Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1432
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 05, 2019 11:08 pm

Why something like this is impossible for Mikrotik?

https://www.discomp.cz/first-look-at-60 ... _w478.html
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2309
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 05, 2019 11:29 pm

Why something like this is impossible for Mikrotik?

https://www.discomp.cz/first-look-at-60 ... _w478.html
I don't think its impossible... there is just no such product yet...
 
r00t
Member
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Fri Dec 06, 2019 4:48 pm

Some 60GHz PCBs actually have space for 5GHz radio on them, so Mikrotik clearly planned to do it. But it was never released for some reason (compliance issues? 5GHz antenna issues? who knows...). But they knew about this UBNT stuff for some time and still haven't released anything... all we got is this stupid new sq60 with 100Mbit/s LAN... TIME TO WAKE UP!
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1432
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:48 pm

Some 60GHz PCBs actually have space for 5GHz radio on them, so Mikrotik clearly planned to do it. But it was never released for some reason (compliance issues? 5GHz antenna issues? who knows...). But they knew about this UBNT stuff for some time and still haven't released anything... all we got is this stupid new sq60 with 100Mbit/s LAN... TIME TO WAKE UP!
Thea don’t wake up, there is no Future planing for Wireless, Look at new Products in Last 12 Month, nothing new in wireless, and the Switches they Annonce at EU Mum Are still missing
 
server8
Member
Member
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:51 pm

Just for joking I am testing a my diy kit to add 5 ghz backup on the lhg60 ... first test seems to be quite good for 5 ghz not yet tested with 60 ghz on :-)
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1432
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:02 am

And why do you do this?

Because it is a key factor to have backup with 60 ghz product, and that is why i don't understand it is not integrated......
 
bastys
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:25 pm

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:22 am

As a 5G backup we use dedicated radio. Can someone manage a good link switching script?
 
vladimirslk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:03 am
Location: Estonia, Tallinn
Contact:

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:27 pm

hehe, i was intentionally waiting for product 60+5 to buy and install on 900m. I dont care about how works by others i need availability all the time all the weather long, building an space station with several antennas via poe switch is utopia, maybe the price will be the same, but what for so many sex :D
 
User avatar
ryny24
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:32 am

As a 5G backup we use dedicated radio. Can someone manage a good link switching script?

If you happen to use Extreme switches, I found the PERFECT solution. Port Redundancy. So, with port redundancy you can make a 2nd port a backup port if the link on the 1st port goes down.

However, with wireless radios, the ethernet port does not go down if the wireless link goes down. But, extreme has ELSM (Extreme Link state monitoring). It will virtually down the port if X number of heartbeats fail to pass. It is flawless. Mikrotik + LiteBeam has created a solid network here in NYC. No more outage complaints!!!!

Here is my configuration (3 second failover, wait 40 seconds after UP before recovery)
# EXTREME PORT REDUNDANCY
configure port 33 redundant 34 link on
enable elsm port 33
configure elsm port 33 hold-threshold 40
configure elsm port 33 uptimer-threshold 3
An extreme switch is required at the far end to send ELSM packets. The only configuration needed there is.
enable elsm port 33
There can never be a loop since at any given time, one of the 2 ports is blocking at the main switch.
 
joegoldman
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:31 am

If you happen to use Extreme switches, I found the PERFECT solution. Port Redundancy.
Or an open standard like most switches LACP in an active/backup mode. Or could use multiple links into routers and OSPF cost metrics or MPLS with traffic engineering.

There are multiple solutions to the problem, but most people are interested in it in the sense they see it as one PtP link in the topology and the device is smart enough to know when to change traffic from 60ghz to 5ghz.
 
r00t
Member
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:43 pm

Yes, you can install separate 5GHz link and handle the backup handover in various ways... but point here is that competition now offers all-in-one device that does it all out of the box. Just install the antenna and you are done. Having common antenna unit for both bands is the important part, you may not have space on roof for two LHG antennas and it quickly gets crazy if you have multiple links (say 3 links with backups would mean 6 LHGs installed).
Based on LHG60 PCB, Mikrotik wanted to do this, but it never happend... question is why. They could have had this product on market year ago.
 
server8
Member
Member
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Wed Dec 11, 2019 6:45 pm

Yes, you can install separate 5GHz link and handle the backup handover in various ways... but point here is that competition now offers all-in-one device that does it all out of the box. Just install the antenna and you are done. Having common antenna unit for both bands is the important part, you may not have space on roof for two LHG antennas and it quickly gets crazy if you have multiple links (say 3 links with backups would mean 6 LHGs installed).
Based on LHG60 PCB, Mikrotik wanted to do this, but it never happend... question is why. They could have had this product on market year ago.
Maybe because the mikrotik 5 ghz is not able to do a true backup of a gigabit radio?
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1432
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Wed Dec 11, 2019 8:02 pm

Maybe because the mikrotik 5 ghz is not able to do a true backup of a gigabit radio?
That’s a different story, but 100MBit as Backup is much better then A broken connection.

And costumer dos not understand why 2 antennas are needed for him
 
r00t
Member
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Wed Dec 11, 2019 10:55 pm

Maybe because the mikrotik 5 ghz is not able to do a true backup of a gigabit radio?
No one is expecting to get same capacity from backup link. But even proper 802.11ac link running at 200-300Mbit/s would be perfectly fine and it would help when main link goes down due to weather. That may be just a few minutes per year or more, depending on your link distance, but having the backup means you can rely on such link more. It's just really nice and compact solution to have it all integrated in LHG dish. Too bad it's (still) not available and we have to use other radios as a workaround for reliable links...
 
server8
Member
Member
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:21 am

Maybe because the mikrotik 5 ghz is not able to do a true backup of a gigabit radio?
No one is expecting to get same capacity from backup link. But even proper 802.11ac link running at 200-300Mbit/s would be perfectly fine and it would help when main link goes down due to weather. That may be just a few minutes per year or more, depending on your link distance, but having the backup means you can rely on such link more. It's just really nice and compact solution to have it all integrated in LHG dish. Too bad it's (still) not available and we have to use other radios as a workaround for reliable links...
I totally agree I am only looking for a reason why we don't have 5 ghz backup on mikortik 60 ghz.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1432
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:33 am

I totally agree I am only looking for a reason why we don't have 5 ghz backup on mikortik 60 ghz.
When the Airfiber is available and it will work like it is announced, we don't need Mikrotik.......
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1909
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 12, 2019 3:49 pm

When the Airfiber is available and it will work like it is announced, we don't need Mikrotik.......
Can I ask how are so sure that this device "will work like it is announced..."
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2309
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 12, 2019 4:08 pm

When the Airfiber is available and it will work like it is announced, we don't need Mikrotik.......
Why are you in a Mikrotik forum then and not in Ubiquiti's ?
 
server8
Member
Member
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:18 pm

[When the Airfiber is available and it will work like it is announced, we don't need Mikrotik.......
Unfortunately the 5 Ghz backup of the AF is something less of a nanobeam put in the head of the disk and not in the focus (12db gain) .... so it 'll be usable only in short range
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7048
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:29 pm

That is likely for the same reason why MikroTik have not yet released a product: it is probably quite difficult to make an antenna that combines the 5 GHz and 60 GHz bands.
So Ubiquiti took the easy way out by putting two antennas back-to-back (radiating in opposite direction), and MikroTik did not consider that a solution.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1432
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Dec 12, 2019 6:11 pm

ignite Metrolinq have something similar since 2016, but the software and the USB 60G Modul is not the best solution....
So it is possible todo the combination, Mikrotik is able to build, but they don't care
 
TimB2
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:59 pm

Re: LHG60 with 5Ghz Backup

Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:59 pm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests