Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
alexfossa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:35 pm

Slow Hotspot Performance

Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:15 pm

Hi,

I have been testing the Hotspot application on the RB112, I have found the following issue:

- Running the latest stable version, 2.9.42.
- Basic Config, IP address on Ether1 with default gateway.
- WLAN card in AP Bridge mode
- Simple hotspot created, clicking though the wizard.

The problem encoundtered is that I can only get 3.5mbit throughput. However when I disable the hotspot (but leave in all the auto generated NAT and DHCP rules) I can flatten the internet connection on the Ether1 interface.

The CPU runs at 100% in hotspot mode, and 40% when not in hotspot mode.

Any ideas?

Regards,

Alexander Fossa
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Slow Hotspot Performance

Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:16 pm

Hi,

I have been testing the Hotspot application on the RB112, I have found the following issue:

- Running the latest stable version, 2.9.42.
- Basic Config, IP address on Ether1 with default gateway.
- WLAN card in AP Bridge mode
- Simple hotspot created, clicking though the wizard.

The problem encoundtered is that I can only get 3.5mbit throughput. However when I disable the hotspot (but leave in all the auto generated NAT and DHCP rules) I can flatten the internet connection on the Ether1 interface.

The CPU runs at 100% in hotspot mode, and 40% when not in hotspot mode.

Any ideas?

Regards,

Alexander Fossa
RB/112 was never meant to be a hotspot controller.. Do the authentication and controlling back in your net on something more powerfull...

/Henrik
 
alexfossa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:35 pm

Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:04 pm

Hi,

As in, setup the RB112 as a basic accesspoint, and tunnel / bridge the traffic back to a bigger Mikrotik to do the auth.

Regards,

Alex
 
alex998r
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:54 pm
Contact:

same on rb532a

Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:55 pm

Hi, I experience the same problem on a RB532a running my hotspot.
3.5 mbit with HS authentication and 7mbit if I put my address in IP BINDINGS ( so I have myself bypass the hotspot ).
please any idea?
many thanks
Alessandro
 
kvan64
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:54 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:05 pm

I have exactly the same problem with the RB153 RouterBoard. I used the Ubiquiti SR2 mini PCI wireless card for my wlan with AP Bridge mode and ether1 for DHCP client and also click through setup to create a basic set up. The connection was good initially last night. This morning the hotspot dropped out. I messed arround with it to get it working again and now my hotspot is slower than a slow dial up even though my connection is 24M. Help anyone???

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests