Community discussions

 
User avatar
karlisi
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:09 am
Location: Latvia

Lost connection over wireless to remote station after upgrade

Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:05 pm

Have AP and remote 2 stations to make wireless bridges. Upgraded AP and one of stations from 6.42.12 to 6.44.5 lost connection to upgraded station. Not upgraded station works. Some ideas, what is changed and is it possible to recover connection without physically accessing remote station?

configuration of AP
# RouterOS 6.44.5
# model = SXT G-5HPnD r2
# Access Point
/interface bridge
add fast-forward=no name=bridge1 protocol-mode=none
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] adaptive-noise-immunity=ap-and-client-mode \
    band=5ghz-a/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce country=latvia \
    default-authentication=no disabled=no frequency-mode=regulatory-domain \
    mode=ap-bridge ssid=XXXXX tx-power=18 tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed \
    wds-default-bridge=bridge1 wds-mode=dynamic wireless-protocol=nv2
/interface wireless nstreme
set wlan1 framer-policy=exact-size
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 hw=no interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/interface wireless access-list
add comment=station1 interface=wlan1 mac-address=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx \
    vlan-mode=no-tag
add comment=station2 interface=wlan1 mac-address=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx \
    vlan-mode=no-tag
/system identity
set name=ap1
and here working station 6.42.12, second one (not working) identical
# RouterOS 6.42.12
# model = SXT G-5HPnD r2
# Station
/interface bridge
add fast-forward=no name=bridge1 protocol-mode=none
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] adaptive-noise-immunity=client-mode band=\
    5ghz-a/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce country=latvia disabled=no frequency=\
    auto frequency-mode=regulatory-domain mode=station-wds ssid=XXXXX \
    wds-default-bridge=bridge1 wds-mode=dynamic
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 hw=no interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/system identity
set name=station2
---
Karlis
 
User avatar
karlisi
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:09 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Lost connection over wireless to remote station after upgrade  [SOLVED]

Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:06 pm

To answer my own question - regulatory domain restrictions.
On station wireless installation=outdoor, on AP installation=any, frequency on both 5180 MHz. For country Latvia lowest allowed frequency for outdoor installations is 5500 MHz, so on station frequency was wrong, but older ROS allowed it.
From version 6.44.3 changelog: *) wireless - improved wireless country settings for EU countries;
As a result, after upgrade to 6.44.5 frequency on station was set to lowest allowed for outdoor, 5500 MHz, on AP the same old 5180 MHz because the installation type was any, without such frequency restriction.
---
Karlis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests