Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
yacsap
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44 am
Location: the land of the long white cloud
Contact:

Disable QoS & WMM entirely

Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:24 am

Hi guys,

I have issue where my IoT devices are randomly disconnecting, especially my LIFX lights, they just disconnects from the Wi-Fi then not rejoining back.

The LIFX support has asked me to disable all WMM & QoS entirely on the Access Point, I saw WMM is enabled on the interface -> wireless window, but seems can’t disable it.

Any clue on how can I disable those?

Cheers
[ IMikroTik ] >
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6782
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Disable QoS & WMM entirely

Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:55 am

Tell your manufacturer that the times they have changes.
Equipment that does not support WMM, QoS, WPA2, 802.11 k/r/v, etc etc should simply be declared end-of-useful-life and be binned.
When you have just bought them, return them as unfit for purpose.
Without that, nothing will ever change.
 
yacsap
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44 am
Location: the land of the long white cloud
Contact:

Re: Disable QoS & WMM entirely

Mon Feb 10, 2020 12:33 am

Any other ideas?
[ IMikroTik ] >
 
yacsap
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44 am
Location: the land of the long white cloud
Contact:

Re: Disable QoS & WMM entirely

Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:11 pm

I guess there's no way of disabling it? Time to switch to a new AP with different system.
[ IMikroTik ] >
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6782
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Disable QoS & WMM entirely

Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:24 pm

Well, in my router I can disable it but that may be dependent on the router model and capabilities of the chipset it uses.
Really, devices that do not support current standards are going to run you in trouble all the time and it is better to bin them.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 722
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Disable QoS & WMM entirely

Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:43 pm

What did I miss ????????????????????

"WMM support " is by default disabled in the Mikrotik devices I have, for all the WLAN interfaces. (Wireless /Advanced mode)
And QoS is in the HT tab, AMPDU priorities. Default is zero only
Or what QoS is referred to here ?
Last edited by bpwl on Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
yacsap
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44 am
Location: the land of the long white cloud
Contact:

Re: Disable QoS & WMM entirely

Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:14 am

Those question marks made me even more confuse.
[ IMikroTik ] >
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6782
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Disable QoS & WMM entirely  [SOLVED]

Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:23 am

Well in RouterOS for my device there is a setting for WMM disable/enable/required but that does not mean it is available for you as well, because the collection of options differs depending on the model of router due to the chipset it uses. It may well be that it is not possible to set it on your router.
FWIW, on the devices from Ubiquiti that I have it is also not possible to set this, WMM and QoS are always enabled.
So really you need to question your supplier why they ship equipment in 2020 that does not conform to standards written in 2005.
 
yacsap
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44 am
Location: the land of the long white cloud
Contact:

Re: Disable QoS & WMM entirely

Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:18 pm

Thanks for your explanation.

Not the one I wanted to hear, but it's what it is.

Image
[ IMikroTik ] >

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], timprepscius, YaCy [Bot] and 47 guests