Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

RB112 + SR2 + 15db omni +48v POE .4a = bad pinging

Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:50 am

hello guys,,,


i really have serious problem here i need so i deas help tests,,

here is my network

i have RB112 with 1 SR2 card transmitting @ 26db connected throw u.fl connector which is port -b

noise floor -102

and 15db hyperlink pro omni directional

the problems that i have:

1 i just can ues channel 1 or 11 ( another channels i can see it using my laptop but i cannot connect i uesd 3 diffrent laptops and CPE but no luck)

2. problems with the channnel 1 or 11 the following

very bad ping

disconnctions

suddenly signal drop from -72 to -81



the area is very very remote no any singel AP no microwave links
i faced this problem with 2 diffrent mikrotik APs
any one have any idea about whats going on???
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Fri Mar 23, 2007 2:06 am

u.fl connector is port-a, not port-b.
Change it on winbox and try again.
I have a RB112 with a SR2, MMCX connector (port-b), 12m Aircom Plus coaxial cable, 1 x 12dBi omni antenna.
11 client (5 laptop and 6 Linksys WRT54G) from 60m to 3000m, ping every under 8/9ms, good bandwidth.
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
MyThoughts
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:07 pm

Fri Mar 23, 2007 2:07 am

Unless there is a new revision of SR2 i haven't seen, then the U.Fl connector on the SR2 is ant-a setting in RouterOS
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Fri Mar 23, 2007 2:38 am

sorry guys i mean mmcx connector but i type u.fl by mistake


guys do you think the antenna problem??

and whats the problem with the channels except 1 and 11??
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Fri Mar 23, 2007 3:13 am

Have you tryed to change the pigtail?
Have you check the coax between the pigtail and the antenna?
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Fri Mar 23, 2007 2:43 pm

if you are so close the pinging less than 20 ms


dont u think its from antenna??

throw WDS interface 5 km from the access point its stable but directly from laptop its not good @ all
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:13 pm

hello,,


i change the antenna but nothing happend,

any suggestion for me to ues the u.fl connector is it better than mmcx??


i will die guys from this

any suggestion or votes to change the radio??


good signal = bad pinging 700-900 ms :( :( :(
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:25 am

If you have good signal on ap and client, i don't think it's a card fault.
Are you SURE you have no interference on your site?
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
galaxynet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 2:52 pm
Contact:

Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:37 am

taloot -
I have had the same thing happen - change out your SR2 card.... the multiplex switch has gone bad on the card.....


Thom
Thom Lawless
General Manager
RapidWiFi, LLC
thom.lawless [at] rapidwifi.com
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:53 pm

for more info guys

the card was operating on the wrong antenna port for 3 weeks (sure it wasnt working but we was having another card in the box) is that could damag the card
 
galaxynet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 2:52 pm
Contact:

Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:32 pm

taloot -
If he was operating on the wrong antenna port for three weeks it is quite possible that the card is permantly damaged. The fact there was another card in the box has no bearing on damaging the card.

The SR cards are pretty robust but nothing can take abuse forever without failing.

As I said in my first post - I have seen this before - the multiplex switch on the SR2 card has probably gone bad for whatever reason. Change the card, make sure the right antenna port gets selected and try it from there.


Thom
Thom Lawless
General Manager
RapidWiFi, LLC
thom.lawless [at] rapidwifi.com
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:57 pm

If he was operating on the wrong antenna port for three weeks it is quite possible that the card is permantly damaged.
quote
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:37 pm

ok thanks guys alot i will order the xr2 just to see the diffrence and let you updated guys
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:29 pm

hello guys,

i change the SR2 and cables RB pigtail antenna POE
but

still the same any votes for the outdoor case?? for the grounding will help soo much

when i install the ap in the room and leep pingping it i got stable results but in OUD enviroment i good very very bad performance

i need your help guys please please
 
mad802
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:06 pm

Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:50 am

What type of coverage are you looking at? ... 15dbi is alot of gain for an omni. you'd probably be better off using a 8 or 9 dbi instead, as the signal radiation wont spur off into the horizon as much.
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:02 pm

You mentioned earlier or at least that is what I understood a remote WDS link was working OK but not on your laptop ......

- How close to the antenna is the laptop?

- Whats the elevation AGL where the omni is located?

I am trying to see if you are under the blind area of the radiation pattern of the antenna.

Best

Jorge
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:24 am

the antenna is about 23 meter than the ground the area is totally flat

i can connect to the ap directly from the laptop for 9km away from the ap (which is very strong)


also i have MT to MT connection omni to omni over 13km link the signal is -78/-76 also there is problems with the pinging i got a lot of timeout

i tried 11b and 11g both of them have same problem but mybe the 11g is 20% better

even if i m 10 meter away from the omni i m getting same timeout as i m in 9km

do you think i should isolate the antenna and the AP from the tower?

Grounding is it will help??

i testing the ap in the lap the pinging was 1ms more than 300 pings not 2 ms its only 1ms
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:43 pm

Taloot,

I have had the same issue.. Wild pings up to 1 sec. Also running SR2's.. I tried everything, all channels etc, changed radio, pigtales etc... What worked for me was killing the WDS link on the omni and made a seperate radio/antenna for the wds part. After that i have no problems on that AP... You can use a R52 and a yagi or something and it will cost you less than $100 to fix it this way.. Just keep the channels apart.

This problem is only seen on SR2's here. WDS AP's have been everything from Linksys to MT...

Hope this will solve your problems..

Regards

/Henrik
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:07 pm

[quote="taloot"]the antenna is about 23 meter than the ground the area is totally flat

i can connect to the ap directly from the laptop for 9km away from the ap (which is very strong)]

Please read and understand the radiation pattern of your omi.- Omnis does not radiate in an "sphere" like pattern they do it more like a "donut" pattern, so if you are close to the omni you will be below it´s radiation pattern so you will have poor conectivity. Omni´s have a NARROW vertical (E-Plane) pattern and a horizontal pattern of a circle.

Please check http://www.hyperlinktech.com/web/pdf/hg2415u_pro.pdf

AND

http://www.firstmilewireless.com/prod_ant2ov15-dt.html

AND

http://69.93.195.178/~electr0/rfcalculations.html

Omnidirectional Antenna Beamwidth Analysis
Vertical 3 dB beamwidth : 3.500 degrees
Antenna height : 23.000 meters (75.459 feet)
Distance to the 3 dB lobe intersect point : 752.796 meters (2469.803 feet)

Hope this help...

Best Regards

Jorge Boardman
Calculated on Sat Mar 31 18:05:23 2007 GMT
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Sun Apr 01, 2007 1:18 am

hello guys the wds disabled but nothing happend not better not worest

any very very very expert guys have same case and he resolve it


the area is one of the most solti areas in the world it has full lakes of sult is this have anything to do ?


buti tried diffrent access points and it works gr8 and stable whyyy mikrotik have problems????
 
Chipi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:02 am

Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:21 am

Try using other minipci.... SR2´s has a lot of problems in noise enviroments....

I had replaced all my SR2s (More than 50) with Senao NL 2511+(200 mw only 802.11b)...

Regards
----------{Microcom Argentina SA}----------
Distribuidor Mayorista MIKROTIK en Argentina

http://www.microcom.com.ar
 
spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:48 am

Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:00 pm

I think I have the exact same problem as you. I basically been through the same process of swapping everything out to no effect? Funny thing is all tools show no noise? Also I have same kit?
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:17 pm

hello guys the wds disabled but nothing happend not better not worest

any very very very expert guys have same case and he resolve it


the area is one of the most solti areas in the world it has full lakes of sult is this have anything to do ?


buti tried diffrent access points and it works gr8 and stable whyyy mikrotik have problems????
Did you change the channel after you disabled WDS?

/Henrik
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:30 am

yes nothing new wds doesnt help,


i tried diffrent card than SR2 based on AR5006x 200mw and it works ok with the pinging but lower coverage what that should be from?
( i mean why the SR2 having this problem) defect from fap-corp?
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:10 pm

yes nothing new wds doesnt help,


i tried diffrent card than SR2 based on AR5006x 200mw and it works ok with the pinging but lower coverage what that should be from?
( i mean why the SR2 having this problem) defect from fap-corp?
 
spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:48 am

Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:24 pm

Seems I have found the same thing as you. The Sr2 cards seem to hate omnis. I have multiple sites using sr2 and all omni sites have had troubles. Just swapped out a sr2 for a senao mini pci and went from not even being able to connect at 5 meters away to getting great speeds after the change? It would seem I have learnt the hard way that the sr2 sounds great on paper but in reality is not! What about Senao 400mw card?
 
babyface
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:22 pm

Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:53 pm

The problem is that you think that more power means better connection.

If you use high power cards, the nearest area suffer a lot from the noise created by the reflection of the signal in ground and walls.

If you use an omni with standard cards, the area has less noise and you have the possibility of stablish a connection, instead with a relatively low signal level.

Do you want to cover near and far areas? Avoid headaches and use sector antennas with standard cards.

Sorry for my level of english. I would like explain it better, but... :oops:
 
spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:48 am

Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:21 pm

I don't think it is the power output! You can have the same problems with the sr2 even if it'd set to 18dbm. I found it goes bad soemtimes and pings go wild some/all clients disconnect with good signals. It seems possible to make it work by fiddling with noise floor settings etc. My thoughs are it cannot handle even the smallest noise and has periodic bad times which are unpredictable. I have experienced this problem always with sr2's on omnis in built up noisy areas. Changed card to CM9 or Senao and problem seems to go away? Thats why I sugested the 400mw Senao cards.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:15 pm

............hanged card to CM9 or Senao and problem seems to go away? Thats why I sugested the 400mw Senao cards.
----
Hallo friends

i used mikrotik's as ap-bridge, ptmp and ap2ap , and just ask to all but, why v.2.9.39-42 i have problem same as this subject and sporadic reply, intermitence, or rto. i don't know, why when i reverted to v.2.9.38 everythink.....go nice and relax :wink:
my machine: RB5xx-PoE-CM9-Omnidirection15dbi-2.4ghz and i used it since 1,5 years ago without problems.

i think my machine little difference but same problem........helllppp
until now, i always reverted to v.2.9.38 or anyone have solution or suggestion....?

regards
Hasbullah.com
----
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:05 am

i think mikrotik need to improve some drivers and functions to be the number 1 solution
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:01 pm

----
anyone have suggestion for this post, cos until now we can't leave v2.9.38
i need your advice.

Hasbullah.com
----
............hanged card to CM9 or Senao and problem seems to go away? Thats why I sugested the 400mw Senao cards.
----
Hallo friends

i used mikrotik's as ap-bridge, ptmp and ap2ap , and just ask to all but, why v.2.9.39-42 i have problem same as this subject and sporadic reply, intermitence, or rto. i don't know, why when i reverted to v.2.9.38 everythink.....go nice and relax :wink:
my machine: RB5xx-PoE-CM9-Omnidirection15dbi-2.4ghz and i used it since 1,5 years ago without problems.

i think my machine little difference but same problem........helllppp
until now, i always reverted to v.2.9.38 or anyone have solution or suggestion....?

regards
Hasbullah.com
----
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:24 pm

do you have it stable also in version 2.9.38??


anyway i have one point using 2.9.42 and its stable ( but 3 of them arent stable)

i dont know whats wrong with mikrotik wireless

we are looking for more more wireless support and upgrades
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:34 pm

do you have it stable also in version 2.9.38??


anyway i have one point using 2.9.42 and its stable ( but 3 of them arent stable)

i dont know whats wrong with mikrotik wireless

we are looking for more more wireless support and upgrades
----
yes, as ....38 ver we has stable, normally when new version come out, we always upgrade all our RBs packages and firmware to that new one, but since 39, 40, 41, 42 our wirelessly isn't stable, we don't know.. that is for our RB511, but our central management with pc router and is no problem until last version... now our NOC in ....42 version.
thanks for your time

regards
Hasbullah.com
----
 
youzersif
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:43 am

Re: RB112 + SR2 + 15db omni +48v POE .4a = bad pinging

Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:53 am

i have the same problem, can you help me Mr Taloot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: icndr13 and 34 guests