Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Fran66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Location: Panama
Contact:

SR9 and Routerboard question.

Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:40 pm

Wondering if i can put (2) SR9 cards on a Routerboard 532A for some nstreme dual action, it will be with the POE 48V, and Ethernet cable distance will be like 30 feet, distance on this point to point setup is 0.7 miles. My goal is 10 Mbps "real" NLOS will do Video/data/voice.

Fran
 
Randy123
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:27 am

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:48 pm

It's well within spec.

I am considering this as a longer range backhaul for my network. Let me know what kind of signal you get and post your progress, please. :lol:

But I have a SR9 and an XR2 on a 532A with no problems.. you should be golden!
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:29 pm

You can likely do that with a single card.

Get a good antenna, 13dBi yagi, may have to turn down the tx power a bit, should work just fine, depending on the obsticals.
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:55 am

You can't put 2 SR9's on a 532 - they won't fit.
 
Fran66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Location: Panama
Contact:

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:49 am

they don't fit physically or by power requirement? Because i wont be needing 700mw i can put that on 100mW and I think i I will be fine, because the distance is very short. (0.7 miles)
You can't put 2 SR9's on a 532 - they won't fit.
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:49 am

Keep in mind, initial power on will draw the most power. If it can't sustain the cards at full power, it won't turn on.

I ran into that with my 18v adapters on the 133c with SR9. Works fine if you plug the adapter up first, then plug to the 133c. Didn't have enough power to turn on the 133c if you plug it to the wall after its complete. Bottom line, got it working, but every time the power went off, I had to lay hands on the radio.

I think jwcn means they won't physically fit myself.
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:12 am

That is correct, they will not physically fit.
 
Fran66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Location: Panama
Contact:

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:51 pm

why not? they won't be on a normal indoor case, they would be on a big hyperlinktech nema case, i can put a p4 motherboard inside that case.
That is correct, they will not physically fit.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Wed Jun 27, 2007 6:12 pm

the sr9 card is long, and will hit capacitors on the top of the rb532. You can't snap it onto to top of the board.

Sam
 
illiniwireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:36 am
Location: USA

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Wed Jun 27, 2007 6:33 pm

Get the daughter board rb502 to put 1 of the cards on. The board itself is only 25 dollars so I think its worth a shot. I have 1 of the 502's but I don't have an SR9 to try in it. I think it will work on it though. Anybody else know?
 
Fran66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Location: Panama
Contact:

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:54 pm

Thanks for the help guys, you are right Sam I just review the board dimension of both the rb532 and the sr9 and the minipci that is on top the rb532 won't fit there, any suggestion on what board i can use to fit 2 sr9's it has to support POE.

Fran
the sr9 card is long, and will hit capacitors on the top of the rb532. You can't snap it onto to top of the board.

Sam
 
illiniwireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:36 am
Location: USA

Re: SR9 and Routerboard question.

Fri Jun 29, 2007 12:46 am

Get the daughter board rb502 to put 1 of the cards on. The board itself is only 25 dollars so I think its worth a shot. I have 1 of the 502's but I don't have an SR9 to try in it. I think it will work on it though. Anybody else know?


You put the routerboard 502 on a rb532 and it adds 2 more mini pci slots. You would only be able to use 1 of the sr9's in the 502. Hope this helps.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests