Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
banek
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:57 pm

5GHz-turbo mode - 108Mbps

Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:37 am

Does anybody know how to setup 108Mbps, when 5Ghz trubo mode is selected, or this option is not working at all.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24556
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:44 am

108Mbps is a marketing term. It is air-rate, you will not get such speeds in reality. With a lot of fine tuning and careful selection of hardware, you could achieve 70Mbps, but it also depends on distance, cards, antennas, interference and other factors.
 
banek
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:57 pm

Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:51 am

Link distance is about 500m, with CCQ 100%, SNR approx 40dB.

It would also help to get 70Mbps air rate, but I can not found how to setup speed higher than 54Mbps.

I am running 2.9.39 version.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:31 pm

band=5ghz-turbo or almost same for 2.4ghz.

if your wireless supports that
 
banek
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:57 pm

Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:25 pm

My card support 5G trubo mode (CM9, AR5312), but when I set 5G-trubo band, I can't sellect 108Mbps in data rate page. As a result my card is only working on 54Mbps.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6623
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:39 pm

You are not able to select these values, I recommend you to perfrorm test using turbo and regular bands for comparing.
Recommended test architecture, PC1 --- Router1 ---wireless--- Router2 ---- PC2, send/receive data to/from computers.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24556
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:51 pm

to clarify sergejs post - just the fact that you can't select that particular value doesn't mean that you will not get this speed ...
 
User avatar
nickb
Member
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Southeast Kansas
Contact:

Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:20 am

I was just testing this in the lab tonight, having never toyed with turbo mode I thought I would give it a shot.

In 5GHZ-Turbo I was able to get ~29Mbps UDP bidirectional (58Mbps total) through from my PC to a x86 MT with 866Mhz P3 CPU (it was maxed of course). RB532 in the middle was running about 90-97% CPU (it was not generating any traffic). This is all with nstream/best-fit/3200/polling.

When at normal channel width I was able to get approximatly ~20Mbps UDP bidirectional (40Mbps total) with the same settings. Net improvement of almost 20Mbps!

This is in LAB environment, AP and Client antennas are about .5 meter apart with TX power set t0 2dB on SR5 with "stubby" antennas - home-made antennas of an N-Male connector, an inch or two of LMR400 and 1/2" stripped center conductor on the end (1/4 wave of 5.8Ghz). RX/TX signal about -67. RX/TX CCQ 100%. SNR 42dB.

Win XP P4 2.2Ghz <- ethernet -> rb532 <- 802.11a -> 866Mhz MT

Performance WITHOUT nstream in this setup is:

5Ghz Turbo - ~28Mbps
5Ghz - ~15Mbps
5Ghz 10Mhz - ~8Mbps
5Ghz 5Mhz - ~4Mbps
 
User avatar
ivaring
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:25 pm
Contact:

Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:54 pm

Hi all.
Would mean that doesn't exist any "real mode configuration" about 5GHz - Trbo Mode?.
I mean, I have several MTK cards at 2,4GHz and those let me config at Turbo mode, through wireless configuration submenu.

Thanks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests