Community discussions

 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:07 am

Hi team!

One question: I have brand new Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD (international version) and I try setup WiFi 5Ghz with 160mhz. Have next situation: when I turn on 20/40/80/160 Mhz Ceeeeeee and apply settings I can't see my WiFi network.

I check with iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 8 Plus, Macbook Pro 2011, 2014 and 2015 years... the result is the same. I can't see the 5Ghz network. But if I turn on 20/40/80 Ceeee all ok, but connection speed 878 Mbps, same speed I got on my old Mikrotik hAP ac.

What I make wrong?

P.S. I work with video and made this update only to increase the speed in local network. Help pls.
 
haknistar
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:03 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:08 am

Dear All!

Same problem here.
I have this router and my laptop has Intel® Wireless-AC 9560 WiFi card.

How do I get the most out of it? The current maximum speed is ~100 Mbit/s.

Merry Christmas :)
Laszlo
 
infused
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:47 am

20/40/80 works for me, 20/40/80/160 doesn't.
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:47 am

Maybe someone from Mikrotik team can explain this situation? Hello!!! :)
 
shiyiqiang08
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:35 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:00 pm

Maybe someone from Mikrotik team can explain this situation? Hello!!! :)
maybe our phone does not support 160mhz.....
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:49 pm

Maybe backward compatibility? ;)
 
whatever
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 2:56 pm

As already mentioned: You can only benefit from features which are supported by AP and client. If your client only supports 80 MHz with dual chain you will not benefit from all four chains which are available on the 4011.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3424
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:20 pm

You can try to enable 80+80mhz option so your old clients would be able to connect as well. You can do that by selecting 20/40/80mhz option with specifying the secondary channel. You can leave the secondary channel auto so it finds the best channel.
But again, it all depends if your clients support that 80+80mhz option.
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 6:17 pm

You can try to enable 80+80mhz option so your old clients would be able to connect as well. You can do that by selecting 20/40/80mhz option with specifying the secondary channel. You can leave the secondary channel auto so it finds the best channel.
But again, it all depends if your clients support that 80+80mhz option.

Thank you so much for this answer. I think Apple gadget (all) not support 160 or 80+80.
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:01 pm

tested with intel 9560 adapter
- 20/40/80 with "auto" secondary channel will give only first channel, 80mhz width
- 20/40/80/160 will also displaying only specified channel [not working with auto!], at 80mhz width - best results with channel 36(5180)
tried various countries [also debug], superchannel, etc.
choosing channels 50(5250) and 114(5570) - specified for 160 mhz - will render 5ghz wireless unavailable
 
haknistar
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:03 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:12 pm

You can try to enable 80+80mhz option so your old clients would be able to connect as well. You can do that by selecting 20/40/80mhz option with specifying the secondary channel. You can leave the secondary channel auto so it finds the best channel.
But again, it all depends if your clients support that 80+80mhz option.
Thank you for your answer!
The Intel's 9560 adapter support it. But it doesn't work to me (or us). I buy this router, just because the specification say it support 5GHz 4x4 MIMO. Could you paste here a working configuration example?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23998
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:24 pm

5GHz 4x4 MIMO is not the same as 80+80 or 160MHz, they are unrelated things.
Make sure your device supports 160MHz channels (or 80+80)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:26 pm

another question: is pppoe client single threaded only?
a gigabit pppoe connection will use >95% from a single core; let's say i want to use sfp+ port to get a 2gbps pppoe connection from my provider, will i be limited?
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:21 pm

You don't need it
 
smuslim
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:29 am

Guys i also get this device and updated my laptop wireless card to AC 9260 which is supporting 160MHZ. But when i am changing channel on my mikrotik to 160MHZ ( 5GHz network ) the SSID not visible to client. Any ideas how i can get the more speed and use 160mhz channel? Also wifi analyzer showing another 160MHZ which is means my adapter working on this channels.
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:51 am

Guys i also get this device and updated my laptop wireless card to AC 9260 which is supporting 160MHZ. But when i am changing channel on my mikrotik to 160MHZ ( 5GHz network ) the SSID not visible to client. Any ideas how i can get the more speed and use 160mhz channel? Also wifi analyzer showing another 160MHZ which is means my adapter working on this channels.
reading back this forum [few pages], you'll find that:
1. there is a delay of about 10 minutes, used for scanning of radar-free dfs channels; after that, 5ghz ap will be available, but
2. nobody succeeded to set 4011 in such way to be usable with 160 mhz channels and
3. mk said nothing useful about this problem, as of today.

there are reports that netgear r7800, using the same 5ghz wl chipset, was able to pair with intel 9260 with 160 mhz channels.
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:25 am

Guys i also get this device and updated my laptop wireless card to AC 9260 which is supporting 160MHZ. But when i am changing channel on my mikrotik to 160MHZ ( 5GHz network ) the SSID not visible to client. Any ideas how i can get the more speed and use 160mhz channel? Also wifi analyzer showing another 160MHZ which is means my adapter working on this channels.
I tried everything, besides buying another router and another brand.

Mikrotik RB4011 - buying it is a huge mistake :(
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:57 am

I tried everything, besides buying another router and another brand.
Mikrotik RB4011 - buying it is a huge mistake :(
not quite necessarily, probably it's a software problem that could be fixed sometimes.\
as a matter of hardware, 4011 seems to be superior of other most expensive models. and it has 10gbe, ipsec hwaccel... as gateway is great.
beyond that, has a great value as networking learning platform.
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:29 pm

I tried everything, besides buying another router and another brand.
Mikrotik RB4011 - buying it is a huge mistake :(
not quite necessarily, probably it's a software problem that could be fixed sometimes.\
as a matter of hardware, 4011 seems to be superior of other most expensive models. and it has 10gbe, ipsec hwaccel... as gateway is great.
beyond that, has a great value as networking learning platform.
Agreed. I hope that all this will be corrected in the future.
 
smuslim
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:14 pm

Guys i also get this device and updated my laptop wireless card to AC 9260 which is supporting 160MHZ. But when i am changing channel on my mikrotik to 160MHZ ( 5GHz network ) the SSID not visible to client. Any ideas how i can get the more speed and use 160mhz channel? Also wifi analyzer showing another 160MHZ which is means my adapter working on this channels.
reading back this forum [few pages], you'll find that:
1. there is a delay of about 10 minutes, used for scanning of radar-free dfs channels; after that, 5ghz ap will be available, but
2. nobody succeeded to set 4011 in such way to be usable with 160 mhz channels and
3. mk said nothing useful about this problem, as of today.

there are reports that netgear r7800, using the same 5ghz wl chipset, was able to pair with intel 9260 with 160 mhz channels.
Thanks, for answer.10 minute delay is working. But still on same speed (866mbit). Hope mikrotik will solve this problem soon.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:28 pm

RB4011 is a relatively new mode, but really a flagship model, and if they are aware of any issues, it is in their best interests to fix as soon as possible. They certainly were quick to fix inconsistencies with new Apple phones so I would guess that they are working on other fixes. Similarly the LHG60 was very new and they have worked swiftly to improve its performance.
I would send a supout of your settings and provide the phone/device model etc, so that they have concrete evidence to work with.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:03 pm

Hi team! Sorry but you are kidding?? On last fw 5Ghz it's killed all speed. ALL! WTF? Now I have 6.45.1 fw and in properties I see 1053 Mbs but real speed not more 5-6Mb/s

Who you fired? You have problems by problems....


P.S. Now I have tender for office on 350 user and I think need think twice before buying you "new and best" product..... WTF!?!?!?!?? *&%@(^%(*@&%W
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:11 pm

Hi team! Sorry but you are kidding?? On last fw 5Ghz it's killed all speed. ALL! WTF? Now I have 6.45.1 fw and in properties I see 1053 Mbs but real speed not more 5-6Mb/s

Who you fired? You have problems by problems....


P.S. Now I have tender for office on 350 user and I think need think twice before buying you "new and best" product..... WTF!?!?!?!?? *&%@(^%(*@&%W
Need to delete wifi 5Ghz and reconfigure. "Good" solution....

Why the hell did I buy myself 4011....
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:04 pm

No, problem not solved. 5GHz working VERY slow with local resources.

I installed old WRT1200AC and made test. I got 68-75MB/sec but if I use RB4011 15MB/sec this is maximum speed.

Guys, what am I doing wrong? RB4011 and WRT1200AC work in bridge mode.

Plz help :(
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:10 pm

No, problem not solved. 5GHz working VERY slow with local resources.

I installed old WRT1200AC and made test. I got 68-75MB/sec but if I use RB4011 15MB/sec this is maximum speed.

Guys, what am I doing wrong? RB4011 and WRT1200AC work in bridge mode.

Plz help :(
I will try to update on 6.45.2 and check.
 
Nirox
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:31 pm

On 6.45.2 I can get 35-50Mb/sec (50 maximum) after update FW on WRT1200AC (I used old...upsss) I can get 70-75Mb/sec.

I think in my case - I finished with Mikrotik like priority brand in my work and personal use. This is terrible. :(

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests