Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
robertEIT
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:16 pm

RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT worse than a TP-LINK Archer C7?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 3:05 am

Hi guys,
I'm very frustrated right now with my new RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT I just got, no matter what settings I use for wireless it seems to perform worse than a TP-LINK Archer C7 that it should replace.

I'm on the latest firmware and packages and in an environment with clean RF on both 2.4 and 5 Ghz.

The range is lower than the TP-LINK, the throughput on wifi is less and I have issues with Apple devices connecting or maintaining a connection.

This is what I've tried so far as wireless settings:

2.4 Ghz
Tried channels 1, 6, 11
Width set to 20 Mhz because I believe 20/40 causes issues with Apple devices, please confirm!
Manual transmit power with or without regulatory domain or country set. If I leave no country set with manual default power I get some more range but not as the TP-LINK. If I lower the power, say 17 or 20 I lose significant range compared to TP-LINK.
WMM enabled
Preamble I tried both, short and long
I tried setting only N and BGN

5Ghz

Tried both leaving A/N/AC and AC only
20/40 Ceee
20/40/80 Ceee (How are Apple devices dealing with 20/40/80? Should I leave only 20/40?)
Played with the regulatory domain, country set or no country set. Tried lowering the power, 17, 20, range is very poor compared to the TP-LINK.
WMM is enabled

Overall, I can't get the Mikrotik to perform at least as the TP-LINK in wireless performance wich really upset me as I convinced the client of all the benefits of upgrading to a device with serious capabilities and features. Is this model really worse in wireless performance than the TP-LINK Archer C7 or am I missing some settings?

The router has a 1000/700 Mbit connection with static IP on WAN.

There are 3 Lenovo laptops with 2.4 and 5ghz wireless, 2 MacBook Pro, 3 iPhone. The iPhones have issues connecting to either 2.4 and 5Ghz SSIDs and the MacBook barely sees the wifi 15m away wich didn't happen with the TP-LINK.

WPA2 with only PSK AES is set as security profiles for both 2.4 and 5 Ghz.


Sent from my STH100-2 using Tapatalk

 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT worse than a TP-LINK Archer C7?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:25 am

Have you tried all defaults? There is no issue with Apple devices, channel width or otherwise. Like stated elsewhere, I can repeat 700Mbit+ with Apple laptops through the hAPac, it performs very well with Apple devices.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
robertEIT
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:16 pm

Re: RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT worse than a TP-LINK Archer C7?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 3:10 pm

Have you tried all defaults? There is no issue with Apple devices, channel width or otherwise. Like stated elsewhere, I can repeat 700Mbit+ with Apple laptops through the hAPac, it performs very well with Apple devices.
I did, twice. I'm going to reset it again and try defaults using the quick setup option but I doubt it will do much. Could it be defective?

Sent from my STH100-2 using Tapatalk

 
robertEIT
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:16 pm

Re: RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT worse than a TP-LINK Archer C7?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:38 pm

Do you guys know any freeware or trial wifi analyzer software for Windows? I'm going to try tomorrow and do a comparison test between the TP-Link Archer C7 and the RB962.

I playes with some other settings today, did another reset to factory defaults and still, the range is less than the Archer.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: slimmerwifi and 21 guests