Community discussions

 
Tuchi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:19 pm

RB4011 slow WiFi

Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:53 pm

Hello,
Just wondering if anyone experienced similar /slow WiFi speeds on RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD?

The device is brand new, updated to the latest stable 6.43.7, using default configuration.

The situation is that on my 1gbit line I can reach 760/700 Mbits down/up via LAN interface.
However on 2.4GHz I can only reach 32/40 Mbits down/up and on 5GHz 120/216 Mbits.
It seems that device is just struggling on Wifi. There are a lot drops in the transfer speeds.

I provide my configuration:
# dec/14/2018 17:27:48 by RouterOS 6.43.7
# software id = 6S9Y-PY0E
#
# model = RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD
# serial number = XXXXXXXXXXXX
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=5ghz-n/ac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-XXXX \
country=bulgaria disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge \
secondary-channel=auto ssid=Test-5 wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-XX \
country=bulgaria disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge \
ssid=Test-2 wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk mode=\
dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=XXXXXXXXXX \
wpa2-pre-shared-key=XXXXXXXXXX
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.10.10-192.168.10.100
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether6
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether7
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether8
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether9
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether10
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=sfp-sfpplus1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.10.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2 network=\
192.168.10.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.10.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.10.1 netmask=24
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.10.1 name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-st
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" conn
invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-stat
connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" i
out,none out-interface-list=WAN
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Sofia
/system leds
add interface=wlan2 leds="wlan2_signal1-led,wlan2_signal2-led,wlan
wlan2_signal4-led,wlan2_signal5-led" type=wireless-signal-stre
add interface=wlan2 leds=wlan2_tx-led type=interface-transmit
add interface=wlan2 leds=wlan2_rx-led type=interface-receive
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN


Just to clarify - I have tried to manually select WiFi channels to a lest busy ones and there is no difference,
Also on exactly same location with UAP-AC-Pro I can do 290/370 Mbits without any problem or drops in performance.

If anyone can point me in direction or share experience with the device I would be grateful.
 
e3ctsc
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:54 pm

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Fri Dec 14, 2018 10:18 pm

Unfortunately I cannot give you a positive answer or an answer at all. I have two RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD here and both of them have very slow wifi. While AC is even slower than G/N. I tested with the factory 6.43.4, 6.43.7 and 6.44beta40. I have also the impression that the country settings do not really work as predicted as for example having country set to switzerland auto frequency goes to frequencies not "allowed" here. Stability on the 5G card seems very poor while 2.4 is better (but slow, never managed to get above 54MBit)

So I fear we need to wait for a new firmware. At least the standard configuration seems to have improved since 6.43.4 but for me only good for testing, later on not used at all.
 
deanMKD1
Member
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Macedonia
Contact:

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:27 pm

RB4011 ia based on ARM architecture. The same issue is persisted on many ARM based devices like hAP AC2.. Will improve WiFi transfer speeds, but will take time to fine tune firmware.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1225
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:35 pm

Some Notebooks (HP with Intel AC Wireless) only connecting at 54MBit.... nothing new for Mikrotik users...
Welcome to Mikrotik Driver specials for ARM....
 
Tuchi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:19 pm

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:41 pm

RB4011 ia based on ARM architecture. The same issue is persisted on many ARM based devices like hAP AC2.. Will improve WiFi transfer speeds, but will take time to fine tune firmware.
well hAP AC2 is already an year old and supposedly with solved issues. I was hoping that lessons are learned and there would be no issues with device which is "flagman" .

Thank you for your reply
 
Tuchi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:19 pm

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:47 pm

Some Notebooks (HP with Intel AC Wireless) only connecting at 54MBit.... nothing new for Mikrotik users...
Welcome to Mikrotik Driver specials for ARM....
It's quite ironic that the top banner for the forum is for 4011 and advertised 1733Mbps data rate...
One would guess and hope to be able easily to achieve at least 1/3 of this speed....

It is sad that something like that is possible. I know "rush to the market" strategy but if the selling point for this device is outstanding WiFi it should provide at least decent.. otherwise is pointless as device
 
Nirox
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:03 pm

Hi team!

One question: I have brand new Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD (international version) and I try setup WiFi 5Ghz with 160mhz. And have next situation: when I turn on 20/40/80/160 Mhz Ceeeeeee and apply settings I can't see my WiFi network.

I check with iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 8 Plus, Macbook Pro 2011, 2014 and 2015 years... the result is the same. I can't see the 5Ghz network. But if I turn on 20/40/80 Ceeee all ok, but connection speed 878 Mbps, same speed I get on my old Mikrotik hAP ac.

What I make wrong?

P.S. I work with video and made this update only to increase the speed in local network. Help pls.
 
Tuchi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:19 pm

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:25 pm

Some update.
After reading about past issues with hAP AC2 I decided to test with latest beta as suggested.
Downloaded and installed 6.44beta40

on 2.4GHz there was no change in performance - around 40/45Mbps
However there is slight improvement on 5GHz - 200/220 Mbps, but still very unstable, with lots of drops and spikes on speed.
On the side note - I thought that there was an issue with 5GHz network on this update, because it took around 10 minutes?!? for it to start after the reboot of the device.

Hope someone will provide more ideas or insights
 
Dude2048
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:34 pm

5 Ghz can take some time because of DFS.
 
Tuchi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:19 pm

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:05 pm

5 Ghz can take some time because of DFS.
Thank you for the explanation.
 
infused
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: RB4011 slow WiFi

Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:39 am

Finally set mine up today... connecting at 172mbps. Speed is crap (under 100mb).

nevermind, moved the channel widths and it's much better.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests