Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
nick52
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: Avezzano - Italy

How many CPEs can an AP support?

Mon Jun 18, 2007 12:38 pm

Can anyone give me an answer, please?

I have to serve an area of 5-6 Km of diameter by an AP at 5GHz.
My idea is to use a RouterBoard 532 with 2 R52 miniPCI cards: one connetcted to an amnidirectional antenna (AP) and the other to a directive antenna.

My questions are:
1. how many CPEs (Stations) can I connect to this AP?
2. which throughput the AP can support? (and consequently the throughput of each one CPE?)

nick52
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:24 pm

there is no theoretical limit, but in reality 20-30 should be optimal. the throughput will be limited by your uplink (most likely), not the RB532
 
nick52
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: Avezzano - Italy

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:59 pm

Normis,
in your opinion, is this limit due the phisical layer (radio link), not the performace of RouterBoad?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:06 pm

first of all, your uplink will not be able to provide so much bandwidth to all of the clients
 
BurstNET

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:22 pm

<< first of all, your uplink will not be able to provide so much bandwidth to all of the clients >>

You don't know that for sure.
We have dark fiber to some of our wireless POPs serving our city, connected to a multi-gigabit backbone at our NOC.
The radios are the limit for these POPs...not the backbone. ;-)

SMA
 
nick52
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: Avezzano - Italy

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:53 pm

Normis,
you have not answered to my question: is this limit due to the phisical layer (radio link) ?

nick52
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:09 am

<< first of all, your uplink will not be able to provide so much bandwidth to all of the clients >>

You don't know that for sure.
We have dark fiber to some of our wireless POPs serving our city, connected to a multi-gigabit backbone at our NOC.
The radios are the limit for these POPs...not the backbone. ;-)

SMA
I thought he said he will have a wireless uplink. Software limit is 2007 clients, you will just have to try and see how many you can get there until you run out of bandwidth and CPU resources.
 
GTHill
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:16 pm

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:12 am

It is a channel (PHY Layer) limit, not the units. Most of the time cheap AP's off the shelf will have the same throughput as an expensive Cisco AP. The difference is the consistency, features and reliability.

Figure about 1/2 actual half-duplex throughput for the respective data rate. 11Mbps data rate will get about 5.7 - 6 Mbps throughput, 54 Mbps data rate will achieve a max of about 20Mbps. These numbers are for standard 802.11 protocol, not proprietary links.

Gene
 
gerencia@e-digitales.com
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Sydney Au

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:25 am

In my experience in two of my POPs, with 45 clients, the uplink is very poor, i changed the omni with 3 sector and very good uplink.
 
nick52
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: Avezzano - Italy

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Fri Jun 22, 2007 4:50 pm

In my experience in two of my POPs, with 45 clients, the uplink is very poor, i changed the omni with 3 sector and very good uplink.
hi gerencia@e-digitales.com,
When you changed the omni with 3 sectors, did you connect the 3 sectors to 3 Wireless Cards of one only RouterBoard or did you connect each sector to one Wirless Card of one different RouterBoard and the 3 RouterBoards connected by selves by Ethernet?

May you tell us what is the throughput of the AP?

nick52
 
gerencia@e-digitales.com
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Sydney Au

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:06 pm

When you changed the omni with 3 sectors, did you connect the 3 sectors to 3 Wireless Cards of one only RouterBoard or did you connect each sector to one Wirless Card of one different RouterBoard and the 3 RouterBoards connected by selves by Ethernet?

May you tell us what is the throughput of the AP?

nick52

3sectors to 3 minipci compex 200mw band B (Not 5ghz) with one only RouterBoard 532 with daugther board and 4th minipci for WAN. And all clients can share 3mbps of internet and each one have 512kbps.

Dimas
 
User avatar
nickb
Member
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Southeast Kansas
Contact:

Re: How many CPEs can an AP support?

Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:56 pm

We start seeing diminishing customer experience at 30 to 35 CPE on a radio interface, using a mix of CB3 (prism) and LS2 (Atheros) client radios.

I have speculated that using all Atheros radios, all in G mode, may increase that density.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests