Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
todayheads
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:18 pm

Wireless PTMP Dilemma

Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:12 am

diagram 1.jpg
ok, This image somehow describes my problem.

I have the network working on bridge1, we use PPPoE accounts with mac address lock, the problem I need to give the two stations connected to SXTsq AP same PPPoE account.how can that be done

I already tried the following but with no success
1- removed ether 6 from bridge1 and still used as master port= none ( where PPPoE account on AP added)
2-tried to add the account to ether 6 but with no success
3-tried to add the account to ether 6after adding ether6 to bridge1 in ports
4-tried to make DHCP server and client with no success

How can that be achieved, it is driving me nuts
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1351
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wireless PTMP Dilemma

Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:14 am

This to stations needs to share the same PPPoE?

Please post you configuration export
 
User avatar
mbfound
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:18 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Wireless PTMP Dilemma

Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:28 pm

Are the IPs the PPPoE server give you the static or dynamic? If its dynamic, you could just duplicate the setup.
 
User avatar
todayheads
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:18 pm

Re: Wireless PTMP Dilemma

Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:01 am

hi guys
thanks for the reply
its dynamic IPs, the problem is the only way to send traffic is by adding a router, put the PPPoE account, attach the AP to the LAN in and then transmit connection to stations wirelessly

why it is not working with Mikrotik, there must be a way to do that as RB-2011 has huge potential for networking magic
 
dravnieks
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:11 am
Location: Gorey, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Wireless PTMP Dilemma

Tue May 01, 2018 2:05 pm

By your description I still have no Idea what do you want to achieve? 1st thing is why do you want to use the same pppoe account in 2 locations?
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5970
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Wireless PTMP Dilemma

Tue May 01, 2018 2:26 pm

Such a setup will only work when the links are transparent for MAC addresses, which such a PtMP WiFi network normally isn't.
It will work when you configure the WiFi mode as bridge (and station-bridge).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests