Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
piri
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

VAP Hotspot Radius

Sun Apr 22, 2007 11:31 am

Is it possible to have a Virtual Access Point on a wireless Interface that is currenty being used for a hotpsot with a radius server

I would like the VAP to also be a hotspot using radius and have a different login page.

Thnx in advance

Piri
 
goldclick
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:48 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Sun Apr 22, 2007 9:58 pm

Yes, its possible to have another VAP with different SSID and running different hotspot. For light traffic, this might suffice. If traffic is high, run your hotspot gateway on a 2GHz server and implement VLAN. YOu can have many VLANS with hotspot with different pages. Your AP can have the VAP bridged to each VLAN service.

If you run different radius servers, you can use the 'called-id' attribute to seperate the authentication. The Radius server list is an ordered list.

Sonny.
 
piri
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Sun Apr 22, 2007 10:04 pm

cheers goldclick
 
piri
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Wed Apr 25, 2007 2:26 am

I tried to add a VAP and got this working fine

and then setup another hotspot, added wlan3 to bridge2.

I setup an ip address for the new vap and then created a hotspot with this new address pool using the setup option.

I did not get a login page when I connected to this VAP, and it actually made my other hotspot login page fail as well when I tried connecting to my iriginal hotspot.

Any ideas.

Also need to have the other hotspot going to different radius external server.

Thanx in advance

Piri

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: svmk and 14 guests