hAP ac^2: Q on passwords and wireless speed

Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:06 pm

I'm new to hAP ac^2 and have 2 questions:

On the QuickSet page under the "Home AP Dual" settings there is this field:
WiFi Password: ...

And in Webfig under Wireless/SecurityProtocols
WPA Pre-Shared Key: ...
WPA2 Pre-Shared Key: ...

Are these 3 password fields all distinct, or will the WPA/WPA2 passwords be set to the same as the WiFi-PW if one sets it in QuickSet?

And an observation/question regarding actual wireless speed: my Samsung smartphone says it has a speed of about 72 Mbps when connecting to wlan1(2 GHz) of the hAP ac^2, and 150 Mbps when connecting to wlan2 (5 GHz). The distance is only about 2 meters :-)
Are these Mbps values not very low? My very old Netgear AP has 300 Mbps, so I had expected that the hAP would offer more than 300 Mpbs...

AllexRo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: hAP ac^2: Q on passwords and wireless speed

Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:37 am

AFAIK, the password you set in QuickSet, you'll find it in Webfig, under Wireless/Security Profiles, as WPA/WPA2 preshared keys.
You can check that is the same password by un-pressing the Hide Passwords button on the left-side menu

But it would be better to use WinBox and to switch from using QuickSet to configuring in-depth your router.

Depending on your Samsung phone, it may be the case that you need to better setup your Wifi networks, to see better speeds.

The community here might be able to help after looking @ your current setup. You can post it here (using CODE display to see it better):
To do that, go to New Terminal and input these 2 commands:
/interface wireless
export hide-sensitive file=anynameyouwish

mutluit
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author

Thu Jun 04, 2020 11:19 am

AFAIK, the password you set in QuickSet, you'll find it in Webfig, under Wireless/Security Profiles, as WPA/WPA2 preshared keys.
You can check that is the same password by un-pressing the Hide Passwords button on the left-side menu