Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jmcguckin
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:37 am

60ghz link unstable

Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:47 am

one end is WAP60, the other end is Cube Lite60

Logs showing link going down/up 20+ times a day.
Also, monitor show packet error rates in the 20% range.

Cube lite60:
/system> routerboard print
routerboard: yes
board-name: Cube Lite60
model: RBCube-60ad
serial-number: BF620BB6D239
firmware-type: qca9531L
factory-firmware: 6.45.8
current-firmware: 6.45.8
upgrade-firmware: 6.47


WAP60:
routerboard: yes
board-name: wAP 60G AP
model: RBwAPG-60ad-A
serial-number: 8AA50840EA3E
firmware-type: ipq4000L
factory-firmware: 6.41.2
current-firmware: 6.41.2
upgrade-firmware: 6.46.4


MONITOR

Cube:
connected: yes
frequency: 64800
remote-address: 04:D6:AA:AF:CE:F7
tx-mcs: 8
tx-phy-rate: 2.3Gbps
signal: 80
rssi: -61
tx-sector: 57
tx-sector-info: left 1.8 degrees, up 2.6 degrees
distance: 222.99m
tx-packet-error-rate: 1%


WAP60:
connected: yes
frequency: 64800
remote-address: 24:18:1D:99:64:02
tx-mcs: 8
tx-phy-rate: 2.3Gbps
signal: 80
rssi: -71
tx-sector: 22
tx-sector-info:
distance: 222.97m
tx-packet-error-rate: 0%

LOGS

Cube:
jul/28 01:13:32 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 01:13:32 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 01:24:13 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 01:24:17 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 03:25:53 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 03:25:53 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 05:47:10 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 05:47:10 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 12:15:06 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 12:15:08 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 12:15:33 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 12:15:35 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 12:42:51 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 12:42:51 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 16:43:21 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 16:43:24 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 16:43:59 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 16:43:59 interface,info wlan60-1: link up
jul/28 16:47:48 interface,info wlan60-1: link down
jul/28 16:47:48 interface,info wlan60-1: link up



Any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks,

Joe
 
esrocom
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:34 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:53 am

Same here,

I have 3 clients using an Aircube Lite connecting to a wAP60 in a PtMP environment.
One of the clients had the most link up link down problems (which is killing for VoIP).

I changed the chanel from auto to channel 4 last night. After that I found that the problem only still persists with the specific client.
It seems that this client still gets the same amount of link up link down errors.

Grts, Mark
Regards, Mark
 
User avatar
manuzoli
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:47 am

Its probably an Issue with 6.47 or something.
I have similar issues ind a very similar setup.
 
esrocom
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:34 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:07 pm

After the change of frequency AND reboot of the client AP (cube) it lasted about 13 hours before I saw the connection flapping again.
now: 2 hours ago I only rebooted the cube again and since then I haven;t seen flapping coming back (yet)

For now it seems that the only way to get is stable for ~12-13 hours is to reboot the station.

I will keep you guy's posted...

Regards, Mark
Regards, Mark
 
esrocom
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:34 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:55 pm

Unfortunately I had to reboot the client again as it began flapping again, about 12 hours after the previous reboot.
Since the reboot this morning @ 07:40 since now (13:52) I haven't seen any disconnects.

I haven't rebooted the PtMP WAP60 yet since the other 2 clients haven't had any problem since 3 day's now (after changing the frequency to channel 4 (formely set on auto but forgot to see the actual state then)
Regards, Mark
 
jmcguckin
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:37 am

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Fri Jul 31, 2020 3:21 am

I down graded to 6.45.9 and now things seem better. The link has not dropped after rebooting (5 hours) and monitor shows the error packets are fewer with lower amounts of errors.


Thanks,

Joe
 
esrocom
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:34 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:31 am

For me, again, I had to reboot. Yesterday I rebooted @ 07:41 and flapping began @ 01:13
Now I rebooted @ 08:16 and I will see how long it takes before it will flap again.
Still nothing in the logs to be found usefull why the connection drops every now and then.
It just tells me the link is down and up again.

I am very curious what happens after Joe's downgrade. Hope it helps.
Regards, Mark
 
jmcguckin
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:37 am

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:40 pm

Ok, no link flapping for 24 hours. Downgrading seems to have fixed my problem.

Thanks All,

Joe
 
esrocom
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:34 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Sat Aug 08, 2020 10:36 am

Downgrading didn't fix my issue unfortunately :(
SOmtimes I also see an error in the logs like this: snmp,warning timeout waiting for program 20
Although I think this has nothing to do with the link down and link up issue...
I tried an alternative frequentie now, Let's see what happens...
Regards, Mark
 
vbabka
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2020 11:21 pm

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Sat Aug 22, 2020 11:31 pm

Same here, with 6.47 and 6.47.1 (both WAP and Lite60 client) many link down/ups happen, after downgrade to 6.45.9 all good. (also MCS seems more stable).

There were also cases where client would log a quick link down/up and 5 minutes later another quick link down up, while on the AP there would be for the same time range a link down... 5 minutes later link up, and the client wouldn't really be sending/receiving data for the whole 5 minutes.

I suspect these from 6.47 changelog:
*) w60g - fixed link status logging;
*) w60g - improved rate selection in low traffic conditions;
 
esrocom
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:34 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:33 pm

Solved!
We've upgrade tot 6.47.2 in kernel AND OS level.
Now we haven't had any issues for at least 48 Hours.

Hope this also works for you guy's.

Regards, Mark
Regards, Mark
 
jmcguckin
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:37 am

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Sat Sep 19, 2020 2:47 am

Update anybody?

What is meant by 'updating kernel and OS"?
 
r00t
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Sat Sep 19, 2020 4:25 am

download latest stable ROS version and install it
if it doesn't help, download long-term release and install that one (have to enable downgrade)
if still having problems, try 6.45.9 mentioned above or 6.46.5
 
rcc
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 5:01 am

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Sat Oct 31, 2020 5:13 am

This issue still exists. I have installed 6.47.7 - port began flapping. After downgrade 6.45.9 - works fine...

(AP with 5 clients)
 
mike226
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:55 pm

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:05 pm

Halo I have the same issue on the new Cube 60 ac with 1G ports connected to wAP 60Gx3 AP. It was delivered with factory version 6.47.5 I tried to downgrade it to 6.45.9 but the netinstall didn't allow it.
 
rcc
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 5:01 am

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Sat Dec 12, 2020 8:27 am

Install 6.45.9 on wap60gx3. for me works fine even on the station i have newer version.
 
jmcguckin
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:37 am

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Tue Jan 19, 2021 11:11 pm

This is infuriating.

I have one CPE that is rock solid on another 60ghz link, so I have installed matching version of the OS on this link. Still, it resets the link several times a day.

Is there a setting I can enable where it will give more debug information as to why a link flaps?

We used to have a SIKLU 60ghz setup, and it was rock solid. Why can't Mikrotik's product be as reliable?

Joe
 
johnb175
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:57 pm

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Wed Jan 20, 2021 6:53 pm

I agree, it's very frustrating. I reset all my devices back to factory defaults (2 WAP60G's and 1 WAP60Gx3 AP), then upgraded them to 6.4.8 (stable). I then applied the cli fix "/interface w60g set wlan60-1 mdmg-fix=yes" on the WAP60Gx3 AP. So far it's been a two days and I have only seen a couple on link up/downs during the night. It's way better than before. When I had the two WAP60's setup in a PtP config it was rock solid. Adding the WAP60Gx3 AP to the mix made everything wacky. I hope they fix whatever is wrong. I spent over a week fighting with it, trying different firmware's, etc. One WAP60G is 19m and one is 29m away from the WAP60Gx3 AP so the connection should be rock solid.
 
Iliasla
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:33 pm
Location: Siberia
Contact:

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Mon Jan 25, 2021 6:56 am

As I understood on my link with SXTsq Lite60, the problem lies in the implementation of Beamforming.

At cheap devices, there is no hardware tuning, and Mikrotik implemented software tuning with an internal script. The device regularly measures the signal strength (as I understand it) and at some lowering starts the Beamforming adjustment. In this case, the script breaks the link, determines the maximum signal strength in the antenna array and enters the measured values in the Beamforming table, after which the link is restored.

You can either disable Beamforming altogether, or set the static value manually. The script will not work and the link will not be interrupted.

Beamforming is disabled with the command /int w60g set tx-sector=0

I assume that the default value of "Auto" is only for the initial launch of the link.
If during installation the devices are pointed exactly at each other, and the mounting of the devices is massive and reliable (there is not the slightest swaying from the wind), then you need to manually fix the TX Sector with the measured value.
If the mounting of the devices is not very stable, then the TX Sector should be set to " 0"

Since the "central axis" of the antenna does not coincide with the geometric center of the body, it is necessary to point the devices at each other using the "artillery targeting" method: turning the device left-right and then up-down, and fixing the directions when the link breaks. The midpoint between the fixed directions and will be the "central axis" of the antenna. The deviation from the geometric center of the case can reach several degrees.

I thought that if you disable beamforming the signal level to fall heavily, but this didn't happen. The signal remained as it was. And the breaks have stopped, the link is now working stably. The ROS version is the latest at the moment (6.48).
 
server8
Member
Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: 60ghz link unstable

Mon Jan 25, 2021 8:51 am

Beamforming is hardware and generally it don't break the link connection.It's necessary a solid pole to install this kind of device.

Mikrotik solutions is not telco grade but works fine if correctly installed.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 36 guests