Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
SimpleSlip
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 11:31 am

4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 12:09 pm

Hi guys. I have mikrotik hap ac2. I am trying to watch a 4k movie over wifi, using a DLNA server on my PC. but in this case the movie is lagging.
I tried several connection schemes.

PC -> ethernet cable-> mikrotik -> wifi-5Ghz -> TV = everything works fine
PC -> wifi-5Ghz -> mikrotik -> wifi-5Ghz -> TV = lags
PC -> wifi-5Ghz -> mikrotik -> ethernet cable -> TV = everything works fine

Could you help me with setting up mikrotik?
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6521
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 12:22 pm

Connect PC or TV (or preferably both) using an ethernet cable!
Use WiFi only where it is required, e.g. mobile devices.
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 12:23 pm

Config would be helpful: /export hide-sensitive
At what speed are the pc and tv connected?

And...agree with pe1chl
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24560
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 12:40 pm

"Lags" is not a good measurement. You should try to do some file transfer over wifi in 5GHz (not from TV, but some other way) and see what speed you get.
Also you can just monitor the interface speed in Winbox, when the movie is being watched. See what speed you get.

If the TV is modern, you should get good speeds. 4K movies are not that big, at most they run at some 80Mbit if it's a really big file.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 12:41 pm

I doubt that will ever work with both peers connected to the same AP.
A 4k stream allocates a significant amount of bandwidth - and your AP will have to receive and transmit it at the same time.
If there is absolutely no chance to have at least one end wired, the only chance I see is adding a dedicated 5GHz AP for one of the peers so that one AP will receive the stream and passes it to the other AP on the wired side. That other AP will only send the stream...

-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 1:06 pm

If you are using priorities, you should enable HT-AMDPU for used priorities.

See
viewtopic.php?t=141081#p751458
 
SimpleSlip
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 11:31 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 4:47 pm

Connect PC or TV (or preferably both) using an ethernet cable!
Use WiFi only where it is required, e.g. mobile devices.

I would like to get rid of the wires.
Config would be helpful: /export hide-sensitive

# may/20/2020 16:37:30 by RouterOS 6.43.11
# software id = 7HI7-56Z4
#
# model = RBD52G-5HacD2HnD
# serial number = A97409825A90
/interface bridge
add arp=proxy-arp fast-forward=no mtu=1500 name=LAN-Bridge
add arp=proxy-arp disabled=yes fast-forward=no mtu=1500 name=LAN-wifi
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=WAN speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] speed=100Mbps
/interface pppoe-client
add add-default-route=yes disabled=no interface=WAN name=pppoe-out1 \
    use-peer-dns=yes user=OnquBot3Ts
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] adaptive-noise-immunity=ap-and-client-mode \
    band=5ghz-onlyac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-XXXX country=japan disabled=no \
    disconnect-timeout=15s distance=indoors frequency=5260 frequency-mode=\
    regulatory-domain hw-protection-mode=rts-cts hw-retries=10 mode=ap-bridge \
    multicast-helper=disabled name=LAN-wfi5ghz on-fail-retry-time=1s \
    radio-name=MikroTik5G ssid=MikroTik5G tx-power=25 tx-power-mode=\
    all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=802.11 wmm-support=enabled wps-mode=\
    disabled
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] adaptive-noise-immunity=ap-and-client-mode \
    band=2ghz-onlyn disabled=no disconnect-timeout=15s frequency=auto \
    frequency-mode=superchannel mode=ap-bridge multicast-helper=disabled \
    name=LAN-wifi24ghz radio-name=Mikrotik2G ssid=Mikrotik2G \
    wireless-protocol=802.11 wmm-support=enabled wps-mode=disabled
/interface wireless nstreme
set LAN-wfi5ghz enable-polling=no
set LAN-wifi24ghz enable-polling=no
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" \
    group-key-update=1h mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods="" name=none \
    supplicant-identity=""
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/ip pool
add name=LAN-Pool ranges=192.168.88.2-192.168.88.254
add name=lan-wifi5ghz-pool ranges=192.168.90.2-192.168.90.254
/ip dhcp-server
add add-arp=yes address-pool=LAN-Pool disabled=no interface=LAN-Bridge \
    lease-time=12h name=DHCP-Server
add add-arp=yes address-pool=lan-wifi5ghz-pool interface=LAN-wifi lease-time=\
    12h name=dhcp-wifi
/system logging action
add disk-file-count=4 disk-file-name=disk1/log name=usb target=disk
/interface bridge port
add bridge=LAN-Bridge interface=LAN-wifi24ghz
add bridge=LAN-Bridge interface=LAN-wfi5ghz
add bridge=LAN-Bridge interface=ether2
add bridge=LAN-Bridge interface=ether3
add bridge=LAN-Bridge interface=ether4
add bridge=LAN-Bridge interface=ether5
/interface wireless access-list
add mac-address=5C:8D:4E:42:01:49 vlan-mode=no-tag
add comment=Maya mac-address=14:C2:13:7D:4F:11 vlan-mode=no-tag
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 interface=LAN-Bridge network=192.168.88.0
add address=192.168.90.1/24 disabled=yes interface=LAN-wifi network=\
    192.168.90.0
/ip cloud
set ddns-enabled=yes
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 dns-server=192.168.88.1 gateway=192.168.88.1 \
    netmask=24
add address=192.168.90.0/24 dns-server=192.168.90.1 gateway=192.168.90.1 \
    netmask=24
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes cache-size=4096KiB
/ip firewall address-list
add address=192.168.88.0/24 list=alow-ip
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input disabled=yes dst-address=192.168.88.1 dst-port=\
    80 in-interface=pppoe-out1 protocol=tcp src-address=0.0.0.0 src-port=80
add action=accept chain=input disabled=yes src-address-list=alow-ip
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=WAN src-address=\
    192.168.88.0/24
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=pppoe-out1 src-address=\
    192.168.88.0/24
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=pppoe-out1 src-address=\
    192.168.90.0/24
/ip route
add distance=1 dst-address=192.168.90.0/24 gateway=LAN-wifi pref-src=\
    192.168.90.1 scope=10
/ip service
set telnet disabled=yes
set ftp disabled=yes
set ssh disabled=yes
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Samara
/system leds
add interface=WAN leds=user-led type=interface-status
/system logging
add disabled=yes topics=pppoe
add topics=system
add topics=critical
add topics=wireless
/system scheduler
add name="disable pppoe" on-event=\
    "/interface pppoe-client disable pppoe-out1" policy=\
    ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,password,sniff,sensitive,romon \
    start-date=feb/14/2019 start-time=05:00:20
add name="enable pppope" on-event="/interface pppoe-client enable pppoe-out1" \
    policy=ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,password,sniff,sensitive,romon \
    start-date=feb/14/2019 start-time=05:00:30
/tool graphing interface
add

"Lags" is not a good measurement. You should try to do some file transfer over wifi in 5GHz (not from TV, but some other way) and see what speed you get.
Also you can just monitor the interface speed in Winbox, when the movie is being watched. See what speed you get.


If the TV is modern, you should get good speeds. 4K movies are not that big, at most they run at some 80Mbit if it's a really big file.
Lags - this means that you can watch the video for 10 seconds, then you wait 20 seconds loading, etc.
I tried to transfer a file between a PC and a mobile phone over wifi. The speed in Winbox was about 200-300 kbps (5GHz Wi-Fi interface), but in the task manager on the PC I saw a speed of 130-180 Mbit/s
the same situation if I watch a movie. The speed in Winbox is about 200-300 kbit / s (5GHz Wi-Fi interface), in the task manager the speed is 60-80 Mbit/s.
but if I connect a PC or TV via Ethernet. Speed ​​on the wifi interface 90-100 Mbps

In the picture below, I started viewing a full HD movie with a bitrate of 15 Bbit / s
Image
Last edited by SimpleSlip on Wed May 20, 2020 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
nkourtzis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:56 am
Location: Greece

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 5:44 pm

I would check the quality of the connection of both devices to the wifi network. If there are many retransmissions due to bad connections, they could hamper the bandwidth and latency considerably. Even more so with small packets.
Passionate about networks
Enthusiastic about Mikrotik
MTCNA | MTCRE | MTCINE

No trees were killed to send this message,
but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 6:17 pm

Try with hw-protection-mode=none and wmm-support=disabled or ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7.
Do you have the same problems when using wlan1?
 
SimpleSlip
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 11:31 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 8:03 pm

Try with hw-protection-mode=none and wmm-support=disabled
didn't help.
ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7.
could you advise what options to use?
Do you have the same problems when using wlan1?
What do you mean by wlan1? This is just the first time when I use Mikrotik.
if you mean 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, then I do not use it.
Last edited by SimpleSlip on Thu May 21, 2020 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
kalamaja
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 9:12 pm

Let's start from the beginning:
1) Find the MAC-addresses for your TV and computer: IP -> DHCP Server -> Leases
2) Could you post the screenshot from Wireless -> Registration so we could see, which interfaces are used and connection metrics
 
SimpleSlip
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 11:31 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Wed May 20, 2020 9:24 pm

Let's start from the beginning:
1) Find the MAC-addresses for your TV and computer: IP -> DHCP Server -> Leases
2) Could you post the screenshot from Wireless -> Registration so we could see, which interfaces are used and connection metrics

Image

TV: LG nanocell 55sm9010, just in case
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Fri May 22, 2020 12:22 pm

What do you mean by wlan1? This is just the first time when I use Mikrotik.
if you mean 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, then I do not use it.
Yes, 2.4GHz. It's worth a try!
 
SimpleSlip
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 11:31 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Fri May 22, 2020 5:22 pm

What do you mean by wlan1? This is just the first time when I use Mikrotik.
if you mean 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, then I do not use it.
Yes, 2.4GHz. It's worth a try!
I've tried. got better. but this is not enough to comfortably watch the video
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Fri May 22, 2020 6:37 pm

Just some comments on the tuned config file.
There is quite some tuning done. Tuning is always a balance between gain and loss. The loss is certain, if the gain is not higher than the loss the tweak should not be done.

Based on my understanding and experience only. Still improving my tuning skills.

/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=WAN speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] speed=100Mbps
You don't trust the auto negotiation? 100 Mbps is indeed potentially a trap with the half/full duplex mismatch.

/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] adaptive-noise-immunity=ap-and-client-mode \
band=5ghz-onlyac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-XXXX country=japan disabled=no \
disconnect-timeout=15s distance=indoors frequency=5260 frequency-mode=\
regulatory-domain hw-protection-mode=rts-cts hw-retries=10 mode=ap-bridge \
multicast-helper=disabled name=LAN-wfi5ghz on-fail-retry-time=1s \
radio-name=MikroTik5G ssid=MikroTik5G tx-power=25 tx-power-mode=\
all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=802.11 wmm-support=enabled wps-mode=\
disabled
channel width=20/40/80mhz-XXXX frequency=5260 -> you need 4 consecutive 20 MHz channels , and with XXXX you don't know which ones will be choosen.
(52-56-60-64) any other list where channel 52 is in. ANY traffic in one of the choosen channels will make the transmission wait.
A site survey (scan, freq usage, snooper) will learn if there is enough silence on those channels. If NOT. Then 40 MHz could be a better choice.
(The 50% loss is certain, the gain depends)
With Ceee, eCee, eeCe or eeeC there is some more control on the channels used.

hw-retries=10 -> trying somewhat longer than normal. The MCS rate adoption to a lower MCS may be delayed. On the other hand it may help to stay on the high MCS rate.
In a troubled environment hw-retries=3 could help the interface rate selector to adapt faster. Only experimenting will tell.

on-fail-retry-time=1s -> this is longer than normal. Wait a full second before retying a lost connection? Default is 0.1s , or 100 ms

TX power is probably limited by regulatory domain, to 23 dBM.

From CLI: interface wireless info country-info
country: japan
ranges: ....
5170-5250/a,an20,an40,ac20,ac40,ac80,ac160,ac80+80(23dBm)/passive
5250-5330/a,an20,an40,ac20,ac40,ac80,ac160,ac80+80(23dBm)/dfs,passive
5490-5710/a,an20,an40,ac20,ac40,ac80,ac160,ac80+80(23dBm)/dfs,passive

rts-cts : yes if there is a "hidden node" case. (e.g. TV does not reach till PC).

multicast-helper=disabled -> all multicasts are sent as multicast at the broadcast basic-rate. For b = 1Mbps, g= 6 Mbps, for n and ac still studying : is it the lowest basic rate (MCS0= 6 Mbps) or the highest basic rate lower than the current lowest interface rate?)

wmm-support=enabled (still studying what the impact is) but how can it work without the QoS priority mangle rules. Everything is priority 0! No differentiation or special handling.

idem for possible "a-mpdu" settings .Everything is priroity 0 without QoS mangle rules. It is by default enabled for priority 0. (And that's important! viewtopic.php?f=7&t=161295) As you can read there and elsewhere, lowering the a-msdu (8192->2048) is also a tuning act in a setup with many retransmits, if a-mpdu is there to compensate the huge loss that lowering the a-msdu introduces. The hw-retries=10 setting indicates you have seen retransmits.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6521
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Fri May 22, 2020 7:29 pm

/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=WAN speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] speed=100Mbps
You don't trust the auto negotiation? 100 Mbps is indeed potentially a trap with the half/full duplex mismatch.
That is a red herring. The auto negotiation is actually enabled on those interfaces, but when it *would* be disabled the speed would be 100Mbps.
That output is actually the result of changed defaults in RouterOS over time, you can reset it to 1Gbps but it really would not matter as long as it is kept on auto negotiate.
(and it is, otherwise auto-negotiation=no would be in the parameterlist)
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Fri May 22, 2020 9:31 pm

/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=WAN speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] speed=100Mbps
You don't trust the auto negotiation? 100 Mbps is indeed potentially a trap with the half/full duplex mismatch.
That is a red herring. The auto negotiation is actually enabled on those interfaces, but when it *would* be disabled the speed would be 100Mbps.
That output is actually the result of changed defaults in RouterOS over time, you can reset it to 1Gbps but it really would not matter as long as it is kept on auto negotiate.
(and it is, otherwise auto-negotiation=no would be in the parameterlist)
Thanks Pe1chi. I'm not very fluent in the MKT CLI specifics, and the many defaults that are in action. And a "verbose" config then is too long to read all.
I'm very attentive on the 100 MHz half/full mismatch, as I have seen many problems over the years with that one (low end devices that are in full-duplex but do not negotiate, and as such make the better switch decide it must be half-duplex)
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Fri May 22, 2020 10:06 pm

I will risk one more comment on what I see.

The "registration" information is very important. However there are extra interesting columns that could be shown (RX/TX CCQ, P-throughput, SNR, signal strength per chain, TX and RX packets verus TX and RX HW packets (showing retransmits) ). To see them all at once in Winbox use "detail mode". But also the fluctuations of the TX rates and RX rates , not easy to capture in a screenshot.

So just this one :
Klembord-2.jpg
OK the 80MHz channelwidth is used. The 2 spatial streams are only reduced while receiving from the PC.
Those number can change dramatically under load.

RSSi of -47 from the TV is very good. The interface rate selection is high. MCS8 for transmit and MCS6 for receive. (Difference can come from the higher TXpower of the AP.)
RSSI of -76 from the PC is acceptable for medium to low requirements. The interface rate is lower . MCS7 for transmit, but only MCS6 single stream on receiving from the PC.
http://mcsindex.com/
But important is how it fluctuates. CCQ and P-throughput do some averaging. The top MCS is not selected based on transmit errors.

15 Mbps should not be a challenge here. Even with the double transmission PC-AP-TV.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Sat May 23, 2020 12:31 pm

wmm-support=enabled (still studying what the impact is) but how can it work without the QoS priority mangle rules. Everything is priority 0! No differentiation or special handling.
With WMM enabled NAS or TV could dominate airtime, when using high priorities on WLAN (no mangle rule needed). Frames send with lower priority could be lost or too delayed.
This is why it suggested to disable WMM.

This could explain why stream works when one side is connected by wire (priority 0 frames from this side because no mangle rules).
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Sat May 23, 2020 12:38 pm

wmm-support=enabled (still studying what the impact is) but how can it work without the QoS priority mangle rules. Everything is priority 0! No differentiation or special handling.
With WMM enabled NAS or TV could dominate airtime, when using high priorities on WLAN (no mangle rule needed). Frames send with lower priority could be lost or too delayed.
This is why it suggested to disable WMM.

This could explain why stream works when one side is connected by wire (priority 0 frames from this side because no mangle rules).
I would like to know how to use "high priorities on WLAN (no mangle rule needed)" , and get those high priorities without mangle rules. Would be very nice to have this.
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=161295#p795361
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 11:23 am

I would like to know how to use "high priorities on WLAN (no mangle rule needed)" , and get those high priorities without mangle rules.

This is how I understand it:
When AP and station are WMM enabled each can send (after negotiation) priority frames. So PC or TV could use more airtime.
The mikrotik (AP) WLAN will send priority frames when packets do carry internal priority information. For packets from "outside" interfaces priorities must be assigned by firewall-mangle or bridge-filters. But I would guess, frames received at the very same WLAN chip where forwarded to the same WLAN would also keep their WMM priority and sent accordingly.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 11:49 am

I would like to know how to use "high priorities on WLAN (no mangle rule needed)" , and get those high priorities without mangle rules.

This is how I understand it:
When AP and station are WMM enabled each can send (after negotiation) priority frames. So PC or TV could use more airtime.
The mikrotik (AP) WLAN will send priority frames when packets do carry internal priority information. For packets from "outside" interfaces priorities must be assigned by firewall-mangle or bridge-filters. But I would guess, frames received at the very same WLAN chip where forwarded to the same WLAN would also keep their WMM priority and sent accordingly.
Interesting!!! I have to dig deeper in this WMM. WMM priority when received over WLAN how is it marked? DSCP (TOS) or MKT priority?
If the priority is maintained in the MKT, then with the default config only priority=0 will use A-PMDU. Could be a performance disaster.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1352
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 12:09 pm

Interesting!!! I have to dig deeper in this WMM. WMM priority when received over WLAN how is it marked? DSCP (TOS) or MKT priority?
Have you seen this article on the wiki: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:WMM?

If the priority is maintained in the MKT, then with the default config only priority=0 will use A-PMDU. Could be a performance disaster.
That's always a trade-off between bandwidth and latency. Sometimes you have to scarify one or the other for a specific traffic.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 12:44 pm

Interesting!!! I have to dig deeper in this WMM. WMM priority when received over WLAN how is it marked? DSCP (TOS) or MKT priority?
Have you seen this article on the wiki: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:WMM?
Yes I have seen that. It is well explained. But still I cannot formulate the answer to this statement ...." if I receive WMM negotiated traffic on a WLAN, and bridge forward it to the same or other WLAN in the same MKT will it still carry that WMM priority? ..."
If the priority is maintained in the MKT, then with the default config only priority=0 will use A-PMDU. Could be a performance disaster.
That's always a trade-off between bandwidth and latency. Sometimes you have to scarify one or the other for a specific traffic.
I know this trade-off. But the implementation in MKT is not clear to me. Is the on/off selection per priority of the a-PMDU a selection between " 64 MSDU and 64 bit blockACK" or "no A-PMDU"? Or is this moderated or adaptive aggregation. Can we see what it does? ..... viewtopic.php?f=7&t=161295 (with links towards adaptive frame aggregation tests). Exemples of adaptive frame aggregation show typically 2 MSDU in one A-MSDU, 16 A-MSDU in one A-PMDU, but fluctuating like the MCS rate selection.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6521
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 12:46 pm

It is a bit of a pity that that article does not contain any examples, and that the "by default usually wanted" configuration of "take priority from DSCP" is not included in the default config of RouterOS (as it is on almost any other manufacturer's WiFi equipment).
That can make MikroTik APs look bad when compared to others...
There also is no checkmark for applying this default priority on the Wireless interface config page, next to the "WMM support" setting, as there is for some other config like "clamp TCP MSS".

I normally have this in my mangle config:
/ip firewall mangle
add action=set-priority chain=postrouting comment="From dscp high 3 bits" \
new-priority=from-dscp-high-3-bits

and of course:
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] wmm-support=enabled

That being said, priorities should not be the reason why the original problem that was being presented here is present. It would
help e.g. when you are doing file transfers and VoIP over the same link, but video usually has enough buffering to overcome temporary
problems like other data going before.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 2:04 pm

It is a bit of a pity that that article does not contain any examples, and that the "by default usually wanted" configuration of "take priority from DSCP" is not included in the default config of RouterOS (as it is on almost any other manufacturer's WiFi equipment).
That can make MikroTik APs look bad when compared to others...
There also is no checkmark for applying this default priority on the Wireless interface config page, next to the "WMM support" setting, as there is for some other config like "clamp TCP MSS".

I normally have this in my mangle config:
/ip firewall mangle
add action=set-priority chain=postrouting comment="From dscp high 3 bits" \
new-priority=from-dscp-high-3-bits

and of course:
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] wmm-support=enabled

That being said, priorities should not be the reason why the original problem that was being presented here is present. It would
help e.g. when you are doing file transfers and VoIP over the same link, but video usually has enough buffering to overcome temporary
problems like other data going before.
Thanks Pe1chi, we are indeed quite off-topic here. 15 Mbps PC-AP-TV should indeed be no issue here with or without WMM.
But as we are on this WMM and priority technical detail. I understand that "use IP firewall" on the bridge will also be needed. And is the DSCP-priority rule also active in this PC-AP-TV link? I think it is as the transmission is "PC-AP" and "AP-TV".
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 2:51 pm

WMM priority when received over WLAN how is it marked? DSCP (TOS) or MKT priority?

See:
http://wifi-insider.com/wlan/wmm.htm
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 2:59 pm

It is a bit of a pity that that article does not contain any examples, and that the "by default usually wanted" configuration of "take priority from DSCP" is not included in the default config of RouterOS ... new-priority=from-dscp-high-3-bits
Sorry, for still off-topic. I would prefer a default "take priority from DSCP" by RFC8325, not by "poor-man's" high-3-bits.

viewtopic.php?t=152383
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6521
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: 4k over wifi

Sun May 24, 2020 9:09 pm

I normally have no need for something as complicated as Diffserv, having a couple of different priorities as 802.11e and WMM specify is good enough.
So the simple mapping of high-3-bits to priority (and then back to 4 priorities in WMM) is good enough for my usage.
When you want it to be complicated, you can define the entire mapping yourself with the appropriate mangle rules...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 46 guests