Community discussions

 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

cap AC Critical Errors???

Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:34 pm

I am getting sporadic log hits of the following nature.
These really thrown my wifi networks and vlans for a loop!!

"system,error,critical - router was rebooted without proper shutdown
"system,error,critical - kernel failure in previous boot"


No one to my knowledge is playing with the power switches.
They both are on battery backups???
After a minute everything is back up on line on the Cap AC.

What could be causing this and is this an indication that I should reload the firmware?
I am getting scared that the CapAC is damaged somehow??

My second capAC had that the other day as well and right now didnt show up on winbox until I put in the mac address but it doesnt connect.
I unplugged the ethernet cable to it, and re-attached it and now it is accessible with same warnings as noted above.......

Perplexed and frustrated.
 
R1CH
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 724
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:44 pm

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:03 pm

Either they are not receiving enough power or the power is not good quality. If you're sure the power source is good and they are running the latest firmware and RouterOS then the device is probably defective.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2174
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:22 pm

Yes, ARM based hardware have problems with ROS. Maybe with latest (6.43.7) seems ok
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:03 pm

Hmm well they seem both to be stable over the past few days, Not sure why they were acting up. Both on UPS.
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Member
Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:25 am

kernel failure = send autosupout to mikrotik.
Nobody else will be able to figure out. Kernel failures should not happen - Mikrotik needs to be notified about it so they can fix it in upcoming release.

You didn't describe exact conditions very well but maybe I had similar experience earlier - one of my RBD52G restarted due to kernel failure. I suspected UPS as well and support guys confirmed it was something with interrupted communication with UPS over USB (Ticket#2018111622000492). Your situation is clearly different that cAP does not have USB. I find it unlike to see kernel failure due to power issue but hey - anything is possible. Try to send it to support and let us know what they figured out! I am certainly interested.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:11 pm

Hi V87, I have never sent anything to support and dont know the process for autosupt??
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1023
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:36 pm

If autosupout file was generated, it will lay in the user files part of RB's NAND. Get it and attach it to the mail you're going to send to support@mikrotik.com
BR,
Metod
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:57 am

Done
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:34 pm

Quick reply, excellent tech response time.
Only thing stated was to reinstall latest firmware via netinstall.
Of course I asked a. why reinstall and b. why use netinstall as the method.
and naturally what did the sent files show!
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: cap AC Critical Errors???

Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:43 am

Trying netinstall for the firsttime and its giving me fits LOL.
Trying a different computer as it just sits and install and then flashes back to ready after about 10 seconds, its not taking.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests