.3Gbps
signal: 80
rssi: -69
tx-sector: 36
tx-sector-info: center
distance: 84.61m
tx-packet-error-rate: 0%

SIDE B
int w60g monitor wlan60-1
connected: yes
frequency: 60480
remote-address: 24:18:1D:99:62:E1
tx-mode: dmg
tx-mcs: 8
tx-phy-rate: 2.3Gbps
signal: 80
rssi: -64
tx-sector: 58
tx-sector-info: left 0.6 degrees, up 1.4 degrees
distance: 84.63m
tx-packet-error-rate: 0%

Periodically "tx-packet-error-rate" grows from 0 up to 20% on side B.
I suppose error-rate is the reason of link flapping
Can you give me info - what can be the problem?
 
server8
Member
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Mon May 13, 2019 4:38 pm

your rssi is very bad

-69@84m is too low at such distance on one side is better to use a wag60 or sxtsq60
 
WebItG
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 2:06 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed May 22, 2019 7:45 am

RBLHGG-60adkit
fell from a height of 10 meters to the ground and never broke but
When connected to electricity
only power led it works (PWR led on)
but all another led not work (ETH ,USR , Wireless ,align left right ............)
i try to connect it to my computer
The computer has never seen the network cable
What is the problem and what is the solution ?????
 
mman1982
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:53 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed May 22, 2019 8:07 am

Hi,

We had the same problem.(without fell down) RMA..
RBLHGG-60adkit
fell from a height of 10 meters to the ground and never broke but
When connected to electricity
only power led it works (PWR led on)
but all another led not work (ETH ,USR , Wireless ,align left right ............)
i try to connect it to my computer
The computer has never seen the network cable
What is the problem and what is the solution ?????
 
WebItG
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 2:06 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed May 22, 2019 8:46 am

Hi,

We had the same problem.(without fell down) RMA..
RBLHGG-60adkit
fell from a height of 10 meters to the ground and never broke but
When connected to electricity
only power led it works (PWR led on)
but all another led not work (ETH ,USR , Wireless ,align left right ............)
i try to connect it to my computer
The computer has never seen the network cable
What is the problem and what is the solution ?????
You have a solution to this problem
What do you suggest
 
mman1982
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:53 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed May 22, 2019 8:51 am

Sadly,no:( We had to warranty that LHG.
Hi,

We had the same problem.(without fell down) RMA..
RBLHGG-60adkit
fell from a height of 10 meters to the ground and never broke but
When connected to electricity
only power led it works (PWR led on)
but all another led not work (ETH ,USR , Wireless ,align left right ............)
i try to connect it to my computer
The computer has never seen the network cable
What is the problem and what is the solution ?????
You have a solution to this problem
What do you suggest
 
olypen
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:15 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu May 23, 2019 6:17 pm

We have found some interesting experiences working with the LHG 60. We have a PTP link that is 373m. During initial setup we aligned the dishes and locked them in with an RSSI of -54 (MCS 8, Signal 80, PHY Rate 2.3 Gbps).

We have been tracking TX-Sector, RSSI, MCS and Signal using PRTG and have noted some strange anomalies. The link appears completely stable and polling the data above every one minute shows it is rock solid, but then out the clear blue, the TX-Sector will suddenly shift and everything changes. When this happens the signal will usually drop (from 80 to as low as 50), the RSSI will go up (anywhere from -60 to -70) but the MCS will usually stay steady at 8.

The first time this occurred, I thought perhaps a wind gust had shifted the dish, so attempted to revert the TX-Sector back to the last best TX-Sector (from 34 to 11), but that caused the Signal and RSSI to vary constantly, so I switched it back to auto and it settled down to a new sector (63) with a much better RSSI and a solid signal level of 80.

It ran solid that way for about 24 hours and then once again, for no apparent reason, the TX-Sector suddenly shifted causing the signal to drop to 50 and the RSSI to jump to -70. But, even with the poor RSSI, the MCS stayed at 8 (PHY 2.3). I let it run that way for a couple of hours and during that time there appeared to be no loss in throughput and no significant latency. The link remained rock solid despite the odd readings. Eventually, though I toggled it from auto TX-Sector to manual and back again forcing it to realign, after which it settled at about -64, with a signal of 80.

As I said previously,the first time this happened I suspected wind gusts as we noted some guts around the same time period, but in all of the subsequent shifts, there have been no significant weather changes.

One other interesting observation is that when it makes this shift, the link does not drop (which is good). I am polling the data once every minute (as well as logging it) and note that it just seems to suddenly jump from one sector to another, with no searching or hoping around.
 
jellex
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:32 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu May 23, 2019 11:49 pm

...
It ran solid that way for about 24 hours and then once again, for no apparent reason, the TX-Sector suddenly shifted causing the signal to drop to 50 and the RSSI to jump to -70. But, even with the poor RSSI, the MCS stayed at 8 (PHY 2.3). I let it run that way for a couple of hours and during that time there appeared to be no loss in throughput and no significant latency. The link remained rock solid despite the odd readings. Eventually, though I toggled it from auto TX-Sector to manual and back again forcing it to realign, after which it settled at about -64, with a signal of 80.

As I said previously,the first time this happened I suspected wind gusts as we noted some guts around the same time period, but in all of the subsequent shifts, there have been no significant weather changes.

One other interesting observation is that when it makes this shift, the link does not drop (which is good). I am polling the data once every minute (as well as logging it) and note that it just seems to suddenly jump from one sector to another, with no searching or hoping around.
Ah, I'm experiencing exactly the same! I had this with my first link (500 meters) and spent a lot of time adjusting and aiming. In the end, I let it settle for about two days and it seemed to lock to a certain sector. Signal steady at 80 and rssi -51. I then picked a center sector (36) and locked to that on both antennas (I was just trying things out).

Now, it's up and running for 60 days and it hasn't changed one bit! Not even with rain. Just no change in signal, rssi or MCS. I ran a hackathon over it with 1200 devices without any problem.

I'm configuring a new, second link on the same roofs now and I have a lot of trouble getting it right. Of course I'm running on another frequency, but choosing the right one is strange. When picking 60480 (first link is on 58ghz) and letting it run for a couple of hours the signal and rssi jumped all over the place. There was half hour without any tx-errors and a steady signal of 80. Then it just jumped to another sector and then stayed at 60, MCS turns down to 1 and it stays that way... Then choosing 62640, the signal stays on 95, MCS 8 and rssi -54, solid for some hours now. This is without any change to alignment of the dishes. I still have tx-sector set to auto now, but when it works I'll set to a locked sector.

I also couldn't think of any reason why the sector suddenly jumped apart from wind. The pole has a little slack with higher winds. I'll keep monitoring when wind changes.
 
Dinskuns
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:18 pm

Anybody knows if LHG 60 supports large packet sizes to transfer qinq through the radio link?
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1223
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: LHG 60G experience

Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:34 pm

For QinQ you need MTU of 1522, LHG has L2 MTU 1598, so QinQ is No Problem
 
antonsb
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:12 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: LHG 60G experience

Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:36 pm

max L2MTU for w60g is 7882
 
Louisk777
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:36 pm

Which package version is currently deemed the most stable?
Currently running 6.44beta75 which seems to be doing ok.
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:51 am

Hi!

Did you find any possiblity to get valid RSSI-values?
I see fluctuation over the first 5 minutes. After that, RSSI is unchanged for weeks - no matter, if there is heavy rain.

On thunderstorms, sometimes the RSSI dropped and did not get back to the "real" value without dropping the link manually or starting "align-mode" for some seconds...

Thank you and best wishes
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:53 am

Hi!

Did you find any possiblity to get valid RSSI-values?
I see fluctuation over the first 5 minutes. After that, RSSI is unchanged for weeks - no matter, if there is heavy rain.

On thunderstorms, sometimes the RSSI dropped and did not get back to the "real" value without dropping the link manually or starting "align-mode" for some seconds...

Thank you and best wishes
 
server8
Member
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: LHG 60G experience

Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:45 pm

ros version?
  • 1
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests