Community discussions

MikroTik App

axo
just joined
Topic Author

MT wifi setup options for small retail shops & cafes

Wed Sep 12, 2018 6:38 pm

Hi Guys.
Im looking for some tips/easy to follow articles/documentation/user feedback on MikroTik devices setup for
smaller retail shops and cafes. Lets call it, 30-50 clients MAX connected at peak times, using their devices for the average
Joe's and Jane's Facebook, email and youtube videos activities that you will normally find in a place like this.

I have experience in networking, i am currently learning my way around RouterOS and the options, but i am not an expert by any means.
I know the routers sold for the end users, at BestBuy and of course i have hit the wall with them in several occasions for obvious reasons
so now i am learning MT.

I have two rb2011uias-2hnd-in routers and one wAP AC i am playing with (experimenting) setting up wireless hotspots with social media integration (walled garden) setups.
I have a good idea of signal strengths, radios, where to put APs depending on the locations, protocols, services and so on, but what i am looking for here is your expertise
recommending any of the MT models that i should be using for my setups. I see specs.. yes, but they don't really ring any bells to me as i rather hear first hand / real world experiences
from you who had played with these for so long instead of numbers posted by the manufacturers.

I see the beautiful newer RB4011, or the hAP ac, or HAP AC² ? Are these units, combined with wAP AC antennas OK for my purposes, or do i need to be looking
at the higher specs rackmountable units for my purposes?
How can i find out the real life number limits (concurrent every day web surf person connected to the APs) of these units?
I want to stick to MT for now, i read old posts (yes i googled and most info i found is years old before these units even existed). Not Ubiquiti or any other brands
as of right now MT is what i have available.

Where do i start?