Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
warwick09
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: The Bahamas / Florida

Power rating for rb532a -- help

Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:54 am

Good day,

RB 532A

Ive done some browsing around the forums regarding power requirements..... forgive me, but they all seem at most, ambiguous. My simple question is will a 12v 1.2amp DC adapter work with such... running at ~333mhz with an xr5 mpci (full power, possibly adding one extra card in future)

Plan on using the above for a ptp link 5.850Ghz, 13 miles -- ~90% LOS with 32.5 dbis on each end. One other thing, the spec sheet for the xr5 supports 40mhz channel bandwidth spacing, im assuming this is another term for turbo mode, no ?


Any help would be appreciated.
Regards.
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:06 am

Use 48volts to be safe.
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Re: Power rating for rb532a -- help

Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:57 pm

the spec sheet for the xr5 supports 40mhz channel bandwidth spacing, im assuming this is another term for turbo mode, no ?
Yes
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
User avatar
warwick09
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: The Bahamas / Florida

Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:01 am

Thanks much for the response, appreciate it. Another thing.... Im a bit chary of such a link though, in terms of speed and latency... Ill feel a bit more content with some real world scernarios, in other words im wondering if 5.8ghz can actually make the 13 mile link with a fair deal of bandwidth.....


Transmitting: 5.8ghz turbo mode, power= 600mw Antenna: 32.5dbi 5(Degree) beamwith both hori. and vert.

Receiver = same

Height above sea level for location 1 = 20ft as for location 2 = ~60 ft with no obstructions in between (80% of link will be over water)

A few inputs would be great,

Regards

[/img]
 
User avatar
warwick09
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: The Bahamas / Florida

sighs...

Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:28 am

I can Imagine you guys are probably tired of me.... hehe, but ummm will this power supply work with the rb532a


http://www.hyperlinktech.com/web/ps4860-poe.php

... I would simply like to be certain of the power supply before I purchase as it is an integral part of any system....

Regards.
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:19 am

 
jonbrewer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 5:56 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Power rating for rb532a -- help

Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:51 pm

Ive done some browsing around the forums regarding power requirements..... forgive me, but they all seem at most, ambiguous. My simple question is will a 12v 1.2amp DC adapter work with such... running at ~333mhz with an xr5 mpci (full power, possibly adding one extra card in future)
We've never had any luck running RB532A at 12V DC. I think the production run we received had underspec capacitors, so maybe yours will work better. We run at 18V in almost every case.

We also use old style wound transformers to power critical links, as switch-mode supplies tend to die at inconvenient times.
 
goldclick
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:48 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Sat Apr 14, 2007 7:05 pm

Thanks much for the response, appreciate it. Another thing.... Im a bit chary of such a link though, in terms of speed and latency... Ill feel a bit more content with some real world scernarios, in other words im wondering if 5.8ghz can actually make the 13 mile link with a fair deal of bandwidth.....


Transmitting: 5.8ghz turbo mode, power= 600mw Antenna: 32.5dbi 5(Degree) beamwith both hori. and vert.

Receiver = same

Height above sea level for location 1 = 20ft as for location 2 = ~60 ft with no obstructions in between (80% of link will be over water)

A few inputs would be great,

Regards

[/img]
Warwick09,

I think its waste of power and trouble... I'll suggest these 600mW cards be used in Multipoint/Mesh setup. 13mile link is short distance.

I have 18 mile link rock solid with -67/-60 dBm. One side is RB112, 65mW R52 and 24dBi 5GHz Flat Panel. The other side is RB133c, 65mW R52 and 30dBi 5GHz Dish. Both are driven by 12v DC. With 32dBi and R52 on both side, you can do quite a lot. Plan carefully and get those antennas to see each other and you have a good link!
 
rockr
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 6:00 pm

Re: Power rating for rb532a -- help

Thu May 24, 2007 5:06 am

Ive done some browsing around the forums regarding power requirements..... forgive me, but they all seem at most, ambiguous. My simple question is will a 12v 1.2amp DC adapter work with such... running at ~333mhz with an xr5 mpci (full power, possibly adding one extra card in future)
We've never had any luck running RB532A at 12V DC. I think the production run we received had underspec capacitors, so maybe yours will work better. We run at 18V in almost every case.

We also use old style wound transformers to power critical links, as switch-mode supplies tend to die at inconvenient times.
My experience is just the opposite. I always buy a switcher over a linear power supply. They can handle lightning and surges much better. My experience has been that linear supplies are the first to go in a storm. The only reason to use them is that they cost less. We have 120v AC here so that might make a difference.

Tom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Lupin and 30 guests