Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
SergeS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:23 am

How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:48 pm

I have two security profiles in wireless settings. How to switch default one using Winbox?
 
WeWiNet
Member
Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:19 pm

In the Wireless Interface tab, under settings you can chose many things, including which security profile to use for that
wireless interface...
WeWiNet

**
MTCNA
I like a new challenge, I migrate to ROS7... :? or maybe I am just crazy :lol: !!!
 
sutrus
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:27 pm

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:23 pm

Wireless -> Wireless inteface tab select interface and double clik on.
On new windows select Wireless tab and change "Security profile"
 
SergeS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:23 am

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:45 pm

I did not mean how to change security profile used in specific wireless interface, I know that. My question is about default security profile, which marks with * and cannot be deleted.

I would like to delete default security profile, which is not allowed.Image
 
sutrus
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:27 pm

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:54 pm

You can't remove it, but should be able to change it.
 
SergeS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:23 am

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:04 pm

You can't remove it, but should be able to change it.
That what my question exactly is - how to change it?
:-)
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5246
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:36 am

That what my question exactly is - how to change it?
Double-click it and change its properties ...
BR,
Metod
 
WeWiNet
Member
Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:01 pm

SergeS,

For me there are more important things than changing the name of the default sec profile which you can not do if you
use device with default config.
(Just don;t use this profile and put for security a long pass phrase into it... )

I think the only way to get rid of the default profile is, if you do not use default config and start from scratch.
Reset the router and do not use the proposed AP setup (or whatever is default on your device).
Then you can add just what you want and then (I believe) you can use the name you want.

But be careful, I have not tested this recently and with every ROS update things change in ROS, its like moving sand... ;-)

(and please put right problem description into your next post topic)
WeWiNet

**
MTCNA
I like a new challenge, I migrate to ROS7... :? or maybe I am just crazy :lol: !!!
 
SergeS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:23 am

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:05 pm

That what my question exactly is - how to change it?
Double-click it and change its properties ...
Did you try by yourself? What specific property?
Image
 
SergeS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:23 am

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:09 pm

SergeS,

For me there are more important things than changing the name of the default sec profile which you can not do if you
use device with default config.
(Just don;t use this profile and put for security a long pass phrase into it... )

I think the only way to get rid of the default profile is, if you do not use default config and start from scratch.
Reset the router and do not use the proposed AP setup (or whatever is default on your device).
Then you can add just what you want and then (I believe) you can use the name you want.

But be careful, I have not tested this recently and with every ROS update things change in ROS, its like moving sand... ;-)

(and please put right problem description into your next post topic)
Wrong. I am not using default profile, and that is why I would like to remove it. I cannot, because it is DEFAULT profile :-)
That is exactly what i am trying to do and seems to me my description of the problem is correct.

P.S. Reset the whole router??? Are you kidding?
 
WeWiNet
Member
Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:49 pm

MKX,
on some devices (my Audience for example) you can no longer remove or name change the default profile.
It shows the error message SergeS showed.

I don't know when/how that happened, as I have hap / map devices on which I have it removed or renamed
but that was on older ROS versions.

SergeS,
having an unused DEFAULT profile is not a problem or issue! I understand it would be cleaner to rename it in the list
but as you do not use it in the wireless interface it does not harm... You can select key, and passphrase to make
sure in case you would accidentally use that profile you do not open your Wifi network.
ROS has enough other issues to solve than this one...
WeWiNet

**
MTCNA
I like a new challenge, I migrate to ROS7... :? or maybe I am just crazy :lol: !!!
 
SergeS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:23 am

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Wed Jun 24, 2020 7:33 pm

SergeS,
having an unused DEFAULT profile is not a problem or issue! I understand it would be cleaner to rename it in the list
but as you do not use it in the wireless interface it does not harm... You can select key, and passphrase to make
sure in case you would accidentally use that profile you do not open your Wifi network.
ROS has enough other issues to solve than this one...
Yes, absolutely, it is not a problem to keep it unused, it is true.
So, no way to delete it? I am not blaming OS, I thought Ii it simple question, and I need to educate myself on how to do it.
 
plcs
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: How to switch default Security Profile in Winbox?

Mon Dec 28, 2020 5:42 pm

"New Terminal"
interface wireless [ENTER]
set security-profile="your-security-profile-name" [ENTER]

or by using www interface.

When you set security profile like above your winbox show you option "Security profile"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests