Community discussions

 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

NV2 PtMP - good signal and ccq but low throughput

Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:44 pm

Hello,

This is my setup:
AP: 433AH, R52nM and parabolic 90cm dish 32dbi antenna, 5GHz-only-N, 20/40 eC, nv2 wireless protocol, one chain,
Client 1: 433AH, R52nM and parabolic 90cm dish 32dbi antenna (17km distance in winbox) - signal Tx/Rx: -65/-65, ccq Tx/Rx: 70/90%, SNR:50db, Rates: 135Mbps-40Mhz/1S/SGI
Client 2: 433AH, R52nM and parabolic 90cm dish 32dbi antenna (19km distance in winbox) - signal Tx/Rx: -68/-66, ccq Tx/Rx: 70/85%, SNR:50db, Rates: 120Mbps-40Mhz/1S/SGI

with those signal levels and ccq i expected more throughput then using old 802.11a turbo mode where i had constant 40-50Mpbs TCP measured in bandwidth test, now i have 30-60Mbps which changes rapidly. I suspect that my nv2 settings, which was default (2ms, 40km, 50% dynamic downlink), is bad so i changed it. I tried to lower cell radius to 25km, tried higher radius to 50km, tried TDMA timing from 1ms to 10ms but each settings didn't give satisfy result, worst result was on auto. I also tried 802.11n but then bandwidth test shows just 10Mbps TCP??! Now i set 3ms and 30km, downlink is on 60% where i am getting 30-40Mbps stable but problem is when i am pinging client 2 from client 1 or vice versa, there are too many timeouts, sometimes Winbox won't access client 1 or keeps disconnecting form client 2 etc.

Can you help me to make those links more stable and gain more bandwidth with this setup?
Thanks
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: NV2 PtMP - good signal and ccq but low throughput

Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:59 am

Anyone? :(
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1223
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: NV2 PtMP - good signal and ccq but low throughput

Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:14 am

Your CCQ rates are not good, and what do you think you get with 1 Chain?
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: NV2 PtMP - good signal and ccq but low throughput

Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:13 pm

Well, i expected more. On 135Mpbs rate it should be 60Mbps stable with those signal levels and ccq.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1223
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: NV2 PtMP - good signal and ccq but low throughput

Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:11 pm

Well, i expected more. On 135Mpbs rate it should be 60Mbps stable with those signal levels and ccq.
135 Mpbs is max Brutto, its WiFi, with an old 54Mbit 802.11a you got about 20Mbit
And your CCQ shows that your spectrum is not clear....
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2270
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: NV2 PtMP - good signal and ccq but low throughput

Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:21 pm

Your equipment is completely old. Old chipset = small speed
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
karina
Member
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Spain

Re: NV2 PtMP - good signal and ccq but low throughput

Sat May 18, 2019 3:08 pm

is the 70% CCQ with traffic? if not what is it with traffic? do a btest within your network from the client cpe and watch the CCQ. 70% is not good, needs to be nearer 90%, if if drops further under load then its definately a noise or fresnal issue. And like previous poster said, the old 433 board is not really a good choice here. Make sure MT ver is latest and the RB firmware.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests