Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Lavvaf
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 8:21 pm

CAPsMAN problem with Android

Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:01 pm

Hello all,
Ww have configured 20 cap2nd routerboards on capsman. all client can connect to access points and access to internet. but some apple iphone and Samsung A70 connect to access point and get ip address from dhcp but don't access to internet. after checking internet connection on WiFi get error "internet may not be available".
what should I do in capsman to resolve problem?
Here is my configuration:
   name="Alborz_cfg" mode=ap ssid="Alborz" max-sta-count=50 multicast-helper=full 
   tx-chains=0,1 rx-chains=0,1 country=no_country_set installation=indoor 
   distance=dynamic hw-retries=5 security=Alborz_security 
   datapath=Alborz_datapath 
   rates.basic=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps,11Mbps,6Mbps,9Mbps,12Mbps,18Mbps,24Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,54Mbps 
   rates.supported=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps,11Mbps,6Mbps,9Mbps,12Mbps,18Mbps,24Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,54Mbps 
   rates.vht-basic-mcs="" rates.vht-supported-mcs=""
Thanks
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2309
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: CAPsMAN problem with Android

Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:32 pm

Here is my configuration
That is just a small part of it...
Are you using Capsman forwarding mode or Local forwarding mode ?
 
Lavvaf
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 8:21 pm

Re: CAPsMAN problem with Android

Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:46 am

Here is my configuration
That is just a small part of it...
Are you using Capsman forwarding mode or Local forwarding mode ?
Hi,
We are using Local Forwarding. all caps and capsman are in the same vlan (vlan 1000). should we set vlan in cpasman?
Thanks
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2309
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: CAPsMAN problem with Android

Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:03 pm

Yes...
Otherwise how will the traffic pass through the trunk to finally reach the router ?
 
ivicask
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Croatia, Zagreb

Re: CAPsMAN problem with Android

Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:12 pm

Same problem here with Samsung A70 at one customer and capsman, when roaming from ap to ap it drops net, its connected to wifi but says Internet may not be avaiable, you need to turn Wifi on off several times or just wait 5+ mins and it starts working.

On other hand I have S10+ from Samsung and no issues there, but I did had same issues before on mikrotik even without capsman but eventually with updates from Samsung it got fixed.
 
yottabit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:56 am

Re: CAPsMAN problem with Android

Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:41 pm

... when roaming from ap to ap it drops net, its connected to wifi but says Internet may not be avaiable, you need to turn Wifi on off several times or just wait 5+ mins and it starts working.
I have been having this exact problem with a Google Pixel 3 on Android 10. I think the problem started with Android 10. I do not use CAPsMAN, but have a repeater setup.

hap ac2 (router, no wi-fi) <--> hap ac (AP only) <--> hap ac (AP only)

The last hap ac is configured with station bridge on the 5G interface, and a virtual AP interface is added on top. All ports are in the bridge.

The problem is if my phone roams from the first AP to the second AP, it will continually connect/disconnect from Wi-Fi for ~5 minutes before it finally works. During this time, I get a grayed-out WiFi icon with an X on it, and if I happen to catch it happening while in the Wi-Fi settings, it says "No internet" when it attempts the connection.

On the AP logs, all I see is the station connecting and then immediately disconnecting. There are no other errors.

I've tried using RSTP, and not. I've tried numerous IP settings with regard to cache and such, thinking maybe the FIB is locked with a record it won't expire. Nothing has worked.

Next I was going to try WDS instead of station bridge, and then try CAPsMAN if that doesn't work, but now I'm at a loss if you're having similar problems with CAPsMAN.

It really seems like there is some MAC blocking happening, where one of the devices believes the device is present on another port and is blocking to prevent loops... but I have STP/RSTP completely disabled on the network... so why would it do this?!
 
yottabit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:56 am

Re: CAPsMAN problem with Android

Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:26 am

Here's my network topology:

rb1 (hap ac2, router, no wifi) <--eth--> rb2 (hap ac, wifi ap only) <--wifi--> masterbedroom (hap ac, wifi ap only)

And here is the utter junk I keep getting with my Pixel 3 Android 10 phone trying to roam from rb2 to masterbedroom (notice you don't see any log entries from rb2):
Jan 14 20:22:24 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D attempts to associate
Jan 14 20:22:24 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D not in local ACL, by default accept
Jan 14 20:22:24 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -42
Jan 14 20:22:24 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -42
Jan 14 20:22:39 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:39 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:39 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D attempts to associate
Jan 14 20:22:39 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D not in local ACL, by default accept
Jan 14 20:22:39 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -43
Jan 14 20:22:39 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -43
Jan 14 20:22:39 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.42.68 from 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:22:39 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 assigned 172.16.42.68 to 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:22:42 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:42 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:42 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D attempts to associate
Jan 14 20:22:42 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D not in local ACL, by default accept
Jan 14 20:22:42 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -44
Jan 14 20:22:42 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -44
Jan 14 20:22:42 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.42.68 from 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:22:42 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 assigned 172.16.42.68 to 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:22:45 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:45 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:45 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D attempts to associate
Jan 14 20:22:45 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D not in local ACL, by default accept
Jan 14 20:22:45 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -42
Jan 14 20:22:45 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -42
Jan 14 20:22:45 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.42.68 from 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:22:45 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 assigned 172.16.42.68 to 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:22:56 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:56 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:57 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D attempts to associate
Jan 14 20:22:57 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D not in local ACL, by default accept
Jan 14 20:22:57 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -43
Jan 14 20:22:57 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -43
Jan 14 20:22:57 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.42.68 from 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:22:57 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 assigned 172.16.42.68 to 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:22:59 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:22:59 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:23:00 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D attempts to associate
Jan 14 20:23:00 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D not in local ACL, by default accept
Jan 14 20:23:00 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -43
Jan 14 20:23:00 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -43
Jan 14 20:23:02 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.42.68 from 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:23:02 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 assigned 172.16.42.68 to 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:23:04 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:23:04 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:23:05 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D attempts to associate
Jan 14 20:23:05 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D not in local ACL, by default accept
Jan 14 20:23:05 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -43
Jan 14 20:23:05 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -43
Jan 14 20:23:10 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.42.68 from 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D                         
Jan 14 20:23:10 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 assigned 172.16.42.68 to 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D                                           
Jan 14 20:23:13 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:23:13 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: disconnected, received deauth: sending station leaving (3)
Jan 14 20:26:27 <daemon.err> rb2 rb2 login failure for user admin from 172.16.42.102 via web                                                    
Jan 14 20:26:28 <daemon.info> rb2 rb2 user yottabit logged in from 172.16.42.102 via web                                                               
Jan 14 20:26:46 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D attempts to associate
Jan 14 20:26:46 <daemon.debug> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: wlan2-ap: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D not in local ACL, by default accept
Jan 14 20:26:46 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -42
Jan 14 20:26:46 <daemon.info> masterbedroom masterbedroom debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-ap: connected, signal strength -42
Jan 14 20:26:46 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.42.68 from 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
Jan 14 20:26:46 <daemon.info> rb2 rb2 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-5G: disconnected, received deauth: class 3 frame received (7)
Jan 14 20:26:46 <daemon.info> rb2 rb2 debug: 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D@wlan2-5G: disconnected, received deauth: class 3 frame received (7)              
Jan 14 20:26:46 <daemon.info> rb1 rb1 dhcp1 assigned 172.16.42.68 to 3C:28:6D:0A:B2:1D
This goes on for ~5 minutes until the phone finally joins the masterbedroom AP. Absolute nightmare.

It looks like the phone isn't properly leaving the rb2 AP first, and eventually it times out, and only at that point can it successfully connect to masterbedroom. I assume this is something in Router OS trying to be "too" smart, but I still don't know how it would work. The DHCP server won't know because it will always see the same MAC, and that MAC is not connected to the local device, but through an ethernet cable (it doesn't know if it's on the first hop, rb2, or the second hop, masterbedroom). Now rb2 may be the problem. It may think the MAC is still connected on its local AP interface directly, and throw a fit when it sees the MAC try to come from a station-bridge MAC. I assume rb2 is blocking the MAC and causing the problem.
 
StephenF
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 2:20 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: CAPsMAN problem with Android

Fri May 29, 2020 9:06 pm

Same problem here with Samsung A70 at one customer and capsman, when roaming from ap to ap it drops net, its connected to wifi but says Internet may not be avaiable, you need to turn Wifi on off several times or just wait 5+ mins and it starts working.

On other hand I have S10+ from Samsung and no issues there, but I did had same issues before on mikrotik even without capsman but eventually with updates from Samsung it got fixed.
I have this exact same problem. Redmi Note 7, Dell laptop, Lenovo laptop, various devices randomly loosing WiFi on a capsman network (on CAPs only). I also see DHCP deassigned + need to disable wifi several times and wait for it to return. This happens on all my CAPs, but not on the main CAPSMAN router. My 5GHz network is very clean, no interference. 2,4GHz is reasonably clean. I have followed so many forums with config recommendations, firewall rules, etc. but nothing helped so far.

Did you solve your problem yet? How?
Any advise how to fault find this issue?
Networking novice, but enthusiast.
 
StephenF
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 2:20 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: CAPsMAN problem with Android

Sun May 31, 2020 3:59 pm

It appears that my problem was solved with this post: viewtopic.php?t=153418

Point # 3: Disable RSTP on all of you devices. Including switches
/interface bridge
set  [ find name=bridge1 ] protocol-mode=none
Disabling RSTP appears to have worked and do not anymore have the following issues:
  • Random / Sporadic Wireless problems : " Cannot connect to the internet" and "No Network"
  • Random phones / laptops dropping off the network, sometimes working fine for days and then not working again.
  • Frequent DHCP deassigned and reassigned.
I have only made the changes to my Capsman router, but not to the CAPs yet... If I experience problems again I wll try that.

Thanks to "dimitris"

Here are some other related posts:
viewtopic.php?t=95005
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CAPsMAN_tips
Networking novice, but enthusiast.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests