Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

wlan+sector

Fri Feb 23, 2007 3:43 pm

Hello
i have 3 sector antenna with 20 db gain each one with 3 watt 2.4GHz AMP each AMP is connected to a separate wireless lan connected to Mikrotik router the service is very good in the morning but it gets very bad through the night any body thinks in a reason why?

any one help me pleas.... :roll:
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

hellloooooooooooooooo

Sun Feb 25, 2007 3:07 pm

any body there?????
 
babyface
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:22 pm

Sun Feb 25, 2007 3:38 pm

Try to remove the amps. Too much noise...
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:09 pm

Could also be congestion. And... where in the world can you legally run that kind of power?
 
babyface
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:22 pm

Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:24 pm

Could also be congestion. And... where in the world can you legally run that kind of power?
He said one amp in each radio, so there is a total of 3 amps of 3W :shock: in the 2.4Ghz band...

And for sure, specifications is out of law if he isn't in Antartida :D
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

antartida

Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:02 pm

hello thankyou for the answers ....well i am not in antarctica iam in IRAQ though i wish to make it straight any how ...i dismanteled the 3 amps but the problem still persist ....

i wish to know from others expeirence what is the suitable equipment to resolve the problem i am ready to purchase any item to solve it once and for all....we have almost 300 users and 3 120 degree sector antenna 20dB , 3 wireless pcmci Prism Cards 200mW the sectors antenna are installed on top of 21m tower the RF cables are lmr400 100Ft long each i do have other equipment to experiment with though the previouse configuration is the one i had installed and yet it is in work now.thank you for your help in advance i am sure i will get the professional help i expect and i am sure it would be helpfull to the others

yours sincerely
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:30 pm

I would suppose that your system is just plain overloaded.
Running almost 300 users on one system (distributed over 3 wireless cards) is too much if you ask me. (Although everything depends on what quality of service you want to offer.)

Depending on who you ask the answer to the maximum sensible amount of users on one wireless interface will vary between 25 and 60 (roughly). I would not put more that about 35 users on one AP.

So probably your problem is that once most users get online (in the evening/at night), your AP is totally overloaded. The only way to get over this would be installing more APs to distribute the load.

Anyone thinking of another reason?

Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:43 pm

ok thank you for the replay...i have only 3 sectors is it possible to connect more AP's to them ?? and if it is possible what is the suitable way ....and another question is that how to serve more than 400 or 500 users??!!

thank you
 
babyface
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:22 pm

Thu Mar 01, 2007 7:20 pm

You should replace your 120º sectors by 90 or 60 degrees ones and connect an AP on each. This way the load is divided by four or six.
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:01 pm

thank you this lead me to another question WHAT do you think the expected coverage for an omni co-linear antenna with a 3 watt amp and without the amp??
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:23 am

Just thinking about this a bit more....

What if you mounted a actual computer with a large processor and ample RAM and connected the antennas to it. Use Ubiquiti SR radios and trash the old ones....

That might work...
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:47 am

ok thank you for the replay...i have only 3 sectors is it possible to connect more AP's to them ?? and if it is possible what is the suitable way ....and another question is that how to serve more than 400 or 500 users??!!

thank you
You should split things up into multiple sites for that many users. Then you can reuse frequencies in alternating geographic areas. You don't have enough spectrum to put all your users to one site. Then the coverage of each site can be less by design.
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:38 am

Just thinking about this a bit more....

What if you mounted a actual computer with a large processor and ample RAM and connected the antennas to it. Use Ubiquiti SR radios and trash the old ones....

That might work...
well we already run a computer with high processor and MT OSRouter installed ...with 3 prism 200mW radio....if you think the number of users the SR2 can service is more than prism please explain to me

thank you
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:45 am

You should split things up into multiple sites for that many users. Then you can reuse frequencies in alternating geographic areas. You don't have enough spectrum to put all your users to one site. Then the coverage of each site can be less by design.
all the 300 users are connected to equipments attached to one tower with a range of 2 Km do you think it would be good solution to put multiple towres in the same place ?

thank you
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:48 am

You should replace your 120º sectors by 90 or 60 degrees ones and connect an AP on each. This way the load is divided by four or six.
well if i mounted more sectors always there will be a limit ...what do you think if i reached 1000 users can i still service them through 60 degree for example sector antenna's ??
 
kad
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm

Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:50 am

i wonder if a wimax technology could slove such problems ...or it suffers from the same problems of crowdy networks ...if any body tried this technology and weather it can be delivered easily..

thank you
 
babyface
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:22 pm

Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:39 pm

well if i mounted more sectors always there will be a limit ...what do you think if i reached 1000 users can i still service them through 60 degree for example sector antenna's ??
Everything in this world has a limit. If you want to serve 1000 clients with a computer and few antennas you have a serious problem.

If you have a tower, you can use at least 8 antennas without compromising quality in 5Ghz band. Use two system, each with four 90º sector antennas. This way:

1000 users / 8 sectors = 125 users per sector.

Anyway this is a lot of load for a radio and depending of your level of service can be problematic.
 
slipstream1
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:55 pm

Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:01 pm

Install some 5.xx radios on the same tower and share the load between these 2 types of access points. Higher priority clients on the 5.xx and lower priority on the 2.4. Then start building more sites. Spacing them closely together and adjusting your downtilts as to not overrun each other. If you use multiple frequencies on each tower and build micro-cells, you should be able to get done what you want. Just make sure that you have a big enough pipe.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jzero4242 and 29 guests