Page 1 of 1

rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:59 am
by xh116
Hi there,
Just got the MikroTik RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD-IN.
Wired speed is good. 930M only takes 26% CPU usage.
but wireless speed is not good, I tested to download a video from my nas, the 5g speed is less than 50m/s.
anybody knows how to optimize it?
Image
Image

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:52 pm
by mkx
50m/s ... is that bits or bytes? Screenshot suggests wireless is delivering 460Mbps which is not that bad (but does translate to around 50MB/s).

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:12 pm
by xh116
50m/s ... is that bits or bytes? Screenshot suggests wireless is delivering 460Mbps which is not that bad (but does translate to around 50MB/s).
Thanks .
I thought it should be 60-80Mb/s since it is from local link.

But the worse thing just happened, Image.
The router just rebooted with unknown error not sure if it is hardware problem or firmware problem. (running with latest version 6.43.8)

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:10 pm
by pcunite
The router just rebooted with unknown error not sure if it is hardware problem or firmware problem.

That error is fine, it just means you pulled the power before it entered a "shutdown" state. Not a big deal.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:53 pm
by xh116
The router just rebooted with unknown error not sure if it is hardware problem or firmware problem.

That error is fine, it just means you pulled the power before it entered a "shutdown" state. Not a big deal.
I understand it, but the problem is I did nothing.I mean it happened automatically.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 6:08 pm
by pcunite
... it happened automatically.

Ahh, okay. Well, let's see if it happens again. Perhaps a bug in the firmware (update can fix this) or hardware. I had a unit that would cycle if I did a certain sequence. I don't recall all the details at the moment. It was still a good unit.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 6:13 pm
by xh116
... it happened automatically.

Ahh, okay. Well, let's see if it happens again. Perhaps a bug in the firmware (update can fix this) or hardware. I had a unit that would cycle if I did a certain sequence. I don't recall all the details at the moment. It was still a good unit.
Yes, it will be better if it is only software problem. Let’s see.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 3:05 am
by cdemers
I have had routers that have done that because of a bad power supply. Change power supply and fixed. Always worth a try if it happens again.


Sent from my SM-A520W using Tapatalk


Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:22 am
by xh116
I have had routers that have done that because of a bad power supply. Change power supply and fixed. Always worth a try if it happens again.


Sent from my SM-A520W using Tapatalk
I am in China, but the router is US version which has us standard plug, So i change the plug only.
your advice is reasonable, if it happen again,I will try to change a one.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:42 pm
by xh116
Image

reboot again without any action. will return this router and change another.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:59 pm
by pcunite
rebooted again without any action. will return this router and change to another.

Ugh, let us know how the new one fairs.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:24 pm
by xh116
rebooted again without any action. will return this router and change to another.

Ugh, let us know how the new one fairs.
change another one, problem still exists.
I think it maybe cost by a firmware bug, hope it is not hardware design problem.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:18 pm
by gebin
interestingly enough it happened to me 2 times in the first week as well, i couldn't narrow down what caused the problem, but for 2-3 weeks i don't encounter this problem anymore, try updating to the newest (current) version + firmware.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:20 pm
by pcunite
Changed to another one, the problem still exists.

Can you post your config (between code tags)?

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:19 pm
by kenyloveg
i have the exact same random reboot problem, now changed logging into disk see what happened. will repoart back here.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:30 pm
by xh116
Changed to another one, the problem still exists.

Can you post your config (between code tags)?
it is not a problem with configuration i think.
because I also tried default "quick set"with nothing else settings.

Yesterday, I also encountered another weird problem that 5G wifi signal lost, whatever you set, my devices could not connect. after manual reboot, it is back to work again.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:45 pm
by KARaSb
I will support the topic. I own this device a little more than a month, I observe regular, unreasonable, reboots. Support has not yet said anything interesting and advised me to try changing the power supply, which I unfortunately do not have.
From personal observations. The problem in 100% of cases occurs when using a 5GHz wireless connection with a laptop tninkpad x270 (Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265 adapter). No matter the load on the wireless connection, the connection itself is important. Temporarily moved to 2 GHz, I will use a few days only, I will unsubscribe by results. Usually, a reboot occurred randomly within one week, but today it happened twice a day.
PS. No matter how ridiculous this may sound, I am glad that I am not the only one with such a problem, because I have already begun to think that I have a faulty device. =)

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:33 pm
by confine
Hi guys. Joining the club.
Same random reboots problem with mine "amazingly powerful router with ten Gigabit ports..." RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD-IN.
Symptoms are same: Random reboots once/twice a day/week on latest RouterOS and Board firmware without any crytical errors in logs.
Yesterday after full reset (netinstall of RouterOS with manual configuration from scratch) got 2 reboots in ~12 hrs...

What wasn't yet done:
- Didn't try to change the power supply.
- Didn't try to chagne the routerboard itself
But as see from posts above - neither of these helps.

Will go further with KARaSb's idea and disable the whole Wireless Package - yes, time for desperate moves has come...

PS. No matter how ridiculous this may sound, I am glad that I am not the only one with such a problem, because I have already begun to think that I have a faulty device. =)
There are 2 types of RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD-IN owners: those who complain about this problem and those who still tries to find the rootcause :)

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:20 pm
by Reinis
Please be aware that not all issues can be with the same root cause.
Have you tried to update the device to the latest version of testing branch - 6.44rc1
If you still encounter any issues after the update, please open a ticket with support@mikrotik.com

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:57 pm
by confine
Have you tried to update the device to the latest version of testing branch - 6.44rc1
Thx for advice. Installed yesterday at night. Will monitor situation and get back with results.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 4:57 pm
by xh116
@KARaSb
@confine
except the same problems , my router also got "fake dead".
all networks dead, not available to connect to winbox,not available to ping gateway. only after reboot it is back to normal.
very disappointed and return this router now.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 11:41 pm
by confine
all networks dead, not available to connect to winbox,not available to ping gateway. only after reboot it is back to normal.
I also experienced such behavior few times. But after update to 6.44rc1 router again stable as rock :) Uptime more than 7 days, no any errors and described hangs - it is just got healed. Have you tried to update to 6.44rc1?
very disappointed and return this router now.
Perfectly understand you. From my point of view it is not acceptable to release the device with such unstable software for such kind of products. After this case I will never buy new products from Mikrotik which are less than 6-12 months old. I simply don't want to be a Mikrotik QA engineer for the price I am paying for the device.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 8:51 pm
by KARaSb
Unfortunately, I could not test the performance of the device by only 2 GHz. I'm tired of reboots and, on the advice of support, handed over the device to my supplier (20 more March). The supplier conducted testing at home and as far as I know, the problem was confirmed, they also observed spontaneous reboots when using 5 GHz. And I expect some kind of decision, according to the results of which I will either replace or repair the device, or return the money.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:59 pm
by avistudio
I just had the same problem with my RB4011 (w/o wifi)! Rebooted by itself! 6.44.1
It make me think to return on my old but stable RB1200 :(

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:10 pm
by Reinis
I just had the same problem with my RB4011 (w/o wifi)! Rebooted by itself! 6.44.1
It make me think to return on my old but stable RB1200 :(
Hello, please send supout.rif of your device to support@mikrotik.com and provide any details if you have related to the reboot.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:S ... utput_File

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 7:37 am
by xh116
Finally changed the 4011 wired verison as main router and Hap ac2 as AP 15 days ago.
much more stable than 4011 wireless version.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 10:10 am
by comet48
I'm getting the same issues with a recently purchased 4011 with wifi. Running 6.46.4 firmware and software. Can't get through watching a movie without it rebooting. What's the RMA process on this these units?

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:15 pm
by EvilEyes
The problem with 5 GHz has not been resolved in 2 years?
4011 works without problems only when 5GHz is disabled. But I bought this device to use 5GHz. Otherwise, I would buy a cheaper version of 4011 without wireless modules. Mikrotik engineers are still trying to solve this problem or abandoned this hope?

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:53 pm
by pcunite
I know it is frustrating. The non-wifi model is a great product. Not sure what is happening on the other SKU. I do think it would help to have clear documentation on how to setup the various options. Its possible to create a unwise configuration. The software will happily let you do it.

Re: rb4011 wireless version setting / reboot automatically

Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:24 pm
by hschnei
There are reboot issues with the non wifi version as well.
See viewtopic.php?f=2&t=158939

Greetings