Community discussions

 
PierreZA
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:01 am

Wireless problems with Android and iOS phones

Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:31 am

Hi

I am quite new to the Mikrotik environment. I have been experiencing a wifi problem when using Android and iOS phones on my network. The phones connect to the wifi every time, however from time to time there will be about a minute period where the phone indicates that there is no internet connectivity. At the same time my wired devices are connected and have internet access. Any help in sorting out the wifi problem would be greatly appreciate since i can't find the cause. The problem is intermittent, so it will take a while to confirm any solution provided.

The RB3011 is connected to the internet. The other two RB's are wired to the 3011. The 3011 provides DHCP, hairpin NAT and port forwarding. I am also trying to reserve bandwidth for streaming on the tv router.

Here are the configs:
# jun/07/2019 09:04:19 by RouterOS 6.44
# software id = YK4L-5DMR
#
# model = RouterBOARD 3011UiAS
# serial number = 780E075B17E7
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name="ether1 WAN"
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] name="ether2 empty"
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] name="ether3 braai_router"
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] name="ether4 desktop_jandre"
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] name="ether5 security"
set [ find default-name=ether6 ] name="ether6 tv_router"
set [ find default-name=ether7 ] name="ether7 server"
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] name="ether8 desktop_pierre"
set [ find default-name=ether9 ] name="ether9 empty"
set [ find default-name=ether10 ] name="ether10 empty"
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.1.10-192.168.1.100
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge1 name=dhcp1
/queue simple
add name=All target=192.168.1.0/24
add burst-limit=0/20M burst-threshold=0/20M burst-time=1m/1m max-limit=5M/10M \
    name=laptop-dell parent=All priority=2/2 target=192.168.1.10/32 time=\
    0s-1d,sun,mon,tue,wed,thu,fri,sat
/snmp community
set [ find default=yes ] name=xxxx
/tool user-manager customer
set admin access=\
    own-routers,own-users,own-profiles,own-limits,config-payment-gw
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether2 empty"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether3 braai_router"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether4 desktop_jandre"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether5 security"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether6 tv_router"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether7 server"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether8 desktop_pierre"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether9 empty"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="ether10 empty"
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp1
/interface list member
add interface="ether1 WAN" list=WAN
add interface=bridge1 list=LAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.1/24 interface="ether2 empty" network=192.168.1.0
/ip dhcp-client
add dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface="ether1 WAN"
/ip dhcp-server lease
add address=192.168.1.9 client-id=1:b8:27:eb:52:25:46 mac-address=\
    B8:27:EB:52:25:46 server=dhcp1
add address=192.168.1.7 client-id=1:40:61:86:ca:a6:c7 mac-address=\
    40:61:86:CA:A6:C7 server=dhcp1
add address=192.168.1.10 client-id=1:0:1d:9:3e:de:92 mac-address=\
    00:1D:09:3E:DE:92 server=dhcp1
add address=192.168.1.2 client-id=1:64:d1:54:a8:65:28 mac-address=\
    64:D1:54:A8:65:28 server=dhcp1
add address=192.168.1.3 client-id=1:cc:2d:e0:17:ac:b9 mac-address=\
    CC:2D:E0:17:AC:B9 server=dhcp1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.1.0/24 dns-server=1.1.1.1,8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4 gateway=\
    192.168.1.1 netmask=24 ntp-server=192.168.1.1
/ip firewall filter
add action=drop chain=input connection-state=!established,related in-interface=\
    "ether1 WAN" log=yes log-prefix="DROPPED "
add action=add-src-to-address-list address-list=bittorrent_users \
    address-list-timeout=none-dynamic chain=forward comment="Bittorrent users" \
    disabled=yes layer7-protocol=bittorent
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface-list=WAN
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment=Hairpin dst-address=192.168.1.0/24 \
    log=yes log-prefix=Hairpin src-address=192.168.1.0/24
add action=accept chain=srcnat comment=NAT log=yes log-prefix=NAT \
    out-interface="ether1 WAN" src-address=192.168.1.0/24
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat comment="Port Fwd 80" dst-address=\
    102.132.37.180 log=yes log-prefix="Port Fwd" protocol=tcp to-addresses=\
    192.168.1.9 to-ports=80
/ip upnp
set enabled=yes
/ip upnp interfaces
add interface=bridge1 type=external
/snmp
set enabled=yes location="Bellville, South Africa"
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Africa/Johannesburg
/system identity
set name=core.router
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=196.26.5.10 secondary-ntp=196.25.1.1
/system ntp server
set enabled=yes
/tool sniffer
set filter-mac-address=54:72:4F:82:04:AD/FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF filter-stream=yes \
    streaming-enabled=yes streaming-server=192.168.1.7
/tool user-manager database
set db-path=user-manager

# jun/07/2019 09:23:14 by RouterOS 6.44
# software id = C7ZK-HPC0
#
# model = RouterBOARD 941-2nD
# serial number = 7DE607446F3E
/interface bridge
add name=bridge.tv.router
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name="ether1 to core router"
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] name="ether2 laptop_dell"
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-XX \
    country="south africa" disabled=no frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=\
    leroux wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk mode=dynamic-keys \
    supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=xxxxxxxx \
    wpa2-pre-shared-key=xxxxxxxx
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" management-protection=allowed \
    mode=dynamic-keys name=leroux.tv supplicant-identity="" \
    wpa2-pre-shared-key=xxxxxxxxx
/interface wireless
add disabled=no keepalive-frames=disabled mac-address=66:D1:54:A8:65:2E \
    master-interface=wlan1 multicast-buffering=disabled name=tv.tv.router \
    security-profile=leroux.tv ssid=tv wds-cost-range=0 wds-default-cost=0 \
    wps-mode=disabled
/snmp community
set [ find default=yes ] name=xxxx
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge.tv.router interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge.tv.router interface="ether2 laptop_dell"
add bridge=bridge.tv.router interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge.tv.router interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge.tv.router interface=*9
add bridge=bridge.tv.router interface=tv.tv.router
add bridge=bridge.tv.router interface="ether1 to core router"
/interface list member
add interface="ether1 to core router" list=WAN
add interface="ether2 laptop_dell" list=LAN
add interface=ether3 list=LAN
add interface=ether4 list=LAN
add interface=wlan1 list=LAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.2/24 disabled=yes interface="ether2 laptop_dell" network=\
    192.168.1.0
/ip dhcp-client
add dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=bridge.tv.router
/ip dhcp-relay
add dhcp-server=192.168.1.1 disabled=no interface="ether1 to core router" name=\
    relay.tv.router
/ip dns
set servers=192.168.1.1,8.8.8.8
/ip route
add disabled=yes distance=1 gateway=192.168.1.1
/ip upnp
set enabled=yes
/ip upnp interfaces
add interface=bridge.tv.router type=external
/snmp
set enabled=yes location="Bellville, South Africa"
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Africa/Johannesburg
/system identity
set name=tv.router
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=192.168.1.1

# jun/07/2019 09:27:40 by RouterOS 6.44
# software id = W4R8-QSTL
#
# model = RouterBOARD 931-2nD
# serial number = 7CBD08AEA121
/interface bridge
add name=bridge.braai.router
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-XX country="south africa" disabled=no frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=leroux wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=xxxxxxxxx wpa2-pre-shared-key=xxxxxxxxx
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=leroux.braai supplicant-identity="" wpa2-pre-shared-key=xxxxxxxxx
/interface wireless
add disabled=no keepalive-frames=disabled mac-address=CE:2D:E0:17:AC:BE master-interface=wlan1 multicast-buffering=disabled name=braai.braai.router security-profile=leroux.braai ssid=braai \
    wds-cost-range=0 wds-default-cost=0 wps-mode=disabled
/snmp community
set [ find default=yes ] name=xxxxxx
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge.braai.router interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge.braai.router interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge.braai.router interface=*8
add bridge=bridge.braai.router interface=braai.braai.router
add bridge=bridge.braai.router interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge.braai.router interface=ether1
/interface list member
add interface=ether1 list=WAN
add interface=ether2 list=LAN
add interface=ether3 list=LAN
add interface=wlan1 list=LAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.3/24 disabled=yes interface=ether2 network=192.168.1.0
/ip dhcp-client
add dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=bridge.braai.router
/ip dhcp-relay
add dhcp-server=192.168.25.1 disabled=no interface=ether1 name=relay1.braai.router
/ip dns
set servers=192.168.1.1,8.8.8.8
/ip route
add disabled=yes distance=1 gateway=192.168.1.1
/snmp
set enabled=yes location="Bellville, South Africa"
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Africa/Johannesburg
/system identity
set name=braai.router
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=192.168.1.1
/tool sniffer
set filter-interface=wlan1 filter-mac-address=54:72:4F:82:04:AD/FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF filter-stream=yes memory-limit=500KiB streaming-server=192.168.1.7
Thanks!
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2446
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Wireless problems with Android and iOS phones

Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:26 pm

One setting that might cause troubles: on RB3011 move LAN IP from "ether2 empty" to bridge1 ...
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
ingdaka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:06 pm
Location: Albania
Contact:

Re: Wireless problems with Android and iOS phones

Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:09 pm

If this problem happens to new phones like Samsung Galaxy S10, Note 9 or iPhone X series!
Try to uncheck TKIP encryption from WiFi security!
Ilir Daka
Electronic & Network Engineer
E-mail: ilirdaka@live.com
Mob: +355692982151
WhatsApp: +355692982151
Mikrotik Official Consultant
CCNA | Fortinet NSE3 | MTCRE | MTCSE
 
PierreZA
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:01 am

Re: Wireless problems with Android and iOS phones

Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:42 pm

If this problem happens to new phones like Samsung Galaxy S10, Note 9 or iPhone X series!
Try to uncheck TKIP encryption from WiFi security!
We're talking Samsung Galaxy S6 and iPhone5/6. tkip is not in use in any event.

Thanks though!
 
PierreZA
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:01 am

Re: Wireless problems with Android and iOS phones

Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:45 pm

One setting that might cause troubles: on RB3011 move LAN IP from "ether2 empty" to bridge1 ...
Thanks MKX, I've made that change and will keep an eye open for the wireless "no internet connection" issue.
 
Kerbia
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 3:03 pm

Re: Wireless problems with Android and iOS phones

Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:04 am

did you take this setting into account?

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:W ... devices.3F
 
PierreZA
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:01 am

Re: Wireless problems with Android and iOS phones

Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:24 am

Thanks, Kerbia. I had a look and both RBs have "Preamble" set to "both", so it should be good according to that article.

I should mention that I haven't experienced the problem in quite a while. It seems mkx's solution did the trick.
I also found an "unknown" interface on the RB-931 and RB-941 - this doesn't seem to show in the configs I provided. In any event, I simply deleted them.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests