Community discussions

 
kingsbridge
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:29 pm

transfer Jumbo Packets with two RBwAP-60ad

Mon Mar 18, 2019 3:22 pm

Hi,
I have a wireless wire kit (two RBwAP-60ad that are the). I want to transfer some Jumbo Packets (8192 bytes) from the ethernet port of one RBwAP-60ad over Wifi to the ethernet port of the other RBwAP-60ad. But the problem is: The data can't be fragmented, because the program that receives the data isn't able to handle these datas.

My settings are: Ethernet port 1: MTU = 9014, Max L2 MTU = 9214,
Wlan60-1: MTU = 1600 , L2 MTU = 1600,
Ethernet port 2: MTU = 9014, Max L2 MTU = 9214,
IP -> DNS -> Max UDP Packet size = 9014,

Is there any possibility to transfer unfragmented und untouched jumbo packets with the bridge?
How does the RBwAP-60ad transfer the packets? Will they be fragmented und divided into packets of the size of 1600bytes and reassembled into jumbo packets after the wlan transfer?

Thanks
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: transfer Jumbo Packets with two RBwAP-60ad

Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:41 pm

I haven't tried it with jumbo frames, but PPPoE can pass bigger packets over link with smaller MTU. See https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:M ... iple_links
PPP is only link that can do this, AFAIK no other tunnel can reassemble/unfragment packets.
 
kingsbridge
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:29 pm

Re: transfer Jumbo Packets with two RBwAP-60ad

Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:04 am

Hey, thanks for your reply. I did not get the bridge to work with the data. But I think the problem is not the data, it is the bridge. The bridge is blackholing the data. The data gets dropped when it should get put to the Wifi connection. Is there a way I can prevent the data from getting lost? port forwarding or Vlan or anything like that? How can i avoid blackholing?
Thanks.
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: transfer Jumbo Packets with two RBwAP-60ad

Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:41 am

According to the https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:M ... uterBoards ethernet can handle jumbo frames, but wireless can't. So you can't just bridge them, that will not work.
You have to create PPPoE server on one side and client on the other, configured to pass the jumbo frames - that's the only protocol that can do that. Normal bridging or routing will not work.
Read the WIKI pages properly and maybe first start by setting up PPPoE for normal packets, then bump up MTUs to support jumbo frames when it's working.

Note that I haven't personally tried this, so can't guarantee it will work... but it should, unless there are some bugs or special reasons that would prevent this from working.
 
Hesse
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:40 pm

Re: transfer Jumbo Packets with two RBwAP-60ad

Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:18 pm

Try EoIP:

WAP60 (1):
ether1 (mtu8192) -- bridge1(192.168.1.2/24) -- EoIP (mtu8192)
bridge2 (192.168.2.2/24) -- wlan60-1
EoIP (1):
local-address=192.168.2.2 mac-address=\
00:00:5E:80:02:03 mtu=8192 name=eoip-tunnel1 \
remote-address=192.168.2.3 tunnel-id=1000


WAP60 (2):
ether1 (mtu8192) -- bridge1(192.168.1.3/24) -- EoIP (mtu8192)
bridge2 (192.168.2.3/24) -- wlan60-1
EoIP (2):
local-address=192.168.2.3 mac-address=\
00:00:5E:80:03:02 mtu=8192 name=eoip-tunnel1 \
remote-address=192.168.2.2 tunnel-id=1000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests