Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3090
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Hotspot authentication several users behind 1 CPE antenna.

Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:35 am

I have set up a Hotspot in a wireless environment. To save on cost for CPE´s some CPE´s (Not MT) have two or more clients (users, or for instance several PC´s with a hub or switch) behind that CPE antenna.
The authentication takes now place on the first node that logs in because the hotspot binds the users dynamicaly generated ip (hotspot assignment) on the mac adress of the CPE. After this all nodes can just browse (if multple allowed sessions for the user)
The Hotspot ´host´ list shows the mac of the CPE with the ip adress that is assigned by the first node that logs in? I want every node that logs in to be presented with a login screen, so every separate user has to log in separately. Who can help me out here?
The CPE runs in Client Bridge mode with fixed ip´s.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:11 am

You need to ensure, that CPE is operating in 'true' bridge mode, otherwise they will be presented on host list with the same MAC-address (CPE) but with different IP addresses.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3090
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:47 pm

With ´true´ bridge mode you mean a sort of ´transparant´ behaviour? Then Client PC´s just are shown by the host, not the CPE´s mac?

The client CPE´s are all SmartBridges, I can´t actually change their behaviour I think.


Webmaster: According the log my origianal message was post on 12:35 am Fri Mar 02, while Sergejs replied on it at 7:11 am the same day!
How can he reply almost 5,5 hours BEFORE my original message?
You need to check time settings of this forum.
 
User avatar
tneumann
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:38 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:31 pm

The client CPE´s are all SmartBridges, I can´t actually change their behaviour I think.
Well, then you'll have no way to fix this. Get another brand of CPE, one that does support fully transparent bridging (which - in the context of 802.11 - means WDS) or ask SmartBridges if they can tell you how to solve this with their equipment.

--Tom
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3090
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Sat Mar 03, 2007 1:44 am

OK, so that´s it for SmartBridges then...

But how should my topologie look like when using MT base CPE´s?
Set them up as ´bridge´ (bridge all interfaces) and have a hub/switch behind them to connect to different users of the HotSpot?
 
User avatar
acim
Member
Member
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:26 am
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Sat Mar 03, 2007 1:45 am

For example, D-Link 900 behaves just as you want. You can see it's MAC address, but all user MAC's as well.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3090
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Sat Mar 03, 2007 2:15 am

D-Link 900 is ip cam. What do you mean?
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:22 am

D-Link 900 is ip cam. What do you mean?
I think he meant the DWL-900AP+
 
User avatar
tneumann
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:38 pm
Location: Germany

Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:32 am

But how should my topologie look like when using MT base CPE´s?
Set them up as ´bridge´ (bridge all interfaces) and have a hub/switch behind them to connect to different users of the HotSpot?
Yes, and you need to use station-wds on the CPE to get transparent bridging.

--Tom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], yannick and 25 guests