Community discussions

MikroTik App

idanmikos
just joined
Topic Author

CAPsman with 2GHz and 5GHz networks

Tue Dec 24, 2019 8:34 pm

Hi all,
Newbie here, using RB2011UiAS-2HnD with two CAP ac AP's.
I would like to let clients connect automatically to 2 or 5GHz networks but it looks like my 5GHz network does not have a name.
Should I use the same SSID name as for 2 GHz network has, in my case `netis`?
Or is it mandatory to use a different SSID's?
Annotation 2019-12-24 202418.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: CAPsman with 2GHz and 5GHz networks

Wed Dec 25, 2019 1:37 am

No it is not mandatory, but in practice its better to use different SSIDs...
If they have the same name and you have a device that supports both 2.4 and 5GHz bands you will see twice the same name "netis"...
So which one is the 2.4 and which the 5 GHz ?

idanmikos
just joined
Topic Author

Wed Dec 25, 2019 8:12 pm

Thank you for the answer!
But how to deal with two different SSID's in CAPs Configuration?
Define a new config? How?
Annotation 2019-12-25 200138.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Wed Dec 25, 2019 8:31 pm

Ofcorse, you need a totally new configuration for the 5GHz band....
Then you create a second provision rule for the 5GHz wireless interface and you assign the newly created config...

techlord
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: CAPsman with 2GHz and 5GHz networks  [SOLVED]

Fri Dec 27, 2019 8:35 pm

Hi!
I have a similar hardware config - 1 RB3011 and 2x CAP ACs. Here is what I did to have separate SSIDs.
Go to CAPSMAN config and start from right to left:
1) Create 1 security config to define your wifi secret
2) Create 1 datapath that suits your needs
3) Create 2 Channel configs
Config 1 - whatever name you like - select 5ghz-n/ac