Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
glerin
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:22 pm

hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Fri Aug 28, 2020 9:46 pm

Hi,

my phone (I tried 2) and robot vacuum cleaner are on same wifi network from hAP AC.
I start pairing in app, phone transmits network information (SSID and key) to the vacuum cleaner because vacuum cleaner gets an ip address and I see it on the network.
But in second phase phone and vacuum cleaner must be paired and this will no longer happen.

I took both devices to a different wifi network and there it works without a problem.

Does anyone have any idea what this could cause?
Thanks a lot.
 
neutronlaser
Member
Member
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:29 pm

Turn off 5GHz network on Mikrotik temporarily while you set up vacuum.
 
glerin
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:22 pm

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:49 pm

Thanks for reply.

I know the vacuum cleaner can be used on 2.4GHz only so I used a 2.4GHz SSID.
Now i have tried to turn off 5GHz, but unfortunately it still doesn't work.
 
neutronlaser
Member
Member
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:54 pm

Sad :(
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:27 am

I have something similar with raspberry pis when having capsman configured on ac^2
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:07 pm

Hi,

my phone (I tried 2) and robot vacuum cleaner are on same wifi network from hAP AC.
I start pairing in app, phone transmits network information (SSID and key) to the vacuum cleaner because vacuum cleaner gets an ip address and I see it on the network.
But in second phase phone and vacuum cleaner must be paired and this will no longer happen.

I took both devices to a different wifi network and there it works without a problem.

Does anyone have any idea what this could cause?
Thanks a lot.
Trying to understand the pairing process....

I start pairing in app, phone transmits network information (SSID and key) to the vacuum cleaner -> you connected the phone to the wifi of the vacuum cleaner, and started the process to swap this connection with a connection via an AP

my phone (I tried 2) and robot vacuum cleaner are on same wifi network from hAP AC. -> at least you hope they are

because vacuum cleaner gets an ip address and I see it on the network. -> that's your test if they are. What does the "registration" in the hAP ac say about their connection? And are the IP addresses of phone and vacuum cleaner in the same subnet?

Now the phone must find the vacuum cleaner. This is mostly done through broadcasts.And that is sometimes not so easy.
Just some hints for checking ....
- is there client/Station isolation?
- is wifi originated broadcast limited for wifi? Flood protection?
- what kind of protocol is used for this discovery?
- is an IP scan used?
- multicast helper (conversion to unicast) interventions?
- ARP table?
-"hosts" table on bridge? Are both devices in the hosts table? Learning mode of bridge port (must be) on "auto"?
- bridge port "horizon" set ?
- timeout due to STP/RSTP of bridge ?
 
toxicfusion
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:49 am

Now the phone must find the vacuum cleaner. This is mostly done through broadcasts.And that is sometimes not so easy.
Just some hints for checking ....
- is there client/Station isolation?
- is wifi originated broadcast limited for wifi? Flood protection?
- what kind of protocol is used for this discovery?
- is an IP scan used?
- multicast helper (conversion to unicast) interventions?
- ARP table?
-"hosts" table on bridge? Are both devices in the hosts table? Learning mode of bridge port (must be) on "auto"?
- bridge port "horizon" set ?
- timeout due to STP/RSTP of bridge ?
As to what bpwl pointed out and what stands out to me. Lets have you enable FULL multicast on your 2.4Ghz interface settings. Lets test this. Also might help you do a configuration export
/export terse hide-sensitive file=XXXXX

for setting multicast FULL on your wireless interfaces(s) [have to set on both 2.4g and 5gh interface]

Set Multicast helper to FULL

Also is default Authenticate Forward? This enable your wifi devices to see one another.
 
gotsprings
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Tue Sep 01, 2020 3:57 pm

Default settings in caps-man have local forwarding turned off and client to client forwarding turned off.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
Shy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17 am

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Thu Sep 03, 2020 1:09 am

Default settings in caps-man have local forwarding turned off and client to client forwarding turned off.
Gotsprings is right, client to client is turned off. Multicast is probably not related.
 
RaymondGalla
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2021 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: hAP AC - phone does not detect smart device (vacuum cleaner)

Mon Jan 18, 2021 7:06 am

I ran into a similar problem. Personally, disabling 5GHz and restoring the default settings helped me. But it didn't help for long and I took it to the pantry. Personally, I prefer classic vacuum cleaners, as they are easier to maintain and if something breaks, it will not be difficult to fix it. A couple of months ago I watched the Shark Ionflex Review and I really liked the combination of a classic vacuum cleaner with new technologies. But most of all I liked the way it sucks the wool. For me, this is important because I have two dogs in the house. If any of you have solved the problem with your robot vacuum cleaner, then please tell me so that I just sell it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ovic and 17 guests