Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ela002
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:19 am

very slow :(

Fri Mar 09, 2007 2:23 pm

Hello,

I got a RB532 with 2 wireless links using vlans connected to a linux box.I dont use any filters or packages in RB I use it only for the wireless connection. Although signals are perfect and I have tried all possible channels speed is low. I cant get total more than 30mbps in/out. I have even overclocked cpu to 399mhz. Configuration is very simple just the links and I bridge vlan and wlan nothing else. I dont use tracking firewall. i use it like a bridge device. CPu is always 100% when total bandwidth is over 15-20 mbps. I expected to get better speeds even with 1 wireless link I cant pass over 25mbps with turbo (signal -50). Seems like hardware cant handle more.

I would love any tweaks or advice what to do to improve perfomance as this is too low I dont expect much from RB but these speeds are too low.


If I use filter firewall queues then RB is dead :oops: Links are in 5ghz band I have tried both turbo and non turbo without nstream.

(now i use version 2.9.38 in any case there are known issues with some versions)

Thank you
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Mar 09, 2007 2:37 pm

30Mbits is a good speed, why do you say it's slow? What is the distance?
 
ela002
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:19 am

Fri Mar 09, 2007 2:47 pm

30mbps is good for both links at full bandwidth usage? Distance is 600meters. Is there any way bridge vlan/wlan to affect perfomance?
 
ela002
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:19 am

Fri Mar 09, 2007 3:29 pm

Ok ethernet is limiting everything. I just do some bandwidth tests rb <--> and maximum send or receive is 48mbps, around 25mbps for both send/receive test. Is that that RB can do for just only ethernet traffic?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:03 pm

that is normal limitation of wireless link, you probably would need bigger antennas or use turbo to get more.
 
ela002
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:19 am

Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:39 pm

I get 30mbps / 2, 15mbps each if I close #1link i get more speed from #2.


What I am asking is how much ethernet can handle because all I get is 25mpbs send & receive using bandwidth test between RB and pc without any links just testing.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:40 pm

so you have 2 wireless links in same area?

if so, you might get an interference from other link, try perpendicular polarizations, if possible

you might also consider nstream2 and make your wireless link full duplex, if got you correctly.

that should work better than 2 similar links
 
ela002
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:19 am

Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:52 pm

My problem is network bandwith is low. If I use bandwidth test between RB (without any wireless cards ) and any PC. send or receive is only 48mbps. I have tested with different utp cables and network cards its the same. I have tested a 2nd RB with the same result. Shouldnt I get something like 70-80mbps?
 
triac
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:35 pm
Location: Italy

Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:45 pm

Uhmmm.... 70/80Mbps radio link? I think You need 4 radio links (NOT single RB532 with 4 radio cards) joined with bonding feature...

This is a question for Janisk... Do You think can be work?
Paolo Torri
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:06 am

Hello ?!?

Proxim Tsunami 100 can do this, however, they have to use up half of the entire 5GHz band (High and low), they also cost like $15000 per radio.

Wireless is only half duplex (if you could even call it that).
If you are looking for 100Mbps then you need 200Mbps data rate...
But wait.... Add about 30% of that for overhead.
That would then leave you with 260Mbps wireless data rate to accomplish 100Mbps full duplex.

Then there is radio noise which reduces that data rate even more.

Do not over estimate what speeds you can expect.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:24 pm

so
if interface can do send/receive - it is duplex link.
if interface can send AND receive it is full duplex as you can do both things simultaneously
if interface can send OR receive it is half duplex so interface can only send and while sending it cannot receive and vice versa.

that makes wireless interface half duplex :roll:

and physics is physics you cannot bend these rules - you cannot have 2 close links in close frequency with same polarization and not suffer from interference. this is general rule, so you can change polarization of one link and chose different frequency (non-interference) to make your link better. that was my point in previous post.
 
ela002
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:19 am

Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:01 pm

Ok because you explain something else...I dont talk about radio link but ethernet.

Test RB532 data rate ethernet <--> PC whats should be the result?

*only* ethernet without any devices on RB. I only get 48Mbps half or 25 full duplex. Please I need an answer about that from the support.

All I get is 25 mbps full duplex for ethernet bandwidth test without any filters queues I even uninstalled all packages not needed in that test.

Thanks
 
ela002
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:19 am

Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:56 pm

Nobody knows why I get only 48mbps via ethernet port? Faulty routerboards?
 
bushy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Ireland

Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:14 am

You need to test like this :

testbox ------->RB------>PC

not

rb-----> PC

Anyway what dya want for a couple of hundred euros ?

If you want a 300meg link , they cost 20,000.
 
R1CH
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 905
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:44 pm

Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:51 am

Nobody knows why I get only 48mbps via ethernet port? Faulty routerboards?
Check the CPU on the routerboard, since everything is mostly done in software I wouldn't be surprised if the CPU is maxing out. Although if this is the case, the RB 150 doesn't look like a very appealing product if it can't route Fast Ethernet.
 
ela002
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:19 am

Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:03 pm

You need to test like this :

testbox ------->RB------>PC

not

rb-----> PC

Anyway what dya want for a couple of hundred euros ?

If you want a 300meg link , they cost 20,000.

Thats what I did and I get 48mbps at maximum

I DON'T SPEAK ABOUT LINKS, it's becoming boring to mention that in every post. It's all about data transfer via ethernet ports only 48mbps half or 25mbps full duplex is very bad and searching for the reason.

I want what I pay to work as advertised.



[/b]
 
User avatar
warwick09
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: The Bahamas / Florida

Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:13 pm

This is very funny... lol; you cannot be serious... how much are you expecting from a "standard" wifi link ? (even using turbo mode) .... if you study the protocol you will understand that because it advertised as 54Mbps DOES NOT mean you wil get that. (NOT EVER, WITH ANY VENDOR). That is simply the over the air rate which is different from actual throughput. So 30 Megs is pretty good for a wifi connection.

And yup if you want more, you can do a interface bonding to get 100+ but otherwise be prepared to spend: 15k+


U Gotta relax meng and read! ... Not to flame you here but lack of understanding usually leads to a disgruntled customer.

Once again: READ!

Regards.
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:16 am

You need to test like this :

testbox ------->RB------>PC

not

rb-----> PC

Anyway what dya want for a couple of hundred euros ?

If you want a 300meg link , they cost 20,000.

Thats what I did and I get 48mbps at maximum

I DON'T SPEAK ABOUT LINKS, it's becoming boring to mention that in every post. It's all about data transfer via ethernet ports only 48mbps half or 25mbps full duplex is very bad and searching for the reason.

I want what I pay to work as advertised.



[/b]
open you eyes ela the RB isnt design for bandwidth test
the bandwith test server is CPU hangry application so if u have rb532 and your test is like this

pc(with btest)---------------------RB532 <-- in this case u are killing the RB CPU the 48mbps becouse the bandwith test server eating all the cpu power

pc(btest)--------ether1 "RB532" ether2---------pc2(btest as server) <--- this is performance test that can tell you the real performance


test the board in this case and let me know how much you got :D



for your information only i make a link having -71/-73 signal and i got 37mbps with RB133 (using v3b7) which is only 175mhz and 32mb of ram

i think u can make a much much higher speed than me
i uesd turbo mode
in the same setup i got 21mbps using v 2.9.40

so we have abig faith on the v3 router the ping time become gr8
1ms 1ms 1ms 1ms 1sm timedout 1ms 1ms 1ms 1ms 1ms timedout

we hope mt guys working hard to fixes this and foucesing more and more and more in wirless interface packages to let the mikrotik number 1 wireless hardware




btw if u are looking for 1gigabit speed then go for lazer its the highest and cheapest point to point solution as i remember it cost arround 3000 USD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests