Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Hotspot for dumb ?

Fri May 18, 2007 2:28 am

I need help.

I followed the steps on the how to hotspot

and isnt working

when I open any web it doesn't redirect me to the logging webpage, I see that i can resolve hosts, so the dns is working.

what im doing wrong?

I got the client ip address asigned

my wlan1 is 192.168.0.1
and my eth1 is 192.168.0.4 , gw is 192.168.0.3
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Sun May 20, 2007 7:25 pm

Can anyone give another guide to set up a hotspot?

Do i need to set an httpd server on mikrotik?

Log doesnt say anything

How can I debug my hotspot?

I ve readed the how to, and the manual pages.

Thank you
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24322
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon May 21, 2007 1:28 pm

hotspot is the easiest thing in RouterOS to make!

In short steps:

1. enable interfaces, call one `public` - other `local`
2. set IP addresses
3. add default route, add masquerading rule (check if internet works from the PC behind it).
4. run hotspot setup in winbox and fill in the basics (you don't need certificate, SMTP server IP and DNS name, those leave blank).
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Mon May 21, 2007 10:24 pm

I did that :S

But i get no error

The redirection isnt work

I can't see the login webpage

i cant see it even if i go to http://my_hotspot_public_ip_address
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24322
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue May 22, 2007 12:55 pm

reset your config, and follow the steps i wrote. if it doesn't work, i suggest you to hire a consultant or attend a training

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests