Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Philip@hux.co.za
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:14 pm

TX POWER

Sat Apr 14, 2007 6:00 pm

hello all

i have an SR@ card i want to know two things pls

no1. what is the defualt power out dbm or mw

and

no2. how do you change the tx power in the mikrotik winbox


thank you
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:49 am

hi
i just bought RF power meter

the defualt for the SR2 is 26dbm = 400mw



ALSO anyone want a help in TX power i m welling to do so


btw with senao i got arround 24dbm
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Sun Apr 15, 2007 1:18 am

Hy, have you tested, with your RF Power meter, which is the REAL maximum power output for a SR or XR series (2,4 or 5GHz is not important)?
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:43 am

yes i do

the max is 28dbm for the SR2 but the signal isnt stable it keeps jumping from 26-27 to 28 so its not recomended

i dont have SR5 to test
XR2 i have its in DHL now i m going to bring it after 1 hour and i will let you know the result


SR2 @ 28dbm like nmp-8602 @ 26dbm (senao gaves up the maxuimum possable power that we could make when overclocking the card) so if the senao the one who make the SR2 the will say its 600mw
also i have sparklan mini-pci its rated @ 17dbm but its very stable @ 22 dbm

any question guys please Ask
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:53 pm

i Test the XR-2


on defualt i got 28dbm

once i make card rate i and set the tx power to 28 dbm i got on my meter 30dbm + (my meter max is 30dbm)

unbelivable powerfull mini-pci = to amplifire 1 watt on signal range

any question?
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Sun Apr 15, 2007 2:02 pm

any question?
Yes.
First, thanks for your answer and testing, then:
Which is the exactly brand and model of your power meter?
Where did you buy it?
What is it's price?

Thanks
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:39 am

http://www.bvsystems.com/Products/Spect ... terfly.htm

this is it

i buy it from them

also its gave me special price but ithink the regular price should be less than 650 USD
 
User avatar
jorj
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: /dev/null

Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:21 am

What about R52 ?
max/default/max-stable output power ?
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:32 pm

not test the R52 it self but i test somthing very very like the r52 and i think its the same

i got 17dbm

when i overRF i got 21-22 dbm
 
n4dsl
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:13 pm

Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:48 pm

How do the numbers in mikrotik link up with SR5 cards. By default it shows TX power of 17, default power is 26, so does that mean I need to subtract 9 to get real power level, if I want to manually set?
 
kvan64
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:54 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
Contact:

Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:01 pm

I am confused. So, if you set the card rates of SR2 to 26 then the actual power is way over 26 right?

Does anyone know what is the recommended card rate for SR2 and XR2 for optimal power without harming the card or crashing the MT system? Ta
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Mon Apr 23, 2007 8:23 pm

Does anyone know what is the recommended card rate for SR2 and XR2 for optimal power without harming the card or crashing the MT system?
I think this will be VERY useful for all user (as me) who doesn't have a precision instrument as Taloot's power meter.

Recently, we experienced a strange thing...replaced a SR5 with a compex 200mw, and we had about +5-6dBm improvement on client receiving. We have tryed this on another site, and we have obtained the same thing.
So, this are the question which we are asking us:
- is SR2/SR5 a REAL 400mw card or is it a fake?
- may be a RouterOS Driver/Management fault?
- is compex 200mw a 1W card (i don't think so :wink: )?


Thanks
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:11 pm

hi guys the XR2 giving me 28dbm on default tx power but from my tests guys the ubnt cards are not recomended @ all @ least on the 2.4ghz

i have SR2 and all of them are installed outdoor and its hard to me to got it
also the XR2 now its installed but i m going to recive a very good quility of 500mw cards i will test it and let you know guys


the XR2 is stable for 2 hours then it become unstable even in version 2.9.38
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:18 am

i have SR2 and all of them are installed outdoor and its hard to me to got it also the XR2 now its installed but i m going to recive a very good quility of 500mw cards i will test it and let you know guys
Can you explain better what you wrote on this sentences? I don't understand what you say, sorry.
the XR2 is stable for 2 hours then it become unstable even in version 2.9.38
Doh! I bought one XR2 on this morning to replace my old SR2 on an omni hotspot!
Just a thing: i have EVER used that SR2 on that omni, and never got a problem (client are all Linksys WRT54GL + dd-wrt and one Litestation 2). Then, on a bad (thunderstorm) day, i lost my SR2: i replaced it with a Senao NL2511 mPCI 200mW. I gave more power on client side (and this is very strange, becouse Senao is 200mW and SR2 is 400mW), but my client are unstable a lot. They are connected through PPPoE, and at least one time a day i have to manually kick off becouse they lost connectivity with my hotspot (they seems to be connected, but no data transfer at all). LS2 can't connect to Senao, only sometimes after 5-10 minutes, than it lost it's connection, so i'm happy with SR2. Which is your problem with it?
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Thu Apr 26, 2007 6:13 pm

hello,

could you please tell's us whats your signal TX and RX and whats your noise floor

also what about the pinging time??
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:25 pm

Sure!

At the moment, i'm only able to provide what you want with an XR2 (i put it on two days ago, replacing the Senao) installed on a RB532 (there's also a SR2 for backhaul).
Is this on your interest? If yes, i will answer on this evening.
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:33 pm

Sure!

At the moment, i'm only able to provide what you want with an XR2 (i put it on two days ago, replacing the Senao) installed on a RB532 (there's also a SR2 for backhaul).
Is this on your interest? If yes, i will answer on this evening.
sure
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:53 am

My setup is:
Hotspot side:
- 802.11b
- 1 x RB532R5, powered @ 12V
- 1 x SR2 for backhaul (channel 11)
- 1 x XR2 for hotspot (channel 6)
- 12dBi collinear antenna
- 5-6 client on it, 24/7

Client Side:
- 802.11b
- PPPoE connection type
- 1km from the hotspot
- 1 x VAGI Pacwireless antenna 16dBi
- 1 x Linksys WRT54GL with dd-wrt on-board.

Signal displayed on Linksys: -68/-72
Signal displayed on Mikrotik: -67/-72
Ping from Linksys console to Mikrotik:
~ # ping 172.21.1.34
PING 172.21.1.34 (172.21.1.34): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=2.9 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=3.2 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=7.1 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=2.9 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=11 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 time=3.4 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=14 ttl=64 time=4.0 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=16 ttl=64 time=4.8 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=17 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=18 ttl=64 time=2.8 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=19 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=20 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=21 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=22 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=23 ttl=64 time=3.4 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=24 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=25 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=26 ttl=64 time=6.8 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=27 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=28 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms
64 bytes from 172.21.1.34: icmp_seq=29 ttl=64 time=2.7 ms

--- 172.21.1.34 ping statistics ---
30 packets transmitted, 30 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 2.7/3.1/7.1 ms
~ # 
This ping was made after 3days and half of routerboard's uptime, never disabled the XR2, never "touched" anything. We noticed some occasionally disconnection from wireless client, but they are very quickly to reconnect itself (< 5 seconds).
The only thing which goes wrong, it's the nose report on routerboard: it is not as accurate as with SR2 installed.
With SR2 it is -99/-106, with XR2is -88/-94. We have tryed on the same condition, and the noise reported was the same.
I wrote that this is not accurate becouse, sometime, i see a client in NLOS with -92/-94 signal, noise -88, SNR -4/-6, but the CCQ is 96/100%
I wrote :shock: (yes, we have tryed to transfer something in that condition, and the real TCP bandwith never goes under 300kBytes/s.
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Sat Apr 28, 2007 12:04 pm

never disabled the XR2, never "touched" anything. We noticed some occasionally disconnection from wireless client,
what do u mean by that

i tried our new 500mw mini-pci i noticed it has higher recive signal than XR-2
it was -71 now its -66

same postion same location same every thing

btw my friend have you tried the 900mhz ?

could you please add me in your msn if you have?

Taloot(at)hotmail(dot)com
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Mon Apr 30, 2007 4:36 pm

Just as information.

Ubiquity does post on there site, that the XR cards have a power offset.

Ie. XR cards have a power offset of 10. so the default of 17 will net 27 dB

I did not look at the SR, but beleive the same should be true for these as well.

I may warn those that try to over power their cards, as the AMP is more likely to fail, moreso in the hot summer heat.
 
mksb
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:08 pm
Location: India

what card is 500mw

Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:26 pm

hi, taloot

which card are you using for 500mw?
please tell brand and partno. if possible
 
taloot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Saudi arabia, Riyadh

Tue May 01, 2007 3:19 am

i always hear some ppl talking about the heat!!!

its 43 c today and everything is running and stable as rock
even last summer it was 65c it was directly under the sun but i never ever compline about heat issue

guys mikrotik is gr8 and we do have faith on it but we like to have more support and devlpment in wireless packages
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Wed May 02, 2007 9:51 am

what do u mean by that
never disabled the XR2, never "touched" anything.
Simply that i never modify anything on the routeros settings for 3days.
We noticed some occasionally disconnection from wireless client
We noticed some disconnection on the wireless side, about 1 times a day.
i tried our new 500mw mini-pci i noticed it has higher recive signal than XR-2
it was -71 now its -66

same postion same location same every thing
Ok, but which is the brand and model of your 500mW cards?
btw my friend have you tried the 900mhz ?
No, never. Our country regulation doesn't allow 900MHz use (used by commercial GSM phone).
could you please add me in your msn if you have?
Just added!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests