Community discussions

 
th0massin0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 4:16 am
Location: Poland

CAPsMAN channel selection

Thu May 16, 2019 7:41 pm

Hello,
I have a question about proper config of 2.4 ghz network managed by CAPsMAN. Why APs are running on same channels? How to avoid it? ROS 6.43.16
/caps-man channel
add band=2ghz-g/n control-channel-width=20mhz extension-channel=disabled frequency=2412,2417,2422,2427,2432,2437,2442,2447,2452,2457,2462,2467,2472 name=channels24 reselect-interval=2h save-selected=no skip-dfs-channels=no

/caps-man access-list
add action=accept interface=all signal-range=-80..120
add action=reject interface=all signal-range=-120..-81

/caps-man configuration
add channel=channels24 country=poland datapath=datapath datapath.client-to-client-forwarding=yes distance=indoors installation=indoor mode=ap name=cfg rx-chains=0,1 security=sec ssid=ap tx-chains=0,1
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
karlisi
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:09 am
Location: Latvia

Re: CAPsMAN channel selection

Fri May 17, 2019 8:26 am

It's OK if these CAPs are far away one from other. You can reduce reselect interval to force CAPs to check more often for less busy frequency.
---
Karlis
 
th0massin0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 4:16 am
Location: Poland

Re: CAPsMAN channel selection

Fri May 17, 2019 2:32 pm

Not so far. Screen from scanning one of CAPs. Now, all are on the same channel.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
wwwevecom
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:53 pm

Re: CAPsMAN channel selection

Mon May 20, 2019 10:38 am

do not use reselect-interval,
1. Scan the room with WiFi analuzer with your phone to see the free frequencies
2. Set manualy Tx Powet 16 ot 17dBm (iphone transmit with 12-13 dBm)
3. Set manualy channel, may be close but different
4. set point by point. Run the first and go see if it works. if it is not good - change the channel. Then the second ....
 
freemannnn
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 663
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: CAPsMAN channel selection

Mon May 20, 2019 12:53 pm

is it ok setting manualy Tx Power to 10 or less. i try to minimize connecting distance for a pool area.
for example i have set at my wap ac tx power for 2.4ghz 10 and for 5ghz 15.
can i go lower or is not a good idea?
 
wwwevecom
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:53 pm

Re: CAPsMAN channel selection

Thu May 23, 2019 12:35 pm

Tx Power to 10 or less is too low for me. This will affect the scope range 12-13m. I think between 15-16dBm is good.
I also had problems with a capsman, nearly two years. By noon he works and then stops. These settings saved me.
Another very important. All devices that are not in this CAPSMAN system must change the SSID names
Otherwise, they hinder you.
Access poits to have no direct visibility.
Do PCQ queue with mangle - 5Mbps per client like here: https://translate.google.com/translate? ... age%2F2%2F
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
freemannnn
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 663
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: CAPsMAN channel selection

Thu May 23, 2019 2:32 pm


Access poits to have no direct visibility.
what do you mean by that?
 
wwwevecom
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:53 pm

Re: CAPsMAN channel selection

Mon May 27, 2019 10:33 am

if possible, To have a wall between access points.

Set access list -76..120 accept; -120..-77 drop if the points are close
or -120..-80 if the points are farther away

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests