Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
arisk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:56 pm

Configuring LTE interface problem -- RBwAPR-2nD&R11e-LTE

Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:42 pm

Hello everyone,
this is the first time i try to configure an LTE interface in order to connect to a cellural ISP.

I am using the wAP LTE kit / 4G kit, in which i've inserted a mobile phone SIM card.
I also use this article, as a guide.
https://stevedischer.com/mikrotik-rbwap ... zon-howto/


My problem is that, after configuring APN........
CaptureAPN.PNG
........i no interface is created
Capture.LteInterface.PNG
Also, LTE scanner, doesn't return any result..


Customer claims the product is faulty, and i have to verify if so..
Any help?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Configuring LTE interface problem -- RBwAPR-2nD&R11e-LTE

Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:09 pm

Check if USB bus see the device:
/system resource usb print
Check if "ignore-directip-modem: no" in:
/port firmware print
Do you see the lte1 device anytime ? This is a new device from distributor or used ?

And the most important. lte1 interface should show in Interfaces > LTE even if you have bad or not set any think inside APN. The APN not enable lte1 because it's work only when lte1 is exist.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?
 
arisk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:56 pm

Re: Configuring LTE interface problem -- RBwAPR-2nD&R11e-LTE

Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:12 pm

Hey SiB, thanks for the reply:

I got these results:
[admin@MikroTik] > /system resource usb print
 # DEVICE VENDOR                   NAME                   SPEED                  
 0 1-0    Linux 3.3.5 ehci_hcd     RB400 EHCI             480    
[admin@MikroTik] > /port firmware print      
              directory: firmware
  ignore-directip-modem: no
Also there is no trace of lte1 anywhere...

And it doesn't show up in "Interfaces -> LTE" too....
Capture.LTE.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Configuring LTE interface problem -- RBwAPR-2nD&R11e-LTE

Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:42 pm

Better open device, maybe you have version without modem ?!
Should be like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuQgoxGtcnc
Image

but maybe is like this :( ?

Image
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?
 
arisk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:56 pm

Re: Configuring LTE interface problem -- RBwAPR-2nD&R11e-LTE

Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:17 pm

It does have a modem inside.. like your first picture.
Suppose that it is faulty indeed? Perhaps customer damaged the device with wrong use of POE or something? It used to work as he says...
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Configuring LTE interface problem -- RBwAPR-2nD&R11e-LTE

Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:50 pm

Upgrade ROS and boot-firmware to the test version:
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /system package update set channel=testing 
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /system package update install 
y
# after reboot
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /system routerboard upgrade 
y
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /system reboot
y

Please power off RB.
Plugout modem (only from mPCIe socket without touching antenna).
Plugin modem in mPCIe slot.
Power On RB.


RB should detect the device at USB.
/system resource usb print
You can do restore default settings
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /system reset-configuration skip-backup=yes
Please check the USB settings. This is a stuff by why your ROS can not detect modem. Those one need reboot to activate:
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /system routerboard usb print default-config
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /system routerboard usb set type=
USB-type-A  mini-PCIe
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /system routerboard usb set usb-mode=
automatic  force-host
[marcin.przysowa@SXTR_LTE6] > /port firmware set ignore-directip-modem=
no  yes
You can buy cheap $10 USB WWAN adapter and plugin this modem to other RB or PC to check if will be detected.

Still no result - I think it's damaged.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests