Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
killersoft
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:34 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Why wireless 'A'-mode when I hard set to N-mode

Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:29 am

Hi.
I have a bit of a general MT wireless question. I have run MT gear for a long time(10 Years now!) and have seen this wireless link phenomenon notably in my long distance links(7KM's+), but never understood why this occurs. This is notable when I am passing little to no traffic.
If I have hard set the Band to say 5GHz -ONLY-N on both links, why is it that I see Rx rates drop back to an 'A' mode momentarily and not to say a lower 'N' speed ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MTCNA
MIT, BIT,CERT IV Electronics.
ITIL
 
BRMateus2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:18 pm

Re: Why wireless 'A'-mode when I hard set to N-mode

Thu May 23, 2019 1:21 pm

What is on your advanced WiFi configuration data rates? The lower rates are to reduce power usage and minimal control (beacon, etc).
If you want always high transfer rates, you need to disable the lower data rates manually, at the cost of stability considering the signal quality and noise.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Why wireless 'A'-mode when I hard set to N-mode  [SOLVED]

Thu May 23, 2019 2:38 pm

Rates will always drop to lowest, if there is no need for higher rate (if there is no traffic). This is also to save power. If you will have traffic, it will auto adjust to highest.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], thanos and 27 guests