Community discussions

 
zeekzeeky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:52 am

About to purchase hAP AC/AC^2 router

Thu Jun 20, 2019 12:00 pm

Hello all,

I am about to switch from my Asus router to Mikrotik and I am looking at either the hAP AC or the hAP AC^2 router. And I am purchasing this router for my family home of 8 members and each of them has 2-3 devices.

May I know if the hAP AC^2 is still affected by the firmware issue that cause wireless connections to be unstable? Or would you recommend that I go with the hAP AC router?

Your suggestions and feedbacks are much appreciated. :)

Thanks!
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3122
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: About to purchase hAP AC/AC^2 router

Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:01 pm

All wired or a mix of wired and wireless?
how big is the house, how many floors?
do you currently have any access points just the asus wifi router?
is you house wired for ethernet or coax at all?

In general i would say the hap ac2 is the more powerful router in that it has ipsec hardware built in (better vpn performance) PLUS its throughput is much better, especially if looking at an eventual 1gig fibre connection.
hapac2 for 512packet size - 1445Mbps - 986Mbps (bridging -routing: 25 filter rules) whereas for the hapac 518Mbps-318Mbps

So based on WAN connection alone, not even considering VPN the hapac2 may be better for your.
However, the hapac has much better wifi. It has 3 chains vice 2 chains per radio and is a higher rated AC chip 1200 vice the 867 for the hapac2.
If this were the only wifi unit in the location it would probably be better suited, but you do have a second wifi device by repurposing the asus as an AP/switch.
Last edited by anav on Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
zeekzeeky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:52 am

Re: About to purchase hAP AC/AC^2 router

Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:11 pm

All wired or a mix of wired and wireless?
how big is the house, how many floors?
do you currently have any access points just the asus wifi router?
is you house wired for ethernet or coax at all?
Heyya,
All of them are wireless devices.
My house is around 1320sq.ft. with 2 floors. Total area would be 2640sq.ft.
I currently just have the Asus router with no other APs. And no, my house is not wired for ethernet.

Thank you.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3122
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: About to purchase hAP AC/AC^2 router

Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:22 pm

What is your ISP wan connection rated at?
Do you have coax to any rooms in the house?

I am thinking of two ideas.
a. hapac2 and using the asus via (coax adapter or electrical powerline adapter) in another section of the house.
b. hapac only for better wifi coverage by itself but unless centrally placed the 5Ghz (AC coverage may be spotty). There should be no issues for the 2.5Ghz connections.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
zeekzeeky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:52 am

Re: About to purchase hAP AC/AC^2 router

Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:10 pm

What is your ISP wan connection rated at?
Do you have coax to any rooms in the house?

I am thinking of two ideas.
a. hapac2 and using the asus via (coax adapter or electrical powerline adapter) in another section of the house.
b. hapac only for better wifi coverage by itself but unless centrally placed the 5Ghz (AC coverage may be spotty). There should be no issues for the 2.5Ghz connections.
It's rated at 500Mbit/s down and 100Mbit/s up.
Nah I don't have any coax cables to any rooms. And the fibre optic cable is fixed at the living room upstairs centrally. Hence why I couldn't have a second router downstairs.

I think option 2 is great. Thanks for the recommendation. :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 38 guests