Community discussions

 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:07 am

Hi team!

One question: I have brand new Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD (international version) and I try setup WiFi 5Ghz with 160mhz. Have next situation: when I turn on 20/40/80/160 Mhz Ceeeeeee and apply settings I can't see my WiFi network.

I check with iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 8 Plus, Macbook Pro 2011, 2014 and 2015 years... the result is the same. I can't see the 5Ghz network. But if I turn on 20/40/80 Ceeee all ok, but connection speed 878 Mbps, same speed I got on my old Mikrotik hAP ac.

What I make wrong?

P.S. I work with video and made this update only to increase the speed in local network. Help pls.
 
haknistar
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:03 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:08 am

Dear All!

Same problem here.
I have this router and my laptop has Intel® Wireless-AC 9560 WiFi card.

How do I get the most out of it? The current maximum speed is ~100 Mbit/s.

Merry Christmas :)
Laszlo
 
infused
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:47 am

20/40/80 works for me, 20/40/80/160 doesn't.
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:47 am

Maybe someone from Mikrotik team can explain this situation? Hello!!! :)
 
shiyiqiang08
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:35 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:00 pm

Maybe someone from Mikrotik team can explain this situation? Hello!!! :)
maybe our phone does not support 160mhz.....
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:49 pm

Maybe backward compatibility? ;)
 
whatever
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 2:56 pm

As already mentioned: You can only benefit from features which are supported by AP and client. If your client only supports 80 MHz with dual chain you will not benefit from all four chains which are available on the 4011.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:20 pm

You can try to enable 80+80mhz option so your old clients would be able to connect as well. You can do that by selecting 20/40/80mhz option with specifying the secondary channel. You can leave the secondary channel auto so it finds the best channel.
But again, it all depends if your clients support that 80+80mhz option.
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Dec 27, 2018 6:17 pm

You can try to enable 80+80mhz option so your old clients would be able to connect as well. You can do that by selecting 20/40/80mhz option with specifying the secondary channel. You can leave the secondary channel auto so it finds the best channel.
But again, it all depends if your clients support that 80+80mhz option.

Thank you so much for this answer. I think Apple gadget (all) not support 160 or 80+80.
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:01 pm

tested with intel 9560 adapter
- 20/40/80 with "auto" secondary channel will give only first channel, 80mhz width
- 20/40/80/160 will also displaying only specified channel [not working with auto!], at 80mhz width - best results with channel 36(5180)
tried various countries [also debug], superchannel, etc.
choosing channels 50(5250) and 114(5570) - specified for 160 mhz - will render 5ghz wireless unavailable
 
haknistar
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:03 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:12 pm

You can try to enable 80+80mhz option so your old clients would be able to connect as well. You can do that by selecting 20/40/80mhz option with specifying the secondary channel. You can leave the secondary channel auto so it finds the best channel.
But again, it all depends if your clients support that 80+80mhz option.
Thank you for your answer!
The Intel's 9560 adapter support it. But it doesn't work to me (or us). I buy this router, just because the specification say it support 5GHz 4x4 MIMO. Could you paste here a working configuration example?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:24 pm

5GHz 4x4 MIMO is not the same as 80+80 or 160MHz, they are unrelated things.
Make sure your device supports 160MHz channels (or 80+80)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:26 pm

another question: is pppoe client single threaded only?
a gigabit pppoe connection will use >95% from a single core; let's say i want to use sfp+ port to get a 2gbps pppoe connection from my provider, will i be limited?
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:21 pm

You don't need it
 
smuslim
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:29 am

Guys i also get this device and updated my laptop wireless card to AC 9260 which is supporting 160MHZ. But when i am changing channel on my mikrotik to 160MHZ ( 5GHz network ) the SSID not visible to client. Any ideas how i can get the more speed and use 160mhz channel? Also wifi analyzer showing another 160MHZ which is means my adapter working on this channels.
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:51 am

Guys i also get this device and updated my laptop wireless card to AC 9260 which is supporting 160MHZ. But when i am changing channel on my mikrotik to 160MHZ ( 5GHz network ) the SSID not visible to client. Any ideas how i can get the more speed and use 160mhz channel? Also wifi analyzer showing another 160MHZ which is means my adapter working on this channels.
reading back this forum [few pages], you'll find that:
1. there is a delay of about 10 minutes, used for scanning of radar-free dfs channels; after that, 5ghz ap will be available, but
2. nobody succeeded to set 4011 in such way to be usable with 160 mhz channels and
3. mk said nothing useful about this problem, as of today.

there are reports that netgear r7800, using the same 5ghz wl chipset, was able to pair with intel 9260 with 160 mhz channels.
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:25 am

Guys i also get this device and updated my laptop wireless card to AC 9260 which is supporting 160MHZ. But when i am changing channel on my mikrotik to 160MHZ ( 5GHz network ) the SSID not visible to client. Any ideas how i can get the more speed and use 160mhz channel? Also wifi analyzer showing another 160MHZ which is means my adapter working on this channels.
I tried everything, besides buying another router and another brand.

Mikrotik RB4011 - buying it is a huge mistake :(
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:57 am

I tried everything, besides buying another router and another brand.
Mikrotik RB4011 - buying it is a huge mistake :(
not quite necessarily, probably it's a software problem that could be fixed sometimes.\
as a matter of hardware, 4011 seems to be superior of other most expensive models. and it has 10gbe, ipsec hwaccel... as gateway is great.
beyond that, has a great value as networking learning platform.
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:29 pm

I tried everything, besides buying another router and another brand.
Mikrotik RB4011 - buying it is a huge mistake :(
not quite necessarily, probably it's a software problem that could be fixed sometimes.\
as a matter of hardware, 4011 seems to be superior of other most expensive models. and it has 10gbe, ipsec hwaccel... as gateway is great.
beyond that, has a great value as networking learning platform.
Agreed. I hope that all this will be corrected in the future.
 
smuslim
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:14 pm

Guys i also get this device and updated my laptop wireless card to AC 9260 which is supporting 160MHZ. But when i am changing channel on my mikrotik to 160MHZ ( 5GHz network ) the SSID not visible to client. Any ideas how i can get the more speed and use 160mhz channel? Also wifi analyzer showing another 160MHZ which is means my adapter working on this channels.
reading back this forum [few pages], you'll find that:
1. there is a delay of about 10 minutes, used for scanning of radar-free dfs channels; after that, 5ghz ap will be available, but
2. nobody succeeded to set 4011 in such way to be usable with 160 mhz channels and
3. mk said nothing useful about this problem, as of today.

there are reports that netgear r7800, using the same 5ghz wl chipset, was able to pair with intel 9260 with 160 mhz channels.
Thanks, for answer.10 minute delay is working. But still on same speed (866mbit). Hope mikrotik will solve this problem soon.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3122
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:28 pm

RB4011 is a relatively new mode, but really a flagship model, and if they are aware of any issues, it is in their best interests to fix as soon as possible. They certainly were quick to fix inconsistencies with new Apple phones so I would guess that they are working on other fixes. Similarly the LHG60 was very new and they have worked swiftly to improve its performance.
I would send a supout of your settings and provide the phone/device model etc, so that they have concrete evidence to work with.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:03 pm

Hi team! Sorry but you are kidding?? On last fw 5Ghz it's killed all speed. ALL! WTF? Now I have 6.45.1 fw and in properties I see 1053 Mbs but real speed not more 5-6Mb/s

Who you fired? You have problems by problems....


P.S. Now I have tender for office on 350 user and I think need think twice before buying you "new and best" product..... WTF!?!?!?!?? *&%@(^%(*@&%W
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:11 pm

Hi team! Sorry but you are kidding?? On last fw 5Ghz it's killed all speed. ALL! WTF? Now I have 6.45.1 fw and in properties I see 1053 Mbs but real speed not more 5-6Mb/s

Who you fired? You have problems by problems....


P.S. Now I have tender for office on 350 user and I think need think twice before buying you "new and best" product..... WTF!?!?!?!?? *&%@(^%(*@&%W
Need to delete wifi 5Ghz and reconfigure. "Good" solution....

Why the hell did I buy myself 4011....
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:04 pm

No, problem not solved. 5GHz working VERY slow with local resources.

I installed old WRT1200AC and made test. I got 68-75MB/sec but if I use RB4011 15MB/sec this is maximum speed.

Guys, what am I doing wrong? RB4011 and WRT1200AC work in bridge mode.

Plz help :(
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:10 pm

No, problem not solved. 5GHz working VERY slow with local resources.

I installed old WRT1200AC and made test. I got 68-75MB/sec but if I use RB4011 15MB/sec this is maximum speed.

Guys, what am I doing wrong? RB4011 and WRT1200AC work in bridge mode.

Plz help :(
I will try to update on 6.45.2 and check.
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:31 pm

On 6.45.2 I can get 35-50Mb/sec (50 maximum) after update FW on WRT1200AC (I used old...upsss) I can get 70-75Mb/sec.

I think in my case - I finished with Mikrotik like priority brand in my work and personal use. This is terrible. :(
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:23 pm

Has anyone found a solution to the problem RB4011? Now I’m use test version and get new problem - very slow speed in local network. I think maybe my RB4011 defective?! Problem is I can’t return this item....
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:57 am

Has anybody actually managed to get 160MHz AC mode running, with all chains enabled, on RB4011?
And not just running empty AP, actually connect with phone/notebook so it shows in registration table it actually uses 160MHz x 4 chains?
Anyone?
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:56 am

Has anybody actually managed to get 160MHz AC mode running, with all chains enabled, on RB4011?
And not just running empty AP, actually connect with phone/notebook so it shows in registration table it actually uses 160MHz x 4 chains?
Anyone?
not until now; actually, it's a work in progress to obtain at least wlan1 stability...
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:02 am

Has anybody actually managed to get 160MHz AC mode running, with all chains enabled, on RB4011?
And not just running empty AP, actually connect with phone/notebook so it shows in registration table it actually uses 160MHz x 4 chains?
Anyone?
not until now; actually, it's a work in progress to obtain at least wlan1 stability...

Thanks bro, I think for me will be better return to "old school" and install hap ac :) RB4011 goes on the shelf....
 
codruts
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:21 am

Thanks bro, I think for me will be better return to "old school" and install hap ac :) RB4011 goes on the shelf....
Y tho? For routing it's a beast, has 10gbps [i couldn't find other SOHO wireless router to have it, at maximum 2.5 or 5gbps!], in 2.4ghs is working excellent... even 5ghz works [no capsman]
Personally, i'm using it for main wired router, wireless functionality being just a secondary role. Right now i'm looking for an 802.11ax AP to use with rb4011, paired with a 4port 10gbps sfp+ [also from mk].
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:12 am

Thanks bro, I think for me will be better return to "old school" and install hap ac :) RB4011 goes on the shelf....
Y tho? For routing it's a beast, has 10gbps [i couldn't find other SOHO wireless router to have it, at maximum 2.5 or 5gbps!], in 2.4ghs is working excellent... even 5ghz works [no capsman]
Personally, i'm using it for main wired router, wireless functionality being just a secondary role. Right now i'm looking for an 802.11ax AP to use with rb4011, paired with a 4port 10gbps sfp+ [also from mk].

but main problem is 5Ghz, I have question only with this feature.
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:57 pm

not until now; actually, it's a work in progress to obtain at least wlan1 stability...
RB4011 have been available for a year and it still can't do what's written on the box and all the ads.
I'd call it false advertising, you are buying device for the specs you need and it's not a cheap device either...
Yes, the wired version is quite good as a router with SFP+, but WIFI version is just bad, rotten apple.
For same price you can get 802.11ax AP that will actually work, but it will not be from Mikrotik.
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:17 pm

not until now; actually, it's a work in progress to obtain at least wlan1 stability...
RB4011 have been available for a year and it still can't do what's written on the box and all the ads.
I'd call it false advertising, you are buying device for the specs you need and it's not a cheap device either...
Yes, the wired version is quite good as a router with SFP+, but WIFI version is just bad, rotten apple.
For same price you can get 802.11ax AP that will actually work, but it will not be from Mikrotik.
For same price I couldn't find good solution one year ago :) And when I buy this, I was sure - everything will be fine, it's MikroTik. I use them 3-4 years for many project. But this time I bought "rotten apple" you absolutely right!!!

Regarding
For same price you can get 802.11ax AP that will actually work, but it will not be from Mikrotik.
What do you recommend for an office for 20-25 people? (the question is not to holy war) now I have one new project (sample office 20-25 people, ~25-35 connections) and I don't want to make a mistake again, I had to pay for the last one out of my own pocket. I think about old solution hAP AC.
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:42 pm

What do you recommend for an office for 20-25 people? (the question is not to holy war) now I have one new project (sample office 20-25 people, ~25-35 connections) and I don't want to make a mistake again, I had to pay for the last one out of my own pocket. I think about old solution hAP AC.
Use 3-4 AC dualband APs, like cAP AC or hAP AC^2. With GigE connectivity to each and ~4-5 clients per AP, there should be enough BW even for heavy local traffic (NAS, file sharing, ...).
Most PCs and notebooks just about support 2x2 AC and if any have 5GHz, it will be even better. But overall it's better solution than buying single AP for them all, you can spread the load over multiple non-overlapping channels etc.. Unless you have 802.11ax clients, it's not worth it investing in super-AP with latest technology, especially when you can get 5-6 cAPs for same price...
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:59 pm

I was update my RB4011, all the problems remained.

All my devices when connect to 5Ghz use only 20Mhz channel, I try all possible settings and mode :( With old AC1200 all work on 80Mhz and connect on max. possible for this router speed.

I made speed test and got next:

Connect to 5Ghz on RB4011
RB4011->(1GbLAN)->AC1200->(1GbLAN)->NAS
11MB/s

Connect to 5Ghz on AC1200
AC1200->(1GbLAN)->NAS
57MB/s

Connect to 5Ghz on AC1200
AC1200->(1GbLAN)->RB4011->(1GbLAN)->NAS
60MB/s

Connect to 5Ghz on RB4011
RB4011->NAS
11-15MB/s

As you see problem is at the level 5Ghz to local network. It last fw in testing version.

WTF Mikrotik, wtf......
 
Nirox
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: Mikrotik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD and WiFi 802.11 AC 160mhz

Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:15 pm

Made total reset, now I have 40-45MB/s, still less than AC1200, but it's not 11MB/s....


UPD: If I make load on any lan port, WiFi speed decreases to 4-5MB/s, MIMO works not correctly. All new clients get higher priority and old clients get minimum... like result speed very low.

I've had enough of this. RB4011 not completely finished product, even a year later.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests