Community discussions

 
RobClem
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:45 pm
Contact:

60km running 5ghz-10mhz - bandwidth question

Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:59 pm

Hi,

I have a pair of Wrap boards with CM9 cards running 5ghz-10Mhz over 60Km - I have a signal of -70 and can only get a maximum throughput of about 8Mb in each direction. The link is locked in at 36Mbps - any ideas why I am only getting 8Mb

thanks

Rob
 
MyThoughts
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:07 pm

Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:08 am

Seems to me if your getting 8 Mbps across 60km with 5Ghz-10Mhz with a signal of -70 both directions while locked at an air rate of 36 Mbps, then its running as it should.
 
titius
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:05 am

8Mbps full duplex?
then it is ok, and wrap maybe cant handle more.
 
User avatar
marksx
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:56 pm
Location: POLAND

Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:44 am

10MHz @ 54Mbits gives performance about 12-13Mbps half duplex (15Mbps with nsteme)
with 36Mbps mode performance is about 2 times worse = 7-8Mbps
You shouldn't be able to archieve more than that on these settings
Mikrotik Certifird Teacher - High Performance Wireless Networks Administrator
Contact: marek (at) prowireless.pl
 
RobClem
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:45 pm
Contact:

Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:32 pm

thanks for that - kinda what I was thinking. I established the link using 10Mhz chanels to assist the link, I shall try it with normal 20mhz channel to see if I can improve the throughput now.

Rob
 
User avatar
marksx
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:56 pm
Location: POLAND

Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:08 pm

yeah, but probably, you'll need to switch negotioation rate to 24Mbps (becasue signal on 20MHz is -3dB comparing to 10MHz)
That should give you about 17Mbps simplex
And of course setup nstreme /w polling enabled
framer-policy=exact-size & framer-limit=4000
that'll speedup connection to it's limit.
Mikrotik Certifird Teacher - High Performance Wireless Networks Administrator
Contact: marek (at) prowireless.pl
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:31 pm

With slower CPU boards like the WRAP isn't it better to run Nstreme with framer-policy=best-fit?
 
User avatar
marksx
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:56 pm
Location: POLAND

Thu Mar 22, 2007 2:34 pm

no, best fit on high load can cause packetloss
exact-size gives you the best performance
Mikrotik Certifird Teacher - High Performance Wireless Networks Administrator
Contact: marek (at) prowireless.pl
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Thu Mar 22, 2007 3:17 pm

Hmm. Is this the same for PTM or just PTP?
 
User avatar
marksx
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:56 pm
Location: POLAND

Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:46 pm

both, sometimes you can experiment with these settings, but i often set back old values
Mikrotik Certifird Teacher - High Performance Wireless Networks Administrator
Contact: marek (at) prowireless.pl
 
onowojemma
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 5:27 pm
Location: Nigeria

Re: 60km running 5ghz-10mhz - bandwidth question

Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:39 am

Hi,

I have a pair of Wrap boards with CM9 cards running 5ghz-10Mhz over 60Km - I have a signal of -70 and can only get a maximum throughput of about 8Mb in each direction. The link is locked in at 36Mbps - any ideas why I am only getting 8Mb

thanks
pls i want to run a link like this what type of anterna did you use for the link and how many dbi?
Rob
Mikrotik! making networking easy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jerryroy1 and 13 guests