Page 1 of 1

Low speed + high ping + high dropping wireless clients rate

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 2:05 pm
by natanielklug
Hello all,

I am having a problem that I could read in many other posts is about the same (high ping) but I have another question that is making me nervous: my wireless clients are getting disconnected from a wireless network (mikrotik) without a reason and, when they try to come back, the wireless network do not allow them I put this kind of message in the wireless info log:
May  3 07:48:58 192.168.160.5 wireless,info elj02: data from unknown device 00:40:F4:XX:XX:41, sent deauth (31 events suppressed, 71 deauths suppressed)
This box (it is a common PC, Pentium IV, 2.0 Ghz with 512 MB DDR RAM) has 4 wireless pci adapters (D-Link DWL-G510 with atheros AR5212) that I call ELJ01, ELJ02, ELJ03 and ELJ04.

All system uses setorial panels, 90 degres, 12 dBi. Wireless networks ELJ01 and ELJ02 are in the oposite directions (180 degres a panel from another) and ELJ03/ELJ04 are 90 degres from ELJ01/ELJ02. This way I can cover all 360 degres from this POP.

The problem, first one, is the dropping wireless. This is happening in all the wireless networks. I tryed to reboot the machine: do not work; I tryed to shutdown the machine: worked for about 2/3 hours, them the problem starts again.

I have gone to university last night and, when I get home, I tested the network I was connected to... It was too slow. Pings with more tham 1000ms. I changed my equipament to another SSID (I was using ELJ04 and moved to ELJ03 that, in my Gi-Link WA2404, was with better signal) and my pings come back to 10~22ms.

Now, its morning here, I was testing again and two of my very problematic cliets are getting very good latency:
C:\Documents and Settings\CNett>ping 200.xxx

Pinging 200.xxx with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 200.xxx: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=125
Reply from 200.xxx: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=125
Reply from 200.xxx: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=125
Reply from 200.xxx: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=125

Ping statistics for 200.xxx:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 4ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 4ms

C:\Documents and Settings\CNett>ping 200.xxx

Pinging 200.xxx with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 200.xxx: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=125
Reply from 200.xxx: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=125
Reply from 200.xxx: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=125
Reply from 200.xxx: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=125

Ping statistics for 200.xxx:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 4ms, Maximum = 51ms, Average = 15ms
This picture shows my APs Survey. In this one is the channels I use. My home is in front of the network ELJ04 but my better signal came from ELJ03. I can not understand this (I have gone to the tower and I am, for sure, known that the panel connected to elj04 pci card is the same that points to my house!):

Image

If anyone here can help me I will be very glad. I am going to the POP to test another situations.

Thank you all that are reading this post.

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 8:30 pm
by skynoc
check cables , antennas .
type of cables is very important ,
copper or silver .

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 10:47 pm
by natanielklug
check cables , antennas .
type of cables is very important ,
copper or silver .
Hi skynoc,

I am using about 12~16 mt of RGC213. Client signal is ok (I only let a client to enter my network if its SNR is over 20 dB so, this way, I can make a little QoS into signal side).

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 11:10 am
by skynoc
well, what about frequency ?

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 3:00 pm
by natanielklug
well, what about frequency ?
Only 802.11b at 2.4 Ghz.

Posted: Sun May 20, 2007 12:34 am
by djape
It's just simple noise problem, it's very hard to resolve that.
When I can't resolve noise issues I just replace atheros with prism and my problems are gone. It is true that atheros have better performance, but when it comes to noise and "dirty" enviroment it's performance is disaster.
If you have prism card try it and let us all know what happened.
Cheers and good luck :)

Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 2:25 pm
by natanielklug
It's just simple noise problem, it's very hard to resolve that.
When I can't resolve noise issues I just replace atheros with prism and my problems are gone. It is true that atheros have better performance, but when it comes to noise and "dirty" enviroment it's performance is disaster.
If you have prism card try it and let us all know what happened.
Cheers and good luck :)
djape,

Thank you for your contribution. I don't have any Prism card, here in Brazil, that is in conformity with local authorities... I have to use Atheros, Hermes, Realtek and RaLink based chipset (some of them are still not licensed).

I will try to understand if there is a pattern when I get hi pings. Now my network is ok but yesterday (about 12 hours in the past) my network was a crap...