Page 1 of 1

Redundant BH Ideas

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 1:39 am
by randallr
I've been using MT for backbone router for 4 years, and all bridged Karlnet and Canopy BH's and AP's. We've started replacing most BH's with MT radios using WDS.

We're looking at a new backbone connection that would require a wireless link to Fiber location.. We will also have to re-number our IP space with the transition.

I'm thinking that I should look at some kind of dual BH links to Fiber location with some kind of redundancy. It's also probably time that we should start subnetting more and using routing in many of our BH's to remote AP's.

I may need a little coaching when we get to the subnetting/routing part!

Any suggestions on at least the dual BH's?

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:55 am
by mneumark
Randallr,

I use MT BH's to my fiber connection. To that location i use OSPF and setup the two BH's and turn them into transparent bridges using WDS.

It really depends on the amount of data that you are wanting to put though those BH's. The faster the processor the more speed you are going to get. It will also depend on what other things you might have those BH's doing.

I would recommend 1GHz+ mainboard if you are wanting to pass some major speed through those BH's.

Matt

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:06 am
by randallr
We will be backhauling 15mb initially to this fiber point.

I haven't done any routing on our network beyond our MT box that connects to our current ethernet handoff. (One ethernet up port on their IP, then 4 ethernet ports, each with a class C each that they point to us)

I really want to do more subnetting between our BH's, as well as this issue of redundant link between new fiber and our NOC.

Would like to work with someone that's done this -- don't mind paying!!

If possible, contact me off list -- randall@basinbroadband.com