Page 1 of 1

Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:44 am
by sefirot127
Hi, everyone, I hope you can help me.

Lately doing tests in my network, I have seen that I have quite high latency from the clients to the Ap.

This I have tried in several ap and this same problem I have in aps with 7-8 clients

Minimum of 8 ms | Of average 12-14 ms and maximum of 48 ms

But pinging from the ap to the client I have an average latency of 7 ms and a maximum of 20 ms.

I have changed Nv2 tdma period size obtaining worse results.
I have changed frequencies obtaining the same result.

These results are obtained without having any kind of traffic on the antenna

I have tried to change the protocol by 802.11 and the latency is 0-1 ms on average but it does not solve my problem because as soon as some traffic moves, the latency increases to 20 ms on average.

Could someone give me some advice to improve latency?

Please, I need you to help me as I am seriously thinking about changing to another brand like cambium.

I would not like to change to another brand since mikrotik I like it very much and of course I have an investment in this fairly high brand around 400 SXT 5hpnd, 25 Aps

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:53 am
by rogerkri
What RouterOS are you using?

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:58 am
by sefirot127
I have tried version 6.32.3, version 6.42.1 and 6.42.5.

I get the same results

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 10:12 am
by soulflyhigh
What are the signal levels of those clients?
How does the 5GHz spectrum looks at those sites, is there any other AP nearby?
Could you post a screenshot of registration table from AP side?

Regards,
M.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 10:34 am
by sefirot127
the signal level is between -40 -55 approximately.
The spectrum is practically occupied only by me and I have 4 aps on the same antenna 90º each

I attached an image of the registration table

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 11:06 am
by sup5
Please paste the wireless configuration as well as all used device types (AP and Stations) including their full product name.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 11:11 am
by chechito
my personal judgment about the topic:

keep in mind is a ptmp setup, time slot assignment between stations takes some ms to operate

if you need better latency to a specific hosts think the better option is to use a ptp to that host who need such a low latency

keep in mind is wireless not optical fiber

implement QoS and dont fully saturate the available airtime to maintain stable latency

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 11:50 am
by sefirot127
I understand that the latency will not be 1 ms
but I can not allow a 14 ms average latency with 40ms spikes since more sensitive services like the voip or online game will not work correctly.
in a ptmp scenario a latency 8 - 10 ms stable is somewhat reasonable.
I do not think this is normal

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 12:59 pm
by chechito
some ways to maybe improve the situation

with QoS/WMM you can somewhat mitigate the situation

give priority with marking DSCP and TOS for latency sensitive traffic using mangle and set NV2 to QoS= frame priority, queue count 4

you can also set highest allowed MCS to a more reliable value to reduce retransmissions

set HT guard interval to long to avoid frequent changes on it

Limit the throughput of not sensitive traffic to avoid saturation of link/air-time

Using queuing you can give guarantee priority bandwidth to sensitive traffic over nos sensitive traffic that way sensitive traffic allways will be dispatched before non sensitive traffic

disable default forwarding to avoid inter station communication to save air-time

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:29 pm
by sefirot127
Very well, I'm going to try it and I'll tell you the results

Thank you very much for your help

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:39 pm
by sefirot127
I'm sorry I took so long to answer, I've been very busy

I have done what you told me and I still have the same problem.

I have tried to disconnect clients from the AP and leaving only 6 clients I have seen how the latency improved greatly.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:24 am
by ThiagoSantos
I'm starting to install AP's and Mikrotik CPE and am having that same problem, very high latency from CPE to AP. check below the ping to internal destination of my network the difference of the AP and the CPE connected directly in the same AP

CPE: SXTsq lite and Disc lite every new
Image

Other CPE this AP
Image


AP_BASEBOX
Image
Image

Configuration AP :

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Image


I wonder if this is normal? or that it is wrong in my configuration, by my way of seeing it is high.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:23 pm
by spacex
I'm starting to install AP's and Mikrotik CPE and am having that same problem, very high latency from CPE to AP. check below the ping to internal destination of my network the difference of the AP and the CPE connected directly in the same AP

CPE: SXTsq lite and Disc lite every new
Image

Other CPE this AP
Image


AP_BASEBOX
Image
Image

Configuration AP :

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Image


I wonder if this is normal? or that it is wrong in my configuration, by my way of seeing it is high.
Pls. try again multicast helper: FULL

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:03 pm
by ThiagoSantos
Hi, But I do not use any Multicast system, because I would switch to Muticast ? which improvements I would have altering to Multicast for latency,the end of account since I posted the latency only increased considerably, with 20ms average of the station for AP.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:29 pm
by InoX
Those pings are normal for nv2 and ptmp.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:38 am
by ThiagoSantos
well that's not cool, I was thinking of migrating everything to Miktoik AP and CPE, by the way I see it will not be worth it, it's very high 20ms average latency sometimes hits 60ms.
Image

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:13 am
by mistry7
Those pings are normal for nv2 and ptmp.
No that isn’t right, before ac and 6.40 Nv2 ping was about 8-10ms without load and about 3-6 ms with load , and it was really more constant, after Mikrotik adding features like sync and download ratio the mess begins

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:52 am
by spacex
Can you ping by doing bandwidth testing by the client?
Change tdma period size:2

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:25 pm
by ThiagoSantos
The images that I posted are from MIkrotik CPE to my internal network the gateway of the AP, you can see in the images in the previous post.test made from the AP for the same destination and the difference in latency. if I do a band test the latency increases. I've already moved to 2ms tdma period size and it has not improved. my clients are at most 3Km.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:14 pm
by spacex
3 km from all users?
How long can you look at the timer?
Opening for wireless>registration

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:26 pm
by r00t
Sadly this seems to be a "normal" for NV2. Latency is a total mess, even on low frame time (2-3ms) it's very ugly. Try nstreme or 802.11 with full cts/rts, that may or may not work better for you. But it all depends on many things, like interference on channel, number of clients, possibly ROS versions, radios used etc.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:46 pm
by ThiagoSantos
3 km from all users?
How long can you look at the timer?
Opening for wireless>registration
It's TDMA time size as in the image., The only thing I think of is this, it's interference, but I have two basebox's, they're in a location in my tower, they just have them and other radios from other vendors and there's no other tower in it local, so I do not see that it is interference, the equipments are new basebox and Disc lite and SXTsq lite.
Image

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:00 pm
by ahteran
3 km from all users?
How long can you look at the timer?
Opening for wireless>registration
It's TDMA time size as in the image., The only thing I think of is this, it's interference, but I have two basebox's, they're in a location in my tower, they just have them and other radios from other vendors and there's no other tower in it local, so I do not see that it is interference, the equipments are new basebox and Disc lite and SXTsq lite.
Image

What antenna do you use?
My bench result
https://imgur.com/a/u6jcucu
Image
200 meters distance on 30 degree horn and client sq lite5

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:43 am
by ThiagoSantos
3 km from all users?
How long can you look at the timer?
Opening for wireless>registration
It's TDMA time size as in the image., The only thing I think of is this, it's interference, but I have two basebox's, they're in a location in my tower, they just have them and other radios from other vendors and there's no other tower in it local, so I do not see that it is interference, the equipments are new basebox and Disc lite and SXTsq lite.
Image

What antenna do you use?
My bench result
https://imgur.com/a/u6jcucu
Image
200 meters distance on 30 degree horn and client sq lite5
Use antenna of the UBNT base station 17dbi 90º.

I am to test another antenna better but I do not believe it is the antenna because I have that client with very good signals.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:41 am
by spacex
how many people are connected to the sector ?
I would recommend splitting 20-25 into 2 people.
tdma time looks very high distances like far away distant

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:21 pm
by ThiagoSantos
how many people are connected to the sector ?
I would recommend splitting 20-25 into 2 people.
tdma time looks very high distances like far away distant
In the test is a sector with 17 clients, I have another with 37, but the first test that was posted was with only 7 clients.

Well how to improve this tdma time?

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:35 am
by spacex
Timing of TDMA depends on distance. Can you use one SXTSQ? Can you transfer some customers? The reason I'm asking this is to control it at a narrower angle.

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:57 pm
by ThiagoSantos
Timing of TDMA depends on distance. Can you use one SXTSQ? Can you transfer some customers? The reason I'm asking this is to control it at a narrower angle.
All of my CPEs either are new SXTsq or Discs, 16 and 21dbi respectively, the signals are the ones worst is -62 / -71, The farthest distance shows 3Km, what would be an ideal distance to have a low latency?

Image

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 3:16 pm
by n21roadie
@chechito
some ways to maybe improve the situation

with QoS/WMM you can somewhat mitigate the situation

give priority with marking DSCP and TOS for latency sensitive traffic using mangle and set NV2 to QoS= frame priority, queue count 4

you can also set highest allowed MCS to a more reliable value to reduce retransmissions

set HT guard interval to long to avoid frequent changes on it

Limit the throughput of not sensitive traffic to avoid saturation of link/air-time

Using queuing you can give guarantee priority bandwidth to sensitive traffic over nos sensitive traffic that way sensitive traffic allways will be dispatched before non sensitive traffic

disable default forwarding to avoid inter station communication to save air-time
Just curious how to ..."Limit the throughput of not sensitive traffic to avoid saturation of link/air-time".... and where? is at AP or further back on the network,

Re: Nv2 High latency

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:28 am
by alejosalmon
Hi I see in the pictures you have posted that you are not using a password on nv2 menu.Please fix it.If you dont use a password on it,any mikrotik cpe can connect to you ap easily.